We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #19 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Drove from Dallas and checked-in at midnight to reservations made on the internet. First night we used priority club points (free night), then next three nights were made using the S.A.V.E. rate through www.visitsanantonio.com $99 for Saturday, and $89 for Sunday and Monday. We gave the mattresses and boxsprings a close inspection for bedbugs and this room was clean and spotless...I've read about a problem in San Antonio hotels and wanted to be extra diligent. Our room was on the 14th floor with an outdoor balcony overlooking the world famous Riverwalk...which can add value to your experience. However, one disadvantage is the all night noise of party-goers on the weekends...which interrupted our sleep Saturday night. The beds are full size, not queen, flat screen TV, bathroom nice with plenty of towels, only complaint is that shower head water flow was very, very minimal - but I know this area of Texas is very water conscious due to recent drought conditions. We chose self-parking for $18 per night...it was easy, convenient and very accessible to the room...it is costly, but actually less than most other hotels in the downtown area. We chose the hotel for the price and the location close in walking distance to the Convention Center. It was a 25 minute drive to Sea World. My boys ages 8 and 12 enjoyed the heated pool. We stayed on a weekend before the start up of the Christmas season so the hotel was not crowded. We had some huge disappointments eating out at restaurants Mexican Manhattan (close to the hotel) and Mi Tierra...please check my other reviews.

Room Tip: Riverwalk view rooms have a nice view, but be aware of noise level on the weekends from partying peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TXtravelswith4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    323
    155
    74
    71
See reviews for
304
327
33
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The hotel has a great location. It's from a very short walking distance from everything you want to visit downtown. The hotel's restaurant has a view to the Paseo Del Rio and the hotel itself has rooms with a view to the river and a balcony. There is an access/elevator to the Paseo del Rio half a block from the hotel. The room has about a 42" LCD TV. The hotel's entrance allows you to drive in and bring in your luggage calmly because you don't have to park or get valet parking if you don't want to. The elevators are like Las Vegas because they are super fast. There is a $19 daily charge for self parking and a $26 daily charge for valet parking... you really don't need the valet because the parking lot has elevators at a very short distance as well. The hotel also has a small bistro in front of the front desk. Now the bad thing... the hotel has horrible beds, bad cable, a TV that takes 8 seconds to turn on and about 8 seconds to switch channels. The bathroom has soap scum and the room itself is kind of outdated/old. Going back to the beds, they are extremely soft and I know that I will be going home with back pain. The beds are the only reason why I wouldn't stay in this hotel because the bathroom you can have it cleaned, the TV is secondary because I'm not in SA to watch TV, but the beds... there's nothing you can really do about it. I'm loving SA, but I really, really my bed.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view to the Paseo del Rio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Manager on "duty" on (Jacob Newhimmeny) behaved like he was doing a favor accepting me on the hotel, instead of looking for a way to make up the mistake Holiday Inn made when took my reservation. The rooms were OK, in general the crew at the hotel were nice the location is excellent : right at the Riverwalk, far enough to avoid the most of the noise but near to get walking there. If the management would have a little more gentile sense of customer service the experience would have been good, but if you find any issue with your reservations, rooms or any special need, be sure the Holiday Inn Riverwalk experience will become awfull.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioLeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, Ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Right on the river walk within walking distance of everything. Rooms are just average along with everything else about it. But compare the pricing to others in the same location and it is a real value.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joenjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My spouse had a conference at an alternate hotel but we came early and first stayed at the Holiday Inn Riverwalk. It was delightful. We had a large room with a balcony overlooking the Riverwalk. The hotel had ammenities like a parking garage connected to the hotel, which was easily accessible and convenient. The hotel was beautiful and the staff very friendly. Room was clean and pleasant. When we moved to the Hyatt for my husband's conference, I was disappointed after staying at the Holiday Inn. Location was also superb, very close to some nice restaurants and the theatre. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan to visit there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneCScottsvilleNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Right on the river walk and away from the noise of all the night clubs and cafes. Easy walk 1 minute to all the restaurants on the river walk. We had a king size bed room with a balcony on the fourth floor. We got fantastic views of the river. The rooms were clean and spacious. Having the balcony meant we could sit out there and relax and enjoy the view of the river. The bathroom was a good size and well lit. I will always stay at this hotel if I return to San Antonio. Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vantrav_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel was absolutely filthy! The lobby, elevators, hallways and rooms were visibly dirty. There wasnt even a microwave available for use. The front desk receptionists lied to us repeatedly. They quoted us a price for an extra room then changed it at check out time. I will NEVER stay here or holiday inn again. Don't waste your time or money! The only good things about this Hotel was the very nice and professional valet staff and coffee shop lady!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slarnaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 355 in San Antonio
2,996 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,643 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 217 North Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this Downtown San Antonio & Riverwalk location as your gateway to the city. Ideally situated in the heart of San Antonio s business, theatre, and nightlife district, this Downtown/Riverwalk destination hotel offers easy walking access to all of the San Antonio Downtown area attractions: the Alamo, El Mercado, the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales San Antonio Convention Center, Alamodome and the Majestic Theater. Every aspect of your stay at this Holiday Inn San Antonio Hotel defines our commitment to comfort and service. This San Antonio Riverwalk hotel features an outdoor heated pool, game room, fitness center and laundry service. Take advantage of our 24 hour Business Center, where you ll find High Speed Internet Access, printer and online services. We offer Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. Enjoy Windows on the River, a tri-level restaurant that offers a picturesque view of the Riverwalk. Entice your taste buds and join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure to bring the whole family because at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel kids under 12 always eat free (some restrictions apply). The Holiday Inn Riverwalk s central location, grand hospitality, and elegance will insure you have a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing