We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There were breakfast items as indicated at check in for the...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Medical Center South
Ranked #147 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    122
    80
    60
    55
See reviews for
183
68
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We found the hotel "acceptable" but stayed on the first floor where our handicapped room was given away due to over booking. Hotel staff removed the bathroom door of a room equipped with king size bed and I utilized a roll under sink just down the hall near the breakfast buffet. Overall we found the staff very pleasant and helpful, the breakfast buffet was better than the last hotel we stayed at in San Antonio, and the location was very convenient to Lackland AFB. Door to gate was 15 minutes when utilizing exit 4 off I410 to base gate, straight to the first set of lights, turn right where BMT reception center is on the left about half mile on Truemper Street.

Room Tip: For the price and location to Lackland, worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcconville2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Ok, so this Hampton leaves you feeling like you need a shower after you leave. The elevator smells like a mechanics shop, the carpets were filthy, and the rooms had sort of musty smell. I wouldn't let my kids take off their shoes until they went to bed. The breakfast was great as per Hampton. I wouldn't stay here again nor recommend it to others. Not my usual Hamption experience at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommasTripn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

A little long in tooth...small and old. Same breakfast quality as in other H Inns. Old elevators smell like old subway station. Marie Callendars Restaurant next door. That is nice and convenient. Pool area is sub standard. Exterior door was unlocked. Location is not in a great neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommasue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
224 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was suitable for an overnight stay near the Interstate, but I would choose a different spot if I were spending extra time in San Antonio. Rooms were very small, and the bathroom drain did not drain well. Room lacked adequate electric outlets for charging devices and, though the room had a refrigerator, it was one that looked like it had been pulled from some other installation and placed next to the dresser (it still had the brackets from where it had resided previously). Staff members were very helpful, and there is a nice restaurant directly next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxTrvlr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My sister and I stayed here on a Saturday night with our kids after a long day at Sea World. It was about 11:00 pm when we drove up to the hotel, there were at least 5 adults outside drinking beer in front of the hotel. I went in to check in the sign on the sliding door says after 10pm the doors are locked and you need to ring the bell to check in...this was not the case I walked right in. Really did not get much of a welcome from the front desk...was told to pull around the back and use the back doors, since they were closer to the elevators. We did that and there were 3 large males at the back door smoking...the lighting was not very good...needless to say we got in our room as fast as we could. The room was clean but small and had a refrigerator, movies and games on demand, it worked for what we needed it for. It just was not the typical Hampton quality that I'm use to. The breakfast looked good but the line was so long to get the food and not much of a sitting area that we passed and got breakfast on the way home

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SABCSTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
#116 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Northwest Side
Best Western Plus Fiesta Inn
Best Western Plus Fiesta Inn
#52 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Northwest Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Medical Center, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn - Medica...
#194 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Northwest Side
Quality Inn Medical Center
Quality Inn Medical Center
#294 of 354 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Medical Center South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Medical Center South

Property: Best Western Plus Medical Center South
Address: 4803 Manitou, San Antonio, TX 78228-1131 (Formerly Baymont Inn And Suites San Antonio Northwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Medical Center South 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Medical Center South is close to the University of Texas Health and Science Center at San Antonio, Crossroads Mall, and South Texas Medical Center. It is adjacent to several restaurants and shops and walking distance to Marie Callender's(R) restaurant. It is located between such major attractions as SeaWorld(R), Six Flags(R) Fiesta Texas and Lackland Air Force Base. This hotel offers an onsite fitness center, business center, outdoor pool and guest rooms with 42-inch flat screen HD televisions along with free wireless high-speed Internet access. All rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and board. Guests love the location of our newly renovated hotel because we are just a few miles from St. Mary's University, UTSA with convenient access to both Interstate 10 and Loop 410 off Callaghan Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Medical Center South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Antonio Nw/Sea World Area Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing