We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Ranked #117 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This Holiday Inn is nothing special, but it does it jobs fairly well. The rooms are not brand new, nor the beds or the bathroom. My wife and I used on a shopping trip from Mexico City and it was not conveniently located since most of our shooping occur at the north of the city. It is clean, the staff is not as friendly and their spanish is very basic. The parking lot is fine, we did not see any problem of looting so we feel safe. If you want a place to sleep, it is ok, if you are into shooping, you may try an alternative at the north of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Sounds like you had fun shopping. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself.

Safe Travels!
Ben, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 748 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Not the prettiest Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in but I have to say the staff has been exceptional. Very friendly, helpful and accomodating. You are ony 2 blocks from Market Square and 2 blocks from getting on the Riverwalk (not near shops, but it will get you there). Great pool area. The restuarant leaves a lot to be desired in service. Very slow. I went down to the bar at 5pm and no one was the serve anyone. Sat for 10 mins waiting to get a beer. No TVs on, no card to even ring up tabs... it needs a good bar manager.

Room Tip: Very close to Market Square, King William area and Riverwalk.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirebrandFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make a comment about your stay. Glad you enjoyed yourself. I will make sure our F&B Director sees them as well.

Safe Travels!

Ben, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We booked two rooms for family with kid and my parents. We got two rooms on two different floors. Soon I realized shower was not working. Called the frontdesk(by the way, room had no instructions how to call front desk, none of the labeled buttons on the phone worked), the person on the phone said he did not have anything on same floor, only he had available on 4th floor. It was on a totally different section than my parents on 2nd floor. we moved to 4th floor, it was hot. Put the AC high, was thinking it might cool down in couple of hours. Then my wife said, room had no towels. So we got a room which was not ready. it was already 1 in the morning, my wife or me.none had any energy to move room again. Next day room was still hot, they sent guy to check. He offered to bring a fan. None of the room had any microwave or fridge. I even called in the morning that we were travelling with a baby, I had to keep buying milk as room had no fridge. Hotel need lot of work, very old, rooms are not clean. Most of the lights on the elevator do not work, which should be easily fixed. I stayed in other Holiday Inns before, but this was below any standard. I would never stay or even recommend anyone to stay here. We were happy to check out from this place.

Room Tip: Never stay here
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samdallas972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept my apology on behalf of the Hotel staff. I will share you remarks with my staff to make sure that this does happen again.

Safe travels
Ben, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was extremently comfortable, and convenient to the beautiful marketplace. Free parking, offered a full delicious breakfast. The pool was very nice, and all of the staff were excellent, and helpful. The marketplace was only a few blocks, within walking distance (approx. 10-15min).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thanks so much for the kind words. I will make sure the staff gets to see them. Hopefully your plans will bring you back to San Antonio soon!

Safe Travels,

Ben, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

First let me say, we come to downtown SA about twice a year just to visit and have great Mexican food and this is our first time to stay here at the Holiday Inn Market Center.

This hotel may not have free breakfast (I prefer fresh cooked to free pastries and coffee anyway) but the parking IS free. Check for this $25 per day markup prior to booking a hotel on the Riverwalk next time. Not only will it buy a lot of breakfast, but it will also fund your daily trolley pass.

The A/C in the room has got to be the best of all the places we have ever stayed. This is the first time in four years we have had to turn it warmer in the room because it got too cold! This to me is amazing when it is 105 outside all day and you need a break from walking in the heat.

Other reviews are correct when they say this hotel is not on the Riverwalk, but it is next to the Mexican market, and you need to go there anyway.

The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the staff was great! As for the value, you can't go wrong. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Wow! I am very glad you enjoyed your stay so much, Thanks for sharing!
Safe travels
Ben, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel needs a little work. the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable but new carpet and wall paper would definitely be a major improvement. Don't be surprised to see marks on the walls and stains on the carpet.
On a plus side the hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delcie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed the staff. I will make sure they get to see your remarks.

Safe Travels!

Ben, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a very nice Holiday Inn in a very good location! Holiday Inn is a solid, dependable chain and this one was no disappointment. San Antonio is famous for it's beautiful and fascinating, historical downtown area and this hotel is right in the middle of it. It is 7 blocks from the Alamo and the famous "River Walk" area. They do not have a free, included breakfast but then there are certainly better places to eat anyway. Recommended for spouses and families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBBaker, Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Wow! Thank you for the kind words. I appreciate all reviews, the good the bad and ugly but my favorite ones are the ones from the road warriors who stay at many Hotels and have good comparative knowledge. Then for my staff to be able to make a positive impression with that guest makes me really proud of them. Thanks again for sharing.

Safe Travels!

Ben, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square

Address: 318 West Cesar Chavez, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $90 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Downtown-Market Square is located just 2 blocks to Market Square, 6 blocks to the River Walk area, 8 blocks to Convention Center, 10 blocks to the Alamodome. We have beautifully renovated all of the guest rooms, lobby, fitness center, and pool area! We offer interior corridors, complimentary parking and wi-fi. Madera Restaurant & Bar. Large outdoor pool with spa and sundeck. Business center and sundry shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing