We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Nearby Hotels
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$266
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
$196
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Menger Hotel(San Antonio)
$176
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Antonio Hotel(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
$242
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Contessa(San Antonio)
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveler rating
556
349
167
74
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
349
167
74
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverfront deskhotel restauranthardwood floorsdirect accessbalcony roomself parkvalet staffsan antonio riverwalkper daylocation was perfectspring breakvalet parkingrubenisaacalamogarza
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I chose Holiday Inn because of a previous positive experience in another city. That said, our San Antonio experience was not as positive. For starters, when I called to confirm our reservation "Cathy" was not pleased that we used an online booking service (Book It.com). She said we should have called directly and they could not guarantee any of the special requests or even if the room would have 2 beds. That was concerning. Speaking of the beds, they were like cement. After 2 nights we could barely walk. They tout the linens, but the beds...OUCH!!. We thought the breakfast buffet was included in the room, but were charged $13.95 each. When I inquired at the front desk I was told that because we got a discounted rate through our booking the breakfast would not be included. Fine time to find out. I won't make that mistake again. Finally, we were unable to get to our hotel for over 3 hours on Saturday due to a parade that we did not know about. When we were finally able to get to the hotel I inquired at the front desk. I was told they didn't know until the last minute. The hotel should know of anything that might inconvenience guests so the guests could plan accordingly. Come on Holiday Inn....seriously?

Room Tip: Using a booking service won't guarantee you get what you paid for. Tiny rooms. Hard beds.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Star T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Executive Assistant at Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. On behalf of our staff and management team, I would like to humbly extend an apology for the multiple issues you received with your stay here. Our ultimate goal is to provide convenience and value to our guests, and we deeply regret falling short of that during your time here.

I would love the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience. I look forward to the pleasure of your reply.

Kindest Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spend the night at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk after a great day in San Antonio. The hotel was clean and well kept. The staff was helpful and courteous. You have the option of using their valet service or self parking your car for a cheaper price. We parked it our self for $19. It is in a great location for strolling along the Riverwalk. The only small complaint I have is that we weren't recognized as a IHG Priority Member. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Executive Assistant at Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. We're so happy to read that you had a great experience during your trip to the Alamo City, and greatly look forward to hosting you as our guest again upon your return! Please accept our sincere apologies for not recognizing your IHG Rewards Elite status. We know that our IHG Rewards members have many wonderful IHG hotels to choose from, so we greatly appreciate you choosing us!

Please feel free to reach out to me for booking assistance the next time your plans include San Antonio. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@Ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

There we were ... new IHG membhg ers ... stayed In Fort Stockton Holiday inn but still felt somewhat loyal In spite of the false alarm fire evacuation at 4am and the scorpion in our room at 5am. No problem ... it can happen to anybody, Later that day we checked In to San Antonio Riverside: parking? extra $20. Breakfast? Certainly not! Complimentary anything? Of course not. Okay, everybody, please accept that, even the most patient customer would be somewhat, shall we say, p'offed?

We decided to go to dinner in the Holiday Inn Riverwalk restaurant to review our options and that's when Mary, the restaurant manager, turned us around. Due to her attention and our wonderful dinner, we will remain IHG customers. She dropped by our table, endured our whining, shared some personal stories, and gained our loyalty forever IHG. The dinner was wonderful, but the personal care from your restaurant manager, Mary in the San Antonio Riverwalk, gives us a reason to remain Holiday Inn customers. Thanks, Mary ... and IHG, thanks for having such great people on your team. Honestly, In this age of competition, it is people like your Mary that are keeping you in business.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niels W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Asisstant at Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. I must say, I was absolutely elated to read your kind comments about Mary, but not the least bit surpised! Mary has always been known to take excellent care of our valued guests, and provide them with a warm, comforting stay experience. We are so very proud of her, and even discussed your review in our weekly service meeting!

Thank you again for your time and feedback. We hope to see you again the next time your plans include San Antonio!

Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Drove right up to the door, and got a room for the weekend. Was pleased that the hotel had plenty of parking. The hotel looked newly remodeled because it was very clean and smelled wonderful. The front desk staff were very friendly, and helpful with all of our needs. Centrally located along the River Walk with hotel access, it was walking distance to the Alamo, The Tower of Americas, La Villita and many other attractions and plenty of restaurants. The breakfast that came with the room was very nice, the wait staff were very friendly and efficient. The price compared to the accommodations and personnel made it a deal and a great weekend getaway. I will definitely be returning to this location on my next trip to San Antonio. :-)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jacob Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Jacob Q,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay with us. We're so happy to read that you had such a great experience at our newly renovated hotel, and greatly look forward to the pleasure of hosting you as our guest again the next time your plans include San Antonio.

Kindest Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 5 years. It was always a good hotel but it was getting time for a renovation.
Well, the did an awesome renovation. The entire room and bathroom was redone with these cool lighted mirrors in the bathrooms and laminate floor in the guestroom. I really like the clean and fresh feel of the rooms. The lobby and restaurant were also renovated and look nicer than many more expensive hotels.
The location is walking distance to anywhere on the Riverwalk. The service was friendly and prompt. You can pay more to stay at a fancier hotel but you won't get any more for your money!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear George O.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated product. Our design team worked very hard planning out every last detail of this renovation, so we greatly appreciate comments such as these!

Please feel free to reach out to me the next time your plans include our fair city, and I'll be happy to assist you with booking your stay!

Best Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
Lindsay.Carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews