We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay,close to everything” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Ranked #16 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
brazoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice stay,close to everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

PROS: View was good,pool was nice,right on the riverwalk.
Clean room,people were nice.Walking distance to
a lot of great places.
Cons: $18 a day to park?C'mon!The room was high enough.
Was told it was $14 a day when reservation was made.
Would have given higher rating if not for this.
Overall: We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westbrazos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    310
    150
    72
    70
See reviews for
291
311
31
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

The TV does not work properly 6 out 20 channel did not work, call front desk she said they are fixing them. called after 5 hrs another front desk clerk said she had no idea about that,she send manintainace guy, he confirm that they are not working, he is going to find out , never heard any thing from them. Next day when I ask again, they change the room but even worst problems with TV and shower and internet. They had no appology , no sence of fixing the problem etc.
Having said that, the house keeper were great in taking care of us. that is the only reason I gave them average rating

Room Tip: only if you need bed to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

The place has a serious problem with mold and mildew. I could smell it the moment i walked in the lobby and smelled everywhere in the hotel. The bathroom in my room was horrible. I kept the bathroom door closed and the patio door open and still got a headache every time I walked in there from mold and mildew. The bathtub was black on the bottom - stained from dirt. It was just gross. The icing on the cake was upon packing up to leave, I discovered my Kindle was missing. I have spoken with a manager and they filed an insurance claim. It remains to be seen if they will make things right. The staff here are young and well meaning but the place needs to be gutted and cleaned. I would never reccomend it based on my experience.

Room Tip: Skip it. There are lots of hotels in San Antonio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

My experience was very positive. I was a little concerned after reading the other reviews but I was with a reunion and meeting others there. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, my room was very clean and housekeeping kept it that way. The room was always fresh but not perfumey, a pet peeve of mine. The meeting areas could have been cleaned up a bit better. My elderly parents had a different experience with housekeeping on a different floor. There were dirty cups in the room and cigarette butts on the terrace when they got there. They had to call twice to get the room cleaned up. Overall my experience was a 4.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLG1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

As a member of their preferred program, I was horrified on how they treat us. They overbooked our room and it took them more than 5 minutes to give a room. Finally they gave us a suite and say that we were upgraded so we should be happy. We were only upgraded becuase they messed up our reservation, not as a favor or to acknowlege our membership. Needless to say that they didn't even bother to apologize. When we got to the room, the sleeper couch was not made, so again another wait, until they decided to make it to the room, well they never made it so we left as the children needed to eat before it was to late. When we got back, they didn't even bother to make the sleeper couch, they just put the sheets on top and good luck trying to figure it out. The next day at checkout I found my bill right in the middel of the hallway. Wow!!! They are greatly concern with their guest privacy. Not! I went to the desk to report the situation and MOD was less than concern, all the time she gave me her fake apology, she didn't even bother to look me in the eyes. I WILL NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL EVEN IF THEY PAY ME. Spend a few more dollars and go stay at a Hilton. I assure you, your stay will be a good one and without any attitudes.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

I booked hotel for a conference trip since it is close to the river walk and cheaper than the ritzy nearby hotels. Shame on me for thinking that this hotel would be average when it was below average. Front desk and staff a bit grumpy all the time, bathroom of room filthy (hair, blood, and a leaky faucet to the tub...) Thank goodness. The bed seemed clean and was comfy to sleep on. The noise from the street level is loud on weekend nights...I agree with pervious posters about this. Also,one morning, before my big presentation, they were supposed to send a wake up call to my room and did not. Then, when sightseeing, I asked the desk and concierge which bus went to the zoo..they didn't know...I looked it up, it is the number 7...when I asked where the bus stop was all they could do was guess, leading me on a 1mile goose chase. (Bus was near front of mall by Alamo, not any of the places they told me to go!)

OK, sounds like I am being picky? I had a po boy sandwich in their restaurant only to find a huge nasty hair in it. they apologized and did not charge me but it was so gross.

THis is really a budget hotel and the only ups are the location, the bed quality, and the free paper in the lobby each day. buyer beware.........

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msspungen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

I look for this hotel becuase it's location... i used to stay in holiday inn at another cities but this hotel in particular, is the oldest i've ever stay before...worst than this, it's dirty, the rooms, the bath tube (there was hairs), the corridors...etc, nothing clean at all...... I ask for a crib too and I receive nothing...
Never stay again...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miguellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Riverwalk

Property: Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Address: 217 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#49 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this Downtown San Antonio & Riverwalk location as your gateway to the city. Ideally situated in the heart of San Antonio s business, theatre, and nightlife district, this Downtown/Riverwalk destination hotel offers easy walking access to all of the San Antonio Downtown area attractions: the Alamo, El Mercado, the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales San Antonio Convention Center, Alamodome and the Majestic Theater. Every aspect of your stay at this Holiday Inn San Antonio Hotel defines our commitment to comfort and service. This San Antonio Riverwalk hotel features an outdoor heated pool, game room, fitness center and laundry service. Take advantage of our 24 hour Business Center, where you ll find High Speed Internet Access, printer and online services. We offer Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. Enjoy Windows on the River, a tri-level restaurant that offers a picturesque view of the Riverwalk. Entice your taste buds and join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Make sure to bring the whole family because at the Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel kids under 12 always eat free (some restrictions apply). The Holiday Inn Riverwalk s central location, grand hospitality, and elegance will insure you have a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Riverwalk Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing