We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed..has gone down hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport
Ranked #224 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed..has gone down hill”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have stayed here a half a dozen times in the past. It has been a good value in the past. However, this time I found the hotel poorly maintained and dirty. The first room I was sent to was so dirty I refused to stay there even tho it was 11 PM. The carpet was filthy. The second room was better but there was a dirty towel laying on the floor by the door. There was sticky stuff on a leather bench and little pieces of paper on the floor In The bathroom. Paint was chipped on the walls. Grout ( or something else white) was smeared all over the tiles in one part of the shower and the rugs were badly stained. This hotel does not live up to Crown Plaza brand.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
ldashew,

First i would like to thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport. Rest assured that I have shared your feedback with the management team of the hotel. I would like to apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. I would like to discuss further with you at your earliest convenience. My contact information is below. I look forward to speaking with you.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
210-828-9031
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    74
    58
    37
    35
See reviews for
69
35
14
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our first experience at a Crowne Plaza and we were very impressed. Nice clean room and comfortable beds. We were in town for the George Strait concert at the Alamodome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Management and housekeeping were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrybea50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
countrybea50,

I just wanted to thank you for providing feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport. I have shared your comments with the staff of the hotel. If you should need assistance booking your next reservation please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you again for your time and business.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
210-828-9031
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

When I first arrived at this hotel, I was concerned. Our room was supposed to be twin beds. Instead, due to the number of guests, the only room available was a single bed. The general manger overheard our problem and actually contacted a guest with a block of rooms and asked if we could use one. We were able to get two beds. I found this to be excellent service by the manager. I was disturbed by the service of reservations however.

We found our room adequate. It was not noisy for being near the highway or the airport. Our room overlooked the parking lot so we could see our car. The area around the hotel actually has many restaurants and is convenient in returning to the airport or driving to downtown San Antonio. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were terrible and caused our necks to be sore. The maids cleaned the rooms fine except in the areas near the windows which had food from prior guests. The swimming pool and work out room are nice but, some guests were walking around the lobby and elevator without shoes which caused the ground to be slippery. The hotel was quick to clean it up. The lobby was pleasant and nice for meetings and relaxing.

The big surprise was the restaurant at the hotel. We asked the waitress about several items and she was very honest and even advised us one item was not made that day. This obviously affected our decision as to what to choose to eat. We had filets cooked perfectly, great taste. The salad was fresh and nicely appointed. The only problem was we were given old rolls so hard I could nail the waitress with them. Luckily, the brought out a hot fresh batch for us. We also tried the breakfast buffet the next day. The food was tasty and the buffet items were well stocked. Overall, I thought the service by the waitresses was very good.

Overall, this hotel is rated high for its service. I would not rate it high for being extravagant or elegant. In effect it is really a three star hotel. But, great service and a comfortable stay gives it a higher rating and I would return. I cannot give it 5 stars for service merely because the booking problems were unacceptable.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripnexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Tripnexus,

Thank you so much for the feedback you provided during your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport. I've shared your comments with the entire hotel staff. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the San Antonio area that you will consider the Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport for your accommodations. Thank you again for your time and business.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
210-828-9031
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this property many times over the last three years. The only thing that gets updated are the fish in the lobby. We are trying to get my company to move our business to better property. If this property was holiday inn, I might have given a higher score but instead it just cheapens the crown plaza brand. Also, they have tables set up buffet style in the restaurant, and the lasts several times I have noticed a large mold spot on the skirt, about the size of a soft ball. Next time I come thru I will snap a picture as its been months since they have washed the buffet linens.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bradley187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Bradley187,

First, thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your most recent stay. Rest assured that a couple of areas that you mentioned have been rectified. Please know that this has been shared with the management staff of the hotel. I would like to thank you again for your time and business.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
210-828-9031 ext. 2153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm here all week for a business meeting and haven't even began to start my stay. The floors are disgusting. The toilet seat was never cleaned and had a "stain" on it. Good thing I brought wipes! The carpeting is nasty and coming up. There is hair all over the floor. The pillows are tiny. Not even regular sized pillows for a queen bed. I'm in a king and the pillows are tiny. The cases have makeup stains in them that I had to trade out.
Because I was being lazy and didn't want to leave to get dinner, I call to place my room order at 4:45 and was rudely told to call back at 5! They weren't serving and wouldn't even take the order to have it going at 5. It took 50 minutes to have my steak delivered and though I asked for " well-done" it came dried out and cold! The portion was supposed to be 14oz but it was much smaller. There was some type of brown stuff slopped on too of it and it tasted so nasty. The sides did not come with my steak and I had to ask for them. When the waiter came back, the mashed potatoes were bland and cold. The steamed vegetables suffered the same neglect.
$21.95 for the black angus ribeye.
For dessert I had the key lime pie which came highly recommended by the lerson taking my order. This thing has been around so long that the whipped cream on top was old and stale as was the pie. The crust was also stale.
My silverware was dirty and the spoon was so chewed up, it looked like someone dropped it down the disposal. There is no coffee pot in the room. Isn't that a staple in all hotel rooms these days?
I have to be here all week and only because my company is paying, is the only reason I'm still here!
Normally I'm not one to complain. I just chalk it up as " know better next time" but this place is the worst!
You better believe I will let whomever booked this place know it too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Sunshine1270,

I would first like to thank you for providing such detailed feedback regarding your stay with us. I would love to discuss this further with you at your earliest convenience. I also would like to apologize that our hotel didn’t meet your needs during your stay. My contact information is below and i look forward to hearing from you. Thank you again for your time and business.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
210-828-9031 ext. 2153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was so hesitant to stay at this hotel because of all the reviews but once I arrived I was relieved to see that the hotel was not what everyone kept complaining about. The lobby was a little hot but they were working on it while we were there so that was fine. When we went up to our room it was a little warm but I didn't notice the thermostat was on the wall and not the one by the window. Once we adjusted it, it was perfect! It is a little outdated but overall I thought it was good. It was very quiet and tranquil.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perres100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Perres100,

Thank you so much for providing valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport. Rest assured that your comments have been shared not only with the management staff of the hotel, but its associates as well. Please do not hesitate to contact me regarding any future reservations. Thank you for your time and business.

Mike Benavides
Guest Service Manager
210-828-9031 ext. 2153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The Crown Plaza brand brings some expectation....not in this hotel's case. While convenient location bring value everything else is simply bad. Rooms are filthy, cleaning may not take a place until afternoon ( cleaning crew is loud a 8 a.m. sought..). Maintenance is bad - room had a lots of dings and damaged spots.
Pool....this pool can actually win competition for one if the most filthy pools I ever seen...
Planes are roaring overhead - this is expected.
Air conditioner in the lobby palmist non existent and in room unit is loud like a disel generator.
I guess it is upgraded version of Motel - 8....
Breakfast - this is mediocre...holiday inn breakfasts are better in our days.
I will keep out of this dump in future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank road_warrior_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear road_warrior_1970,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our deepest apology for the over-all issues you had and any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Uptown Broadway
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
#155 of 358 in San Antonio
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast San Antonio
Courtyard San Antonio Airport
Courtyard San Antonio Airport
#145 of 358 in San Antonio
183 reviews
Uptown Broadway
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Airport
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Ai...
#136 of 358 in San Antonio
22 reviews
Uptown Broadway
Residence Inn San Antonio Airport/Alamo Heights
Residence Inn San Antonio Airpor...
#196 of 358 in San Antonio
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport
Address: 1111 Northeast Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78209 (Formerly Radisson Hotel San Antonio Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel! Serving as the gateway to all that San Antonio has to offer, Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport is not your typical airport hotel. Offering affordable luxury, the Crowne Plaza provides guests with all the amenities and services expected at a first class full service hotel. Removing stress from the minute you arrive, our 24 hour complimentary shuttle service to San Antonio Intl Airport-SAT will also transport you to your destination within a 3 mile radius of the hotel between the hours of 6 AM - midnight. The hotel offers a prime location in the heart of San Antonio, whether your travels bring you to San Antonio on business, pleasure or a mix of both. The hotel is accessible to all San Antonio area attractions, including the historic Alamo, Sea World and Six Flags Fiesta Texas, upscale shopping at North Star Mall and Shops at La Cantera, the Quarry Market and Golf Club, Market Square and of course, the world famous Riverwalk and Rivercenter. From the minute you enter our doors experience southern hospitality in modern elegance. Our lobby offers an intimate library with fireplace coupled with the soothing sounds of an indoor water feature making it the perfect place to surf the web on our complimentary wireless high-speed Internet or take your laptop poolside to our outdoor heated pool and enjoy the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Airport Hotel San Antonio
Crowne Plaza San Antonio
Crowne Plaza Hotel Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing