We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Ranked #19 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing Room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Took Atwood grade grade for a deluxe King, good sized room but lost 100 square feet to a hallway serving no purpose. The we're two minuscule drawers, with barely enough room for underwear and socks for four days. The closet was also tiny, our four days of clothes were jammed into it.

Bath had a shower/tub combination from the 50's. No robes! I do expect some amenities for $300 a night.

On the plus side we had electric outlets for all six devises, which is always a concern. And the high speed Internet never paused during our 4 days.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the fifth floor that have private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nineunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    939
    358
    113
    48
See reviews for
409
448
80
1,803
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt while attending a conference at the Gonzalez Convention Center. This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed at for business. The location could not have been any better - it was literally a few steps to the nearest convention center door and few more steps got me to the River Walk – and from there all the city life is accessible.
Pros: Extremely polite and helpful staff, very clean lobby and room, comfortable bed, nice linens, large bathroom and bathroom countertop with good lighting, speedy internet, nice television, flexible lighting in room, desk with plugs for working, and huge kudos goes out to the Grand Hyatt for having electrical outlets on the top of both nightstands! I could plug in all my electronics to have them accessible from bed without moving furniture or running an extension cord!!
Cons: Pretty hard to come up with any. The bath products were a little fruity for my taste but probably high end. It is also not an inexpensive place to stay but at least they don’t leave you wishing for more for your money.

Room Tip: If you can get a room above the 20th floor, the elevator bank that serves those floors are less crow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We used the Grand Hyatt San Antonio for our hotel to attend a meeting in the convention center. This hotel is connected to the convention center which made getting to and from the meeting easy and effortless. The check in process was efficient and the front desk person was extremely friendly and helpful. Parking was easy as well. The room is slightly smaller than average but not an issues. The view is scenic and soothing. The bed was slightly softer than I prefer but comfortable. The room was clean and the bathroom had nice supplies. Check out was a breeze as well as exiting from the garage and getting on the highway was close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is my 2nd stay here and it is very nice! The hotel is very well appointed and right in the middle of all the fun sights! The food is great especially the breakfast buffet. Definitely one of my favorite places to travel for business.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsnob22Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel was great, staff accomodated my requst for an improved room after the initial room was in a bad location. Hotel was very convenient to the downtown riverwalk, right outside the lower lobby. I will stay at this hotel again while in downtown SA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulK2517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We filled out our breakfast tag, left it on the door, heard it get picked up later that night. Called at 9:10 to see when we would get the breakfast and the incredibly rude employee said "it's your fault you didn't fill it out. I don't pick them up, my boss does." To which we said "so you are saying its my fault that our breakfast wasn't delivered." And she said "yes. It is." We talked to the hotel manager who also said it was our fault. Unbelievable. It wasn't out fault yet we were blamed by every one. Will never stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimothyRClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay with us. Please accept a sincere apology from our team in regards to your visit. We would love to make things right and hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with the service both you and we expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference April 25-28. The room was comfortable, though nothing spectacular. I was very impressed by the gym and room service. Victoria, who took my order, was very nice and demonstrated exemplary customer service. I told her later to compliment the chef on the excellent Vegan tofu wrap which I had had for the first time.
This hotel lost two stars from its rating due to the misleading Business Plan which promises a free buffet breakfast. When I went to the restaurant, I mentioned to the staff member that I had a business plan. The waiter asked for drinks, and I ordered them. He did not mention that they were not included. When I received the bill, I saw that drinks were charged separately. I asked to speak the restaurant manager, who rudely told me that Hyatt corporate policy is to pay for the buffet but not drinks. I have looked at Hyatt's fine print, and it does not mention that drinks will not be included in the $35 per day fees which pays for breakfast, internet, 1 liter water, and one pressed shirt per day. I have sent an email to the general manager, and I have not received a satisfactory response yet. I strongly recommend all guests to avoid picking the Business Plan which is a waste of money. The dishonesty of the hotel management is appalling. I will think twice before staying at a Hyatt hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spatel300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Property: Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing