We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked last room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Ranked #115 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
A TripAdvisor Member
Marion, Ohio
11
Reviewed July 16, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 746 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19,243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scouse-Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TxCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RedSpyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2005

My father, uncle and I shared a room as we were attending a family reunion being held at this hotel. Check-in was quick and friendly. At first we were given a room different than what we requested but when we notified the front desk, they corrected it with no problem. We ended up in a room with two queen beds and a rollaway. Being the junior member of the crew, I rated the rollaway. It was okay as cots go, I suppose. The pillows were decently firm for my taste. My father and uncle seemed comfortable on their beds and I would agree after kicking back on a for a snooze or two myself. I found the room to be clean with a subtle Southwestern theme.
The standard iron and coffeemaker were there and in decent shape.

If you like pool views, I recommend that you request an interior room. It was nice to be able to look out at the pool area from the somewhat small balcony. (I didn't get the chance to take a dip in the pool but the main 5.5 ft. max pool was flanked by a 3 ft. hot tub on one end and a 1 ft. kiddie pool in the other.) The TV had a decent selection of 30 channels for you TV enthusiasts out there. The bathroom was a bit cramped for three people obviously but probably okay for two. The variable shower head was a nice feature.

We went to their restaurant for breakfast each morning. (There's also a bar and game room in the facility.) We paid $8.99 for their breakfast buffet which is fair for a hotel. The catering staff that assisted us with our evening affairs were friendly and efficient but the food itself left a bit to be desired.


The hotel is about a 10-minute ride from the Riverwalk and other nearby attractions. There's also a trolley stop right at the door which will take you downtown for 85 cents (with a 15 cent transfer you can use for a roundtrip if you return within two hours). On a mild day, you could even walk to and from downtown... but not in 100-degree heat! UGH!

What separates this hotel experience from others for me was the hospitality of its staff. I've rarely experienced such friendly and accomodating personalities at any hotel I have stayed at. Out of many pleasant situations, the one that stands out for me is when I went to the front desk to request a cushion for my father to use in the restaurant to alleviate his back problems. Not only did someone respond quickly, but they brought not only a pillow but a neck cushion for him to use. That's something I might expect from a five-star (although there's no guarantees there, either) but receiving that kind of service here just blew me away! It was also nice that some front desk staff took a personal interest in some of our events.

I'm sorry that some other recent reviews did not have the pleasant experience that I did. Perhaps it was because we were part of a large group staying at the hotel at the height of tourist season? Nonetheless, whatever deficiencies they may have had in recent months was certainly corrected by the time we got there. Certainly, if you approach the staff with a smile, they will smile right back!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony5969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square

Address: 318 West Cesar Chavez, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $88 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Downtown-Market Square is located just 2 blocks to Market Square, 6 blocks to the River Walk area, 8 blocks to Convention Center, 10 blocks to the Alamodome. We have beautifully renovated all of the guest rooms, lobby, fitness center, and pool area! We offer interior corridors, complimentary parking and wi-fi. Madera Restaurant & Bar. Large outdoor pool with spa and sundeck. Business center and sundry shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing