We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Ranked #19 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I booked the Grand Hyatt for our anniversary weekend, and we really enjoyed our stay. All of the hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, from check-in to check-out. At check-in, we were greeted warmly and given a food and beverage credit to help celebrate our anniversary. We spent a lovely evening in the hotel bar, and the service there was outstanding; the calamari was excellent -- perfectly cooked -- and the drinks were well made (but overpriced, as you would expect from a hotel bar). Housekeeping gave us two free bottles of water one afternoon as we were leaving to go explore San Antonio, and always did an outstanding job of tidying up our room.

The accommodations were about what you'd expect from a higher-end business hotel. Our King room was spacious and tastefully decorated, if a little sterile. We got a very good rate on our stay, otherwise I might have been a little disappointed. The hotel website calls it a "luxury hotel," and in terms of service, it absolutely was; the accommodations, though, were not quite on par with what I'd consider "luxury." There were minor cosmetic issues (chips/dents in the furniture and entryway woodwork, chipped and scraped paint on the walls), but they in no way detracted from our stay, and the bed was very comfortable. The room was just missing the little touches (decor and details) that would elevate it to "luxury" status (like a curved shower curtain rod...I realize that's nit-picky, but if you're going to do the standard tub/shower combo, at least give me that much so I'm not fighting the shower curtain the whole time I'm bathing!) It was absolutely comfortable and perfect for our stay, but if I'd paid rack rates for it, I'd have expected more.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and would absolutely recommend this hotel. It's on the outer fringes of the Riverwalk, so it's perfect if you don't want to be right in the middle of the heaviest crowds, but it's close enough that a short walk will get you to the most popular areas. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but it smelled absolutely heavenly every time we passed by. Next time we go to San Antonio, we definitely plan to try it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isisvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your anniversary with us. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    941
    358
    113
    49
See reviews for
411
448
80
1,807
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on the 2nd leg of our trip to the states. Hotel excellent, both in location and quality. River walk beautiful and just outside hotel. Would definately come back again!!!

Helpful?
Thank JsJsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a cool hotel on the RIverWalk. There are so many to choose from, it's hard to know which one to pick. We had a king bedroom and to get to the RIverWalk, the front desk said to simply walk out the front entrance, cross the street and walk downstairs to the RIverWalk, which is correct. The staff was so nice, the people were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay. Most people don't know there's a full restaurant downstairs in the hotel with excellent breakfast (everyone goes to the continental b'fast upstairs). It was clean and the bed was comfy.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I was hoping for a hotel where we walk out the door onto the RiverWalk and are in the middle of cool restaurants/ bars. This wasn't too far but we did have to walk a little ways. Hope this helps you decide!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you Pamela. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vass, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

STAFF: From the valet to the doormen, check-in, and bell hops, everyone we met along the way greeted us with the Texan hospitality I've come to love. My family (infant included) must have been the most high-maintenance guests this hotel has ever seen, but each request was greeted by warmth and caring from hotel services, maintenance, and managers. I cannot say enough about how friendly this hotel is.

APPEARANCE: This brand-new building was spared no expense; it is clean and beautiful. The lobby is spacious, very tastefully decorated, and welcoming all at the same time. The suites are gigantic with multiple bathrooms and knock-out views. We had a suite with a bathroom that had floor to ceiling windows that overlooked downtown. From our over-sized tub (that filled from water pouring out of the ceiling), we watched the sun set over the buildings. It was amazing.

LOCATION: The location has direct access to the Riverwalk and is only 2 blocks to the Alamo.

CLUB ROOM: A MUST! The ladies that work in this room should teach classes on hospitality. The food is all day long and delicious. The breakfast was more than I could hope for with smoked salmon, fresh fruits and breads. I like to eat a lot throughout the day and night and this added perk to our already fabulous stay made it that much more unforgettable.

This hotel exemplifies the perfect TEXAS experience. We WILL be back.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a bathroom that had floor to ceiling windows that overlooked downtown. From our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hi Jeffrey, We truly appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maysville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Certainly this is a fine hotel, and the facility itself is stunning. However, for a hotel specifically built to accommodate conventions, this one seemed to be overwhelmed during my recent stay. I accompanied my nephew to the FBLA convention last week, when seemingly the entire 1,000 rooms were taken by young people attending that conference. They appeared generally well-behaved. And I have been to enough business conferences to realize the difficulties in dealing with hundres of people getting out of meetings at the same time. But the hotel elevators were unable to handle to crush, resulting in wait times of up to 45 minutes at times to ascend the ten floors to our room. And imagine the frustration to find that EVERY DAY upon reaching our floor that our room key card did not work. Though promptly fixed, this problem was never explained, and was barely apologized for. As a previous reviewer mentioned, because our room was at the end of the hall, our wi-fi reception was very weak unless stationed near the door; unacceptable for the $12 per day price. A wired connection was available, which was fine for our laptop but did not help for my iPod. However, there was a free wi-fi connection in the very pleasant lobby. Hot water was readily available, but only after letting the water run for 5-6 minutes; this seemed wasteful. Two days running no replacement towels were left in our bathroom; we had to call housekeeping to request them, and were given a minimal number for two persons. At checkout, the in-room, on-screen check-out option would not work, even though it was recommended by management as an alternative to the crush at the front desk. And, as usual for these types of hotels, you will be charged severe fees for amenities such as parking, use of the business center, etc. On the plus side, the restaurants are comfortable and delightful, the whole facility clean and beautiful, and the staff generally very friendly and helpful. The location is an excellent entry point to the riverwalk. So, four stars out of five, but not up to the standards I would expect from a flagship of the chain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentucky_Traveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We truly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. We apologize for the wait times you endured during your stay and can guarantee you this is not our standard. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a weekend in early June 2012. It was a priceline deal for $91/night. At a price like that I consider this hotel a steal as it is usually twice that much.

The property appears relatively new as do all the rooms and their furnishings. It was clean and had a nice view of the city. It's a short 5 minute walk from the riverwalk and a number of restraunts.

It's a bit pricey if you pay full price, but if you are in the market for a nice hotel in downtown San Antonio I don't think you will be disappointed. It's certainly much newer than a lot of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattRGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed three nights on the Club Level. Clean, efficient and abuts the Convention Center. Large room with deep e-safe and refrigerator. Not enough hangers and only two, count them, two drawers. No drawers in the night stand either. Sheets and towels are not changed unless you call and request them. A/C worked very well even though it was 105F outside. New Hyatt e-check in/out was very welcomed. Do it from your smartphone or at lobby terminals. The Club Room was fabulous. Superb food morning and night. Wine was only $3/glass. Hostess was a welcome ray of sunshine. Very large space with free internet in the Club. At the far end of the Riverwalk, but right outside the door and the Riverwalk Mall only steps from the hotel. One of the better hotels I've stayed in this year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We truly appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Property: Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing