We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best lunch in San Antonio......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandbar

Sandbar
Ranked #579 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best lunch in San Antonio......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you like seafood take the River Taxi pass the Docks, stop at Pearl and have a great lunch as we had..... nice full course seafood feast with great spanish and french wine......... expresso is a real expresso........ do not miss it......

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank hansf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    38
    9
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take your time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

want great food and avariety of flavors? Take your time then. If you want to eat and run go elsewhere. Want some quality time with someone special? Be there. So many different tastes and flavors from the great appetizers to the salads. Wonderfully prepared fish and it seems like a new surprise monthly. Fantastic wine selction (as Adam for help) to marry against the foods.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Garyraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delighted us over and over and over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sometime you find a great restaurant to bring friends and family. A nice hangout. Good service, fresh food. Think of that place... the place you like to go... then multiply it by 3 or 4 and you have The Sandbar. Ohmygosh!

I have a pretty discerning palate. Enjoying not just "good foods" but incredible foods. The best restaurants aren't always "the best", the fancy places aren't always the freshest, those with the highest reviews sometimes leaves all of us wondering, "really?. I get that.

So listen to me closely when I say... you can hardly do better than dining at The Sandbar. It's location and drive up appeal is fun. Stepping inside makes you think, "Huh. Kinda cool, but..." Then your server comes and you start to feel the vibe. You start to notice the details, you suddenly find that you have that "a-ha" moment of "I'm not just in any ordinary fish joint, am I?"

Every ingredient is more than fresh, lots are locally grown, and all are EXPERTLY prepared. Your waitstaff is incredibly knowledgable, efficient, and good mind readers. (They'll know what you want even before you know!) Get everything. Bring a group of friends and share. Don't hold back. Don't count your dollars. Just experience it all. Ask your server questions, ask them for suggestion or simply say, "Make me leave so happy that I'll want to get on Trip Advisor and SING your praises!"

Don't skip the desserts. Get them all. You won't believe the breads, the appetizers, the soups, the fish, the oysters... You won't believe how much you can eat because you simply won't want the experience, the flavors and the pampering to end.

I'm not kidding. Go find out for yourself. Oh, and be sure to have the whole fried fish, the chocolate cake, the killer salad, the sashimi special of the day... and be ready to tip your servers 25% or more because they are SO worth it.

I love this place. You will too...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

There were four of us, seated immediately. After we selected our incredible entrees, the 'Special Fried Whole Fish', the Sommelier recommended an absolutely fabulous wine for us. Prior to the main course, we shared six types of very fresh oysters and crisp salads!

Our server was fantastic as well.

Run to Sandbar!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Sandbar located at the old Pearl brewery was great. We had the fish and chips. The fish was fried to perfection. Come hungry, four pieces of fish on a bed of thinly cut fries were more than enough to satisfy our hunger. Best fish in San Antonio. You won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Homelesstexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar also viewed

 

Been to Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing