We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a convenient place to stay to enjoy riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #17 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a convenient place to stay to enjoy riverwalk”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Holiday Inn is always a nice place to stay when heading to San Antonio Riverwalk. The hotel is clean and located in a very convenient location to Riverwalk. It is a little off the beaten path but the sidewalks are never crowded in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N728PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    330
    159
    74
    72
See reviews for
310
337
34
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had traveled from Houston to San Antonio recently, and it was a last minute booking, so we booked here at the Riverwalk. We purchased the room online; a King Size with Couch / Fridge, River side view. Getting here was easy, and the location was great, being only a few minutes from Riverwalk access, also not to far from the Market Square and Alamo. When first arriving, we opted to park ourselves and stray away from valet since we were mostly going to be walking the entire time and not going and out. There was someone to meet us in the carport right away, and gave us our information and ticket. I will say this, the parking is pretty cramped and low. I have a lifted SUV, and I wound up scraping my roof rack one of the overhangs, so easy to say it was probably too tight and I should have chosen their off-site parking. The lobby was dated, smelled old, looked old, and definitely needed to be redone. I know that some of the charm of the riverwalk, the oldness, and antique feel, but this was just felt dated without any charm. When getting our keys, the hostess stated that unfortunately there was an error in our booking and we are going to have a two twin bed room, no fridge, no couch. Keep in mind I traveled with my wife and daughter, so this kind of ruined it for us, but we had came this way and decided to take it because according to the hostess they were overbooked. We did raise a little hell and asked why we were never called or emailed about this error, and the hostess couldn't tell us anything. She did give us free breakfast for the entire weekend which is usually $12 a person, but wasn't satisfied. The room was pretty dated, brass was rusting, shower looked like it was falling apart. The beds were stiff, small, dated linens, overall just musty feel. But we sucked it up and told ourselves we will be going out mostly, so don't make a big deal. Service was ok when asked for a crib for our child. The walls were really thin and seemed like some high school kids were on our floor and were incredibly loud and obnoxious. But I know I can't judge the hotel on the guest it serves. One of the nights we had ran real late getting back and haven't eaten, so we decided to go to their supposedly high calls restaurant. The hotel's restaurant looked like a 1980's Luby's. Smelled like a cafeteria. They had cooked my wifes salmon raw, and they made my super small steak that I requested raw to burnt and above well done. It was probably the worst food I have tasted in my life. Though the breakfast on the other hand was ok, and a nice spread.

In the end, I will not go back here, I'll pay the extra $100 or so for a better hotel for our next stay...

Room Tip: if you book through Holiday Inn, I would not go through their website, the website is flawed and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I recently went on a mini vacation to San Antonio and stayed at Holiday Inn Riverwalk. I had lunch one day, and breakfast another day in the resturant, it was delicious. Also had a drink at the bar in the hotel, it was ok. The view from my room was great, with a balcony. My room was nice. I had a great time staying here, until the last day of my vacation, when my husband joined me an found a open condom wrapper under the bed. I had NO visitors and was actually disgusted that the room wasnt cleaned properly. Other than the condom wrapper incident, my stay was very enjoyable at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Holiday Inn is not my favorite and so my expectations were pretty low but I have also stayed at an overrated hotel that costs 3X as much across the street and this is a good location, the room was nice, clean, nice balcony over a quiet stretch of the Riverwalk and overall a good value.

The only downside would be a little dinginess of the bath install but it was clean and afterall it is a Holiday Inn.

Everything in the room worked, the staff was pleasant and I do plan to return.

Room Tip: get a balcony over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a very nice hotel on the Riverwalk. It was around the corner from the busy part, so that was good, because the busy part of the Riverwalk can be loud. Very convenient. The lobby was large and pretty, several elevators to choose from. The garage parking was tight. Priority club didn't have to check out until 2pm, so that was very nice, gave us time to go have lunch on the river without luggage in tow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on here i was a little concerned about our hotel selection; however, i must say I was very pleased by our accommodations during our stay.

The front desk/reception area presented very well and our room was more than fine. I certainly wouldn't say it was brand new but it was clean and plenty adequate for my family.

Breakfast was also VERY good. In fact, we enjoyed the buffet twice during our stay.

And the location was perfect. I would (and probably will) stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubychecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aransas Pass, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My daughter treated me to a weekend retreat to San Antonio and was thrilled to have reservations at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. The thrill turned to chill when we arrived on the 7th floor where our room was. As soon as the elevator opened the smell of mold hit you, and only got worse after entering our room. Disgusting does not describe the conditions. Ceiling tiles missing, no shower curtain, and the moldy smell was profound. My daughter went down, and was told they had been a miscommunication and was directed to another room on the 8th floor.
It smelled much better, had a shower curtain and no missing ceiling tiles. Then we tried to turn the television on. Nothing for about 8 minutes. We called the desk, and they told her it would take a few minutes to warm up. Once we finally got it to come on, none of the channels showed to be available. We dealt with that for the first night and even after finding a channel we could watch, it shut off after an hour. The next day, we called and they sent maintanenance to help. He checked and after being shown the listings we had for channels, he told us they had changed the listings and we had an old list. He left brought us an updated list, then told us the television had not be programmed. That matter was taken care of. He was very courteous. The air conditioner worked ok, but not as well as it should have. The lobby was very nice, but the air conditioner in the internet room was nil. While the restaurant was limited in what it offered, it was good and the staff was great. This was not what you would expect from a major hotel/motel chain. Will never go back to this Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear menhoney,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased that you liked our location and found our staff service commendable. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with your room accommodations. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,053 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 217 North Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this Downtown San Antonio & Riverwalk location as your gateway to the city. Ideally situated in the heart of San Antonio s business, theatre, and nightlife district, this Downtown/Riverwalk destination hotel offers easy walking access to all of the San Antonio Downtown area attractions: the Alamo, El Mercado, the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales San Antonio Convention Center, Alamodome and the Majestic Theater. Every aspect of your stay at this Holiday Inn San Antonio Hotel defines our commitment to comfort and service. This San Antonio Riverwalk hotel features an outdoor heated pool, game room, fitness center and laundry service. Take advantage of our 24 hour Business Center, where you ll find High Speed Internet Access, printer and online services. We offer Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. Enjoy Windows on the River, a tri-level restaurant that offers a picturesque view of the Riverwalk. Entice your taste buds and join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure to bring the whole family because at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel kids under 12 always eat free (some restrictions apply). The Holiday Inn Riverwalk s central location, grand hospitality, and elegance will insure you have a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing