We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room is fine but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport
Ranked #130 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The room is fine but...”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I mused several ways to write this review and breaking with the traditional ho hum... but this hotel is just that - Ho Hum. It's rated at 3 stars for it's amenities but it does not deserve it. It is old, under staffed, and carpet in the hallways is stained every 3-4 feet. The internet is extremely slow and when it gets a little pep they have figured out how to keep you from streaming movies - really... but oh well. But, like everything there is always is always the opposite side of the coin - the rooms were clean and quiet and when I did get service it was great. In addition the location is also pretty good. Overall, unless you have no other choice, I would find somewhere else to overnight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEARBOLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday I, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the discomfort you experienced while staying with us. I will share your comments with the staff as we are continually trying to improve the guest experience at our hotel. I also want to take this opportunity to let you know about our renovation this year. We have some exciting changes coming to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    103
    72
    36
    23
See reviews for
75
51
12
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This is an older hotel right on Loop 410. There's a newer Holiday Inn Express next door. We were staying here because of a meeting. The hotel staff are friendly and the rooms are adequate and clean. Very limited TV channels. Good wireless internet that is free, however. The breakfast buffet, is poor, and very expensive. $13.95 for what most hotels offer for free is a poor decision. I have had equally good, if not much better when staying at properties offering free hot breakfast.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Windsweptphot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday I, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize that the breakfast buffet was not up to standards. I will definitely forward your comments to our Executive Chef as he takes pride in preparing an exceptional Food and Beverage experience.

At your service,

Austin VandeVate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stay here on business, it's not by choice but where my company chooses to book us. Although it's conveniently located about 15 minutes from the airport and there is a hotel shuttle , getting anywhere else (like downtown) will cost you about $50 in cab fare.
My biggest problem with this hotel is the temperature controlled rooms. The thermostats are set to only give either heat or cool air during certain times of the year (and you'll get varying answers from the staff about how this works.) I've boiled in the summer unable to get air, and I've frozen during the winter unable to get heat. When calling down to the desk, you will never get a space heater because without fail, they are alwyas all out. Ask for a blanket and they'll say one is being sent but you'll never get it. Basically, you'll be uncomfortable here no matter what season unless you generally have no issues with hot or cold.
The hotel itself is mediocre. The rooms aren't overly clean and they are a tad outdated. It typically takes awhile to check into this hotel even if there are four or more staff members behind the front desk, there always seems to be some confusion and thus a lengthy wait to get your room.
The restaurant in the hotel has a pretty decent menu at not so decent prices and the food is less than average at best. If I had a choice, I would never stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tlee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday I, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the discomfort you experienced while staying with us. I will share your comments with the staff as we are continually trying to improve the guest experience at our hotel. I also want to take this opportunity to let you know about our renovation this year. We have some exciting changes coming to our hotel.

At your service,
Austin VandeVate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Minutes from San Antonio International, this hotel is perfect for an early morning flight. There is a free shuttle service that runs every 15 minutes which saves on taxi fares and check-in/check-out is extremely fast. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable with the added bonus of a fridge. Starbucks in the lobby provides a quick food option, although a restaurant is available. WiFi is freely available, reliable and fast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpnutsni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday I, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

At your service,
Austin VandeVate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Took forever to get transportation from the airport. It's only a 5 minute ride! Check in was uneventful. Got off on 3rd floor to find the carpet stained all the way down the hallway. Room was about the same with stained carpet and furniture. Bed was slightly better than a foldout couch. Loose ceiling panels. Marginal A/C system. Overall, just plain nasty.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday I, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I apologize for negative experience you had with the hotel. Your comments are appreciated and I will share this with that staff. We do strive to exceed guest expectations on every level and take it very seriously when we fail. We will use your comments to raise our service levels. In addition, this hotel will be going through a renovation and we will have some exciting changes. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

At your service,
Austin VandeVate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I arrived on 11/30 around 6pm for my one night stay. Check in was swift and the receptionist was attentive. However, didn't mention anything about the services (dining, breakfast, etc). Odd smell as I traveled to my room. I came to my room (303) and was happy with the size and flat screen TV. However, I went into the bathroom and it was less than stellar. Grit on the floor behind the door, toothpaste splatter on the frame of the mirror. The shower head was lacking pressure. The towels smelled like fish sticks (not kidding!) I headed downstairs to eat (no mention of room service in the guide book). The server, Jeremy, was awful! He literally said 2 words to me. Waited forever for a refill of my water. The food was very good, but I was so turned off by the poor service. I headed back to the room and did some business work. About 10pm I headed to bed. Starting at 11, the folks in the room next to me were, uh, having a great time. I let it go til 11:50, and then called the front desk due to the noise. They then had more people come into the room with tons of laughing, yelling, banging furniture and yelling in the hallway. Waited 20 minutes (and never heard a phone ring or someone come to their door) and called the front desk again requesting a new room (12:15ish AM). They said no problem and I could come get the key. Seriously? You didn't take care of the noise and want me to come get a new room key? Asked the woman for a key to be brought up -- she said it would 30 min since she was the only one on. However, it arrived about 15 min later. I was then sent to the 10th floor (for Priority members only). Finally getting settled in my new room after 12:40am, I was pleased to have a quiet room. This room was also generally clean, except for the bathroom. Odd orangish spot on the floor near the toilet, and more toothpaste gunk on the mirror frame. Furniture was much more dated in the new room however (just aesthetic). I ordered room service for breakfast (in this room there were menus indicating room service. Maybe they only offer it to Priority members?) Breakfast was delivered quite quick, and was tasty (but pricey, of course).

I will most likely be back to SA for business, and will def not be staying here for those trips!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was short lived as we were able, thankfully, to get rooms at the Express instead. It smelled like an old bowling alley. The kind of minty air freshener smell that can't cover up the odors of dirt or fungus that accrue from lack of sanitation. The toilet had pubes on it from some previous occupant. It was all downhill from there Customer service is lackluster at best. I'll let the photos speak for themselves.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KellyBallance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear KellyBallance,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am sorry to hear about your experience at our property. I hope you can believe me when I say that your experience is not the norm for our property. We take great pride in keeping our amenities at tip top shape for our weary travelers. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in San Antonio you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast San Antonio
Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport
Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport
#224 of 358 in San Antonio
255 reviews
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport

Property: Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport
Address: 77 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216-5822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#102 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceeding your expectations is always our goal at the Holiday Inn International Airport hotel! Conveniently located one mile from the San Antonio International Airport we can quickly welcome you after your flight with complimentary transportation. Just seven miles from downtown San Antonio, Texas; the famous Alamo, San Antonio Riverwalk Henry B. Gonzalez Convention center. We area across the street from stylish shopping at the NorthStar Mall and minutes from the Quarry Market. This hotel is undoubtedly the choice of both leisure and business travelers. Revitalized from a multi million dollar renovation we are equipped to accommodate your every need. Unwind in your room complete with free high-speed Internet, executive work area, refrigerator, microwave, and pay-per-view capabilities catering to needs from doing that presentation to watching the latest movies released. Even relax at our refreshing pool or work up a sweat in our wellness room.Explore your choice of dining experiences with selections of our relaxing Bravo Bar & Grill or the Java Express serving tempting dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner, or room service, while in the Lobby Deli, Starbucks coffee can be enjoyed. We go beyond superb, deluxe amenities and exceptional hospitality! For business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport hotel is one of the best lodging options in San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio International Airport Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing