We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Ranked #23 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I travel a great deal and have stayed in some very fine hotels :). The Grand Hyatt is a large business hotel and is fine for what it needs to be. However, very striking is the exceptional service. I want in particular to commend Jon-Ross at the reception. I have rarely in my travels met someone who is as accommodating and goes out of their way to make a guest happy and satisfied. He organized a complex room transfer for me - and all with good humor and and interest. This kind of service is unexpected in such a large hotel. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelLover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property and the exceptional service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,794 - 2,800 of 3,633 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were in town for a High School Marching Band Competition. The streets of the city and the hotel lobby were full of High School Band kids and parents. In the hotel lobby we spotted no less than six brides in full gowns. In short, this was a very busy place, as previous reviewers have stated. But rest assured, we were always addressed by name, I mean every where. The front desk, bar and restaurant servers, the hosts and hostesses. We found the service at this hotel simply outstanding. Our lunch at Ruth Chris and breakfast the next morning provided lovely Riverwalk side dining and fantastic food. Our corner room was large comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and clean. They even set the clock back (1) hour so we would not have to worry about the time change this weekend. A 2 minute walk puts you at the river center. In short the Grand Hyatt provided everything we needed and delivered a level of personal service we were not expecting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DABLAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the service provided to you and the location of our property. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to the Alamo City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nice location towards one end of the Riverwalk. Close enough to get in on the action, but nice to get away from the craziness of the weekend crowds. Hotel is nice--rooms are quiet--didn't hear much once we were in our room and the hotel was full all weekend. Small marketplace/coffee shop really small for the size of hotel--always a line out the door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for this kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Riverwalk location and the tranquility of the guest rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was here for a large work conference. The billing is always very complicated because of people sharing rooms, but at check in I worked with Jon-Ross Villegas and he was so helpful! He went above and beyond ensure that everything was allocated correctly. He was phenominal!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for this kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property’s Riverwalk location and smooth check-in process. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel is in a great location on the River Walk in San Antonio. It is very close to the mall and several restaurants and bars. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay. The room and view were great. We had a great view of the city! The beds were very comfortable with great soft sheets!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our guest rooms and friendly staff. We look forward to seeing again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Check-in was smooth and quick. The elevators are easy to find and easy to use. This hotel is only five years old, yet it has a retro 60's feel and appearance in my opinion. The room was of standard size and perfectly clean. The beds are extremely comfortable. We had plenty of hot water, though it felt like the water softener was was not set correctly. The AC barely kept up and could not be set cooler. This location is perfect for accessing the convention center and River Walk. My wife really liked the Perks coffee shop. Overall, we were pleased and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors have dedicated elevators. Not a problem getting an elevator even after a conference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chef31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel's comfort and our Perks Coffe Shop. We appreciate your comments and suggestions and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend w/ my Hubs, his parents, & Grandmother. Staff was very friendly and we enjoyed Bar Rojo being on-site. Valet was quick each time we needed the car. We did not care for the beds or pillows (too hard & too small), but that is just our preference. As others have stated, the hotel is HUGE! Our room was 3 hallways from the elevator, literally a 4-5 minute walk. There were 2 large conference/ meeting rooms between the elevators & our room. Really strange design, IMHO. The rooms were very clean, so we were pleased with that. Wi-Fi never worked in our room, although we had the login info.

There were many large groups staying here, which should be expected at a hotel that is connected to a convention center. We had heard good things from some friends who had stayed here in the past, so that is why we gave them a shot. Overall, for a large group, a great place. For couples or smaller groups, I'd look elsewhere. We probably will not return unless with a larger group. Nothing against the hotel, but if you're coming to SA to relax & soak up the SA vibe, this is not a place that I would recommend...

They do take dogs, but beware- it will be difficult to get them outside & to the grass across the street to do their "business"... But their pet fees & policy are fair, if that is something that you are concerned with... As I said in my Title- Not the Best, but certainly Not the Worst!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank cdh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy to hear you, your family and your dog enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next trip to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,301 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#34 of 358 in San Antonio
1,330 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,130 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 358 in San Antonio
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Address: 600 E Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $216 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing