We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I arrived on June 12th for a few days of vacation. I knew immediately that I had made the right choice to book here. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The staff is professional and friendly. Bonnie at the front desk was especially helpful. The hotel restaurant had a wonderful and relaxing atmosphere and served delicious food. The location of the hotel was perfect. Thank you to the entire staff at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk for making our vacation a great one.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TX_Rangers_Fan_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Holiday Inn on the Riverwalk was a great place to stay. The location was easy to get. Everyone on staff that I encountered was friendly. Check in was quick and easy. My room was a view of the riverwalk. The newly updated room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable! I really liked the location of this hotel as it is on the quieter end away from the hustle and bustle but everything I wanted to go to was an easy walk away. I didnt use the pool, fitness center, or restaurant so I can't comment on those. On my last night, I called room service as it had started to pour outside and there was no way of going out. They told me that it would be a 45 minute wait but 15 minutes later they were at my door.. They offer a rapid check out where you can leave your keys in the room but I still opted to check out at the front desk just in case.

The only really cons I would have is that wifi was a bit spotty at times but I didn't come to sit in my room and be on my computer all day. Also, parking is $19.50 a night but with the deal I got for the room, my charge per night was still cheaper than if I had paid full price for the room. One of the nights the noise outside was a bit loud but it may have been due to the Spurs winning..I don't know.

If I ever came back to San Antonio, I would choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAMM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. It was incredibly clean, comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. You just walk out the door and down a few steps and you're on the Riverwalk. The pool area was really nice and they have a hot tub also. I would highly recommend this place. I know we will be back again next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonnaflyhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I decided to take an unexpected trip to San Antonio! It was newly remodeled and accommodations very nice! Even though we were on the less traveled end of the riverwalk, everything was within walking distance. The staff was very helpful, even during the fire alarm discharging for no reason! The restuarant and bar are top notch, hats off to the bartender.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the riverwalk are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuttyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. It was updated and modern looking. I was extremely pleased with my stay. The location was PERFECT, for anything you could want to do. The only downside was a parking issue. I did not have a vehicle but when my son and daughter in law wanted to come visit, for a quick bite to eat they had to pay a 10.00 parking fee. He is military and was training at Fort Sam. I was in town for his graduation from a medical program. I feel that the hotel should offer a couple hour pass for visitors at least. Other wise, I can't rave enough. They even allowed me to check in a few hours early on the day I arrived. Hats off to the Holiday INN for this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberly2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My first stay here was in 2009. Work books this place for most travelers to San Antonio. I have found somewhere else I prefer to stay that offers per-diem. Unfortunately I couldn't find per-diem anywhere else during this trip and I had heard there was a renovation, so I thought I would give it a shot...

Back in 2009, it was run-down, dark, musty, etc. The renovations have lightened it up a bit; given it a more open feel... however, it may have cause more problems than solutions. I will get to that in a minute.

Rooms: Single King - Non-Smoking. The rooms are large and spacious. Some have showers, some have showers with a tub (how do I know? I will get to that too). If you need a tub, just ask for it. Loved the bathroom and the lighted mirror, very nice. The new shower is nice as well. Fridge - they brought one up, said they were putting them in every room in a month or so. Flooring... not a fan of the type of flooring they put in. Pretty cold... and I showered one night before bed, got up the next morning, walked around the room and when I got in the shower, there was dirt from my feet! yuk...

The bed was hard as a rock. If you like that, then great. I'm just thinking if you spend millions to renovate, why would you buy this type of mattress?! Really? I mean, it's a HOTEL, where people go to SLEEP. I couldn't sleep at all in it... considered sleeping on the mini sofa. Asked the desk and they said all the beds were new and the same. Ugh... SO - if you like HARD, then you will like these beds. If not, steer clear.

Major issue: So, I am a solo traveler on business. I was wrapping up some work after being in the office all day. Trying to relax...when all of a sudden there is like banging and crashing in the room next to me. A family with several small children had checked in next door... adjoining rooms mind you. It sounded like the doors were THIN tin. Some kid tapping on the other side of the adjoining room door. I could hear every thing they were doing and saying. The mom took a shower, then she proceeded to get the kids one by one in the tub (alas! a tub). I could hear her brush her teeth.. I attribute it to the "flooring". Carpet would muffle the sound somewhat, but the whole situation begs the question... WHO checks a family in (with a crying baby) to an adjoining room to a solo business traveler. UGH! You guys seriously need to look into the SOUND problem. Heavier doors? Sound proofing? Who knows... but even my co-workers complained of the noise level.

9pm, I am packing and moving rooms. :( Very unhappy.... very unrested...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear jannster,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience you may have experienced with the noise which affected your stay negatively. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very goog location at san antonio riverwalk. El alamo, la villita, boatrides at walking distance. Breakfast is not complementary. The hotel has a small bar, where you can stop before going back to the room. close at 12:00 am. I had to tell the lady at the front desk that the floor of the room assigned to me was not broomed, i went to The Alamo when i came back the room was already cleaned. The a/c worked excellent, and excellent products (shampoo, conditioner).

Room Tip: Really i heard no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eltzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnRiverwalk, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments! I must say that it was a great pleasure for all of us at The Holiday Inn Riverwalk to host you as our guest. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms, and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent location. Please accept our apologies for the cleanliness issue you encountered during your stay. I'm glad our staff was able to promptly take care of that issue for you. Thank you again for your time and comments! We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again the next time your plans include San Antonio!

Best Regards,

Lindsay Carroll- Rodriguez
Administrative Assistant
lindsay.carroll@ihg.com
210-224-2500 x 500.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,144 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
3,208 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,160 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 217 North Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $134 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this Downtown San Antonio & Riverwalk location as your gateway to the city. Ideally situated in the heart of San Antonio s business, theatre, and nightlife district, this Downtown/Riverwalk destination hotel offers easy walking access to all of the San Antonio Downtown area attractions: the Alamo, El Mercado, the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales San Antonio Convention Center, Alamodome and the Majestic Theater. Every aspect of your stay at this Holiday Inn San Antonio Hotel defines our commitment to comfort and service. This San Antonio Riverwalk hotel features an outdoor heated pool, game room, fitness center and laundry service. Take advantage of our 24 hour Business Center, where you ll find High Speed Internet Access, printer and online services. We offer Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. Enjoy Windows on the River, a tri-level restaurant that offers a picturesque view of the Riverwalk. Entice your taste buds and join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure to bring the whole family because at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel kids under 12 always eat free (some restrictions apply). The Holiday Inn Riverwalk s central location, grand hospitality, and elegance will insure you have a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing