We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel- First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Ranked #20 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wonderful hotel- First Class”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel! The rooms were generous in size and the gym was incredible! The location was central to everything and a walk away to many attractions in the dowtown area including The Alamo, Majestic Theatre and Riverwalk!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,728
    1,003
    379
    127
    57
See reviews for
451
475
84
1,994
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

For someone who has never been to San Antonio, this might be a great location. You are right next to the river walk area and great local restaurants. The rooms were typical, nothing grand. The staff was very accommodating and the meeting space was decent. Wasn't too impressed with the decor in the meeting space. Perhaps it was tied to the region.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sap811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The staff at the front desk is quite welcoming. The room is clean and comfortable. The climate control works fine and quietly. You can print your airline boarding pass at a kiosk in the lobby. A "GoShuttle" service operates between the hotel and the airport on a frequent basis (fare is $15 - $18 one way). No problems staying here again. Note to the management: upgrade the toilet paper and the towels. Everything else about the room says luxury, but the towels just don't have that soft feel you would expect at a Hyatt (Holiday Inn, yes). The toilet paper is definitely on the cheap side - kind of clingy if you get my drift. Try Great Northern.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTopDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Most convention hotels are slam-bam-next type hotels, not this one.
First the location is great, not only for the convention center, but the river tourist stuff and great food.
The only critical thing I can say about this hotel is the valet car area is not marked well, or properly manned. Call me spoiled but I think when you pony up the cash for parking they should be very attentive to your needs coming and going.

The front desk was very accommodating with our (three rooms) early check in's as well as our request to have a late check out due to the convention we were attending.

The rooms were very clean, very quite, bedding comfy and relaxing.

The staff when asked for food or attraction advice were helpful and friendly.
I have stayed at other hotels in San Antonio, this is the best of the best, never making you feel like they were rushing us in and out, although they were very very busy.

Next family visit, this is where we will stay. Hands down.

Room Tip: 2074 end of the hall but nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16weekayeartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted at check in like we were royalty. Very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. We then went to our room which was nothing special. We did have a great view of the convention centers roof. My wife and I went to the lobby bar to meet my brothers and their wives for a drink and that's where it broke down. My wife and I sat at the bar at least 10 minutes without even being greeted. There were two bartenders standing at the cash register right in front of us but they never turned around. There was another bartender that was serving drinks to people on either side of us but he never said anything to us until my wife asked the person to her left if there was bar service. We finally were served and moved to a table. Make sure you close your tab before you do this because your bar tab doesn't move with you. We were there to attend a gala and the wait staff was very good. The next morning we went to the hotel restaurant and again greeted by slow service. Our waiter was good but he is not the cook and the food was slow to come out of the kitchen. We would have done better to have the buffet. The food was quite tasty though. There is nothing special about this property. If you want to stay at a Hyatt stay at the Hyatt Regency a few blocks away it is much nicer. If you want to be close to the convention center stay at the Marriott Rivercener. Both are much nicer than the "Grand" Hyatt. This property is just not that special for the extra price.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homelesstexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and a very nice hotel close to all the amenities but also has an element of privacy.
The staff were great especially the girls at Starbucks.
Everything I requested at the reception was done without any fuss and would recommend to any one who is looking for a quality hotel in San Antonio.
Can get busy in the bar at night due to the function rooms and conference centre adjacent but not unruly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaoLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel's comfort and convenience. We appreciate your comments and suggestions and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a large 4 star hotel that I was very satisfied with. The room was a standard hotel room, but very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The building was new, clean, and very elegant. Should you book it? Definitely consider it!

A few things to keep in mind:
While the hotel is on the Riverwalk, bear in mind that it's built along an extension of the Riverwalk. So you are still technically on it, you are not in the heart of the most touristy segment. (That's about a 5-10 minute walk away depending on your pace) Also, it's not the most unique property ever. What's there is great, but if you're looking for a smaller/boutique/independent hotel, there are other options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtrek72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Looking forward to your next San Antonio trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,173 reviews
East Side
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
#43 of 356 in San Antonio
1,205 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Property: Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing