We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this Riverwalk Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #17 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 29, 2011

They claim the non-smoking rooms are smoke free rooms, NOT SO! Our room although had a no smoking sign in front, smelled like an ash tray. Don't set up a wake up call as you will never get one. Parking is an additional $18 a day (valet is $26 per day). Room walls are made out of cardboard or so seem as you can hear everything in the next room. The staff is very nice but they can't make up for a poor property.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MWG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,168)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

This was an absolutely superb hotel! My wife and I stayed here for three nights and could not fault it.

The food was superb, the room was massive and really clean, the pool area was perfect and secluded. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and it is only a short 10 minute walk from the centre of town or a relatively cheap ($1.15 each way) shuttle bus. Wi-fi was free and they had desktop computers for anything you needed to print.

I am not sure if I will get the chance to return to San Antonio but if I do I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoreboy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Service in the hotel was fine; valet and receptionist personnel were helpful and pleasant when we first arrived and let us check in early. The hotel appeared to be an older hotel and had been renovated. The bed was comfortable and amenities were fine, but the walls were very thin and you could hear people in rooms nearby, particularly babies crying. Internet connectivity stunk...was sporadic to say the least. The cable on the tv was very slow in changing channels. Tried to access the elevator on the bottom floor and it was broken; must I go on? Maybe a lot of petty things to complain about....if you only need a place to lay your head and go to sleep then stay here. Otherwise, find a newer, better place close by. Location was good, but there are too many other places to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homewardbound12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed here for three nights for a conference, yes it is right on the riverwalk so is very convenient, but it is the most disfunctional hotel I have ever experienced. The front lobby has a terrible stench that extends to the restaurant. The restaurant is under-staffed so it takes forever to get your food. The beds are creaky - literally you can hear the springs in them. If you have a choice you should go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crucesaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had a few reservations about staying here after reading some of the reviews; however, our stay was absolutely fabulous. I booked our trip on www.visitsanantonio.com and received one heck of a deal. The hotel is a short walk away from the excitement on the Riverwalk. The Room Service was great and we enjoyed the speedy service. The rooms were pretty average, nothing too special, but comfortable and roomy. We enjoyed the riverview from the balcony in our room. I will stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor for a better view of river
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kimmkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

When I stayed at this hotel with my family I was not impressed. The lobby has a disgusting odor in the air, and the initial service was not what it should have been.

For how much you are paying for a room you also have to pay $18 to park everyday and you have to buy breakfast. It seems as though nothing is complimentary, not even a cup of coffee.

It also took the staff until 2:00pm to make up our room, and when we informed them of a broken vending machine that was dispensing hot sodas and water, we had to inform them a second time before anything was done.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Yes the location is great, but there are plenty of other hotels on the Riverwalk to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xXkakXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Although this hotel is conveniently located on the riverwalk, it lacks in every other area. Not only do you have to pay daily to park, there is no complimentary continental breakfast or coffee.

During my stay my room did not get made up until 2pm, and it had an awful smell throughout he lobby and restaurant. On top of everything, the drink machine on my rooms floor had extremely hot beverages coming out of it. When we brought it to the front desks attention nothing had changed by the end of that day. It was still dispensing hot beverages. We had to let them know a second time, maybe after that they decided to fix it... No, but at least they put an out of order sign...kudos for doing your job.

Overall, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. For the price you are paying to stay here it is extremely under par.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xXkakXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,095 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,115 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 217 North Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $151 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this Downtown San Antonio & Riverwalk location as your gateway to the city. Ideally situated in the heart of San Antonio s business, theatre, and nightlife district, this Downtown/Riverwalk destination hotel offers easy walking access to all of the San Antonio Downtown area attractions: the Alamo, El Mercado, the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales San Antonio Convention Center, Alamodome and the Majestic Theater. Every aspect of your stay at this Holiday Inn San Antonio Hotel defines our commitment to comfort and service. This San Antonio Riverwalk hotel features an outdoor heated pool, game room, fitness center and laundry service. Take advantage of our 24 hour Business Center, where you ll find High Speed Internet Access, printer and online services. We offer Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. Enjoy Windows on the River, a tri-level restaurant that offers a picturesque view of the Riverwalk. Entice your taste buds and join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure to bring the whole family because at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel kids under 12 always eat free (some restrictions apply). The Holiday Inn Riverwalk s central location, grand hospitality, and elegance will insure you have a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing