We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #118 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
brownsville,tx
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Holiday visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have stayed here before and had same good clean room and great service. Easy check in and out, Free parking and very close to everything(highway, downtown). Great pricing too. Would recommend it again.

Room Tip: choose room on west side (highway side) for less sun in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justtraveling_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed it.

Safe Travels!
Ben, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    204
    170
    78
    66
See reviews for
239
181
41
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natchitoches, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Eleven of our family members from kids to great-grandmother stayed for three nights at Holiday Inn on West Cesar Chavez in San Antonio last week. From the time we arrived after a 9 hour drive to the time we drove away, we were completely happy with this hotel. The front desk staff was patient with our crew, as was the bartender. Kudos to Lulu in administration and Steve the shuttle driver for making our stay personable and very enjoyable. Hotel is well maintained, clean and quiet. Close to great Mexican restaurant and the Riverwalk. Just off the Interstate. It was a great choice that we will return to.

Room Tip: ask for a view of downtown skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so sharing your experience. I am so glad your family had such a wonderful time at our Hotel and in the city.

Safe travels!

Ben, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very friendly and helpful service. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to downtown sites, but the 15-20 minute walks is easy and provides interesting and historic sites to see along the way to The Riverwalk, Alamo, or Convention Center.

Internet service is very weak. I had to sit in the hotel lobby in order to get decent reception. The bath towels were small and light - definitely not the standard towels I'm accustomed to at other Holiday Inn hotels.

I saw flyers from various local eateries outside room doors and under my door. I expressed my displeasure about the unprofessional appearance and was told that it happens often despite complaints to the offending restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I have called my internet provider to confirm that our system is running correctly based on your comment. The Pizza flyers under the door are an unwelcomed business practice that Hoteliers throughout the city are dealing with on a daily basis.

Safe Travels!
Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Strengths: Helpful staff, good breakfast buffet (I paid $10 extra for the buffet at time of reservation), quiet room, clean room, location next to tram/bus stop across the street (yellow route), room close to elevator, allowed us into room 2 hours before check-in, friendly to our two young boys, free map of tourist sites, gave us a coupon page, free parking, close to downtown tourist spots, competitive price
Weaknesses: The door to our room wouldn't lock properly and we had to ask for maintenance staff just as we were headed out to take in the sights, the door underneath the sink fell off, the heater produced a foul odor (far above the normal burning smell that heaters commonly give off--the smell required that we sleep without the heater though the room didn't get uncomfortably cold), had to unexpectedly pay more for the buffet breakfast (my e-mail confirmation said, "Includes breakfast for up to 2 adults sharing a room," but when we arrived for the buffet we were told that our breakfast which I assumed was covered would now cost me extra--the buffet was $10.99 per adult and they told us we had a $20 voucher, meaning that we paid $5 extra between paying the overage and tip for a sit down meal; thus, I thought it was a bit deceptive that my $10 breakfast buffet would actually cost me $15)
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowboysDad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Great useful comments thanks for sharing. I am glad you had a pleasant stay. I haven't had the breakfast coupon comment come up recently I will go back to the staff and make sure that we are on the same page. Thanks again.

Safe Travels!
Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here one night over the veterans day weekend. Simply put - the rooms are old and filthy. There is no excuse for a hotel chain of this magnitude to allow the conditions of there hotel rooms to become like this. We went to three different rooms and all of the rooms had a yucky old wet mildew smell to them. The carpet was dirty, the beds were lumpy, the hallway carpet was dirty, and staff appeared unconcerned. And to put the nail in the proverbial coffin...We were offered free breakfast (which was a very nice gesture on the part of the morning manager), however, we couldnt get anyone to take our order in the restaurant they were no where to be found. Very dissappointing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Particularlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments I am sorry it sounds like you had a not so favorable experience. It is my teams goal to make sure that every guest has a safe and satisfying stay. Please accept my apology. If you would like to discuss further with me the main number is 210 225-3211.

Safe Travels
Ben. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Bridgeport, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was nice, clean, and had a nice buffet breakfast. As a motorcoach operator, I see lots of hotels and motels on tour and charter trips. My The experience here was very good, for one they made a very convenient arrangement for the parking of 5 large motor coaches. They get 4 our of 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAllenFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the comment and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you real soon.

Safe Travels!
Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Steve's vast knowledge of San Antonio was extremely helpful in planning our activities. His fantastic selection of restaurants led us to the best food in the area. The holiday inn is very fortunate to have such a caring and upbeat shuttle bus driver.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the comments I always share them with my staff. I will make sure Steve gets recognition at our next staff meeting.

Safe Travels!

Ben, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Do...
#134 of 355 in San Antonio
92 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Address: 318 West Cesar Chavez, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Downtown-Market Square is located just 2 blocks to Market Square, 6 blocks to the River Walk area, 8 blocks to Convention Center, 10 blocks to the Alamodome. We have beautifully renovated all of the guest rooms, lobby, fitness center, and pool area! We offer interior corridors, complimentary parking and wi-fi. Madera Restaurant & Bar. Large outdoor pool with spa and sundeck. Business center and sundry shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing