We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese and dim sum in SanAntonio”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Wok

Golden Wok
Ranked #2,373 of 4,604 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Chinese and dim sum in SanAntonio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I luv the food here. My favorites are combination fried rice, lettuce wrap, Chinese broccoli, bok choy and dim sum. I always go to the Wurzbach location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LParnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
165 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Should have left well enough alone”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We used to go to the Golden Wok at their old location in the shopping center across the street from the new one. We went to the new one today and were very disappointed. I always ordered the same thing at the old one so looked forward to it again (we were last there in 2005). It didn't taste anything like it used to. The ambiance is not Asian anymore. The old one kad a koi pond, Asian music and decor. The new one could be a Chili's or Applebee's with the decor. We would not go here again, but we are comparing it to the way it used to be! The ambiance and the food have gone down hill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chicken Feet etc ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Yes indeed ... there's nothing to gross out about this dim-sum dish braised in black bean sauce. We enjoy dim-sum but the Marbach location doesn't have all of the items listed on the dim-sum menu. The Pan Fried noodles, lettuce wrap, shrimp toast is always on our regular order. If you are vegetarian try the Egg Plant in garlic honey sauce .... over all the food here is great at both locations. We just happen to closer to this place and have been going here on and off for almost 20 yrs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I would not say this is the best ever but is pretty good. They are pretty good and fast. The food is always good. Great lunch specials. If your looking for a good deal and quick service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9142chanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Enjoyed lunch last week at Golden Wok. No wait for this busy but expansive restaurant. The crowd was business class. The best aspect was our waitress, Laura Pate, who recommended the daily special, Mongolian Beef. Perfectly seasoned with an ample portion. So impressed with her extremely kind and courteous service during the busy lunch. Well done, Laura, there will always be a place for you in this and any industry that cares about customer service! I am look forward to our return and eagerly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Wok also viewed

 

Been to Golden Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing