We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Medical Center South
Ranked #149 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Good Price, clean, good breakfast, even got my room ready within 35mins showing up early for check in. large room, easy access to freeway, no need to stay downtown San Antonio. Exercise room was roomy,equipment worked, provided water, clean towels and TV and control of room temperture

Room Tip: stay on 5th floor, nice and quite, second stay was in the 1st floor,, near pool, quite but too cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeFalling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    118
    79
    57
    54
See reviews for
178
67
28
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

This place is nowhere near Sea World. Its right off the interstate, among some old car dealerships. I think the hotel used to be an office building. Otherwise, the service was OK at best.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

The room was large enough, clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was good with variety both days. The staff was helpful and professional and when the desk clerk found out we were there for an Air Force graduation he gave us the special Lackland discount which we weren't aware of. The hotel also had easy access to the highway with restaurants and shopping nearly. The only negative was the AC which didn't always seem cold enough but it was 100+ outside and we were cool enough to sleep well each night.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor in the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I have stayed here several times. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, there is a decent enough free breakfast, free coffee 24/7, free Internet access in the room and lobby, a business center if needed, and the location is convenient, right off the freeway. The rooms are large enough and clean. The on-site gym is basic, but there is a Gold's gym within a five minute drive down Callaghan (granted, it's not the best Gold's in the world and I'd recommend showering back at the hotel). While the hotel is right off the freeway, I've never had a noisy room. And did I mention the rooms are clean and the rates very reasonable?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

This Hampton Inn was terrbible. Not close to Sea World at all. Out-dated, grimmy, the rooms were stuffy, the a/c cut on and off every 5-10 minutes, even after adjusting the temperature several times, making it real hard to get the room cool and even harder to sleep. Only nice part was the bathroom. The majority of the staff was rude.We even saw 2 of the employees making out in the parking lot. Only quality employees at this hotel were the ladies who prepared breakfast every morning. A pair of of sleeping garments came up missing after the first night there.I had hung them on the hook on back of door. I noticed that same day and notified the front desk who offered no apology for my missing item and only told me she would have the manager call me , which he never did. The following morning when I asked the front desk she called the housekeeping manager in front of me and was told that my item was thrown away. When I asked if that was the hotel policy I was told yes. When I asked to speak to manager he did say he looked for it but never found it and still NO APOLOGY. I will never stay at this location again and never recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, no views of anything but office buildings, and freeways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoviceTravler800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Terrible attitude from front desk when we decided not to stay due to the pool being closed. Our kids had been the car for a while. The last thing you want is to load up and drive to another unknown location for a pool. When talked to the manager she copped and attitude and told us we would now be under hamptons cancellation policy. We have used hamptons alot. DO NOT USE THIS ONE!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcht2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for a night. Staff was friendly and helpful.
We asked for a quiet, clean room and high floor. The front desk stuff smiled and said that all rooms in the hotel are clean. It was true. We got a room according to our request. The room was a little smaller than the newer Hamptons, but everything was clean and worked well. The 2 double beds were super comfortable. Only the air/heater was loud.
We enjoyed the free hot buffet breakfast, which was typically an egg dish, sausages, a waffle maker, yogurts, instant oatmeal, fresh fruits, muffins, and bagels. My family and I like egg dish, oatmeal and waffles very.
The outside pool was clean, good size. Problem is we prefer to swim early, but the pool was open from 10:00 am only.
Only about a 15 minute drive to the Riverwalk.
There is free parking there. No problem with parking lots there.
Overall is a nice place to stay for the price and location.
We will definitely return the next time we're in town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tatiiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
BEST WESTERN Ingram Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Ingram Park Inn
#117 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Northwest Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fiesta Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fiesta Inn
#48 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Northwest Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Medical Center, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn - Medica...
#189 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Northwest Side
Quality Inn Medical Center
Quality Inn Medical Center
#285 of 354 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Medical Center South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Medical Center South

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Medical Center South
Address: 4803 Manitou, San Antonio, TX 78228-1131 (Formerly Baymont Inn And Suites San Antonio Northwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Medical Center South 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Medical Center South is close to the University of Texas Health and Science Center at San Antonio, Crossroads Mall, and South Texas Medical Center. It is adjacent to several restaurants and shops and walking distance to Marie Callender's(R) restaurant. It is located between such major attractions as SeaWorld(R), Six Flags(R) Fiesta Texas and Lackland Air Force Base. This hotel offers an onsite fitness center, business center, outdoor pool and guest rooms with 42-inch flat screen HD televisions along with free wireless high-speed Internet access. All rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and board. Guests love the location of our newly renovated hotel because we are just a few miles from St. Mary's University, UTSA with convenient access to both Interstate 10 and Loop 410 off Callaghan Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Medical Center South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Antonio Nw/Sea World Area Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing