We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sterile on a Grand Scale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Ranked #18 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 1, 2011

There was nothing really wrong with the Grand Hyatt San Antonio but not much was memorable either. Happened to stay at the Hyatt Regency Riverwalk on the same trip and I would choose that Hyatt over this one hands down. If I hadn't compared the two Hyatts back to back, perhaps I would have looked on the Grand more favorably.

Service at the Grand Hyatt was friendly, provided the staff weren't overwhelmed by crowds. They did automatically offer and accommodate a late checkout, a positive that seems to have become a trend with the chain for loyalty club members. The lobby was generally very busy and loud but not laid out or furnished in a manner to encourage people-watching. The hotel location is great if attending a convention and still pretty good for any other downtown or riverwalk activities with a few blocks of walking. The staff of the main restaurant were too flustered to acknowledge my presence at the time I tried to visit so I gave up and thus can't review the food.

My room on the 17th floor had a nice view but the furniture was a bit worn and about average for a business hotel and below average for a Hyatt though the style fit the Hyatt brand. All I could get was two double beds and no upgrade for loyalty status. One mattress sagged significantly but the two doubles proved helpful when I switched to the other bed for dramatically improved comfort.

In the end, the Grand paled in comparison to the other Hyatt downtown, other Hyatts I've stayed at and other competitors in town despite a price tag that seems to be higher. There was no reason to flee this hotel but I didn't find much to draw me back to this location either.

Room Tip: My room on the 17th floor, facing north, far from the elevator had a view, no outside noise and no i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXheritagetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,196 - 3,202 of 3,490 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

The restaurant was good and the mojitos were excellent. The hotel could use just a little freshening but the service was flawless! You can't beat the location. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank toulouse_varjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Just getting around to writing my reviews...

Stayed at this hotel in July and it was quite and enjoyable experience. The service level of this property is exceptional. Our room was on the club level and had an excellent view of the city. Room was spacious and modern. Great location right off the river walk. Just a short walk to the heart of all the action. Would definately stay here again.

Parking was pricey, but that seems to be the norm in downtown San Antonio.

Room Tip: I love a hgher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank you for the kind comments and feedback on your summer trip to San Antonio. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I just stayed at the Grand Hyatt while I attended a nearby conference. Overall it was a good stay, with some pluses and minuses. On the positive side the room was very clean, the maid service was very good, tv was good ( but in a strange location), the lobby coffee shop had a good selection, and the exercise room was well stocked with up to date equipment. On the negative side, room service was poor (over priced and not great quality), our room had a strange set up with the tv on the left side of the bed instead of in front of the bed, and the pool was small. The location of the hotel was great for my conference but several blocks from the busy part of the Riverwalk.

One big plus for the hotel was the quality of the staff. The front desk staff were quick, efficient, and friendly. The room service and maid staff were friendly. Everyone said "good morning" or "good evening" when we walked by them.

Overall a good quality hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OilmanTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank you for this detailed review! We have passed your remarks on to our team members and look forward to your return to the Alamo city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed here for a conference & it was a great location, & beautiful hotel, with everything kept up nicely. There is a sushi bar in the bar area.....not really what you expect in Texas.

Room Tip: I stayed on floor #5 which was convenient for conference purposes & spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patticakesTemple_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a convention. Had a spacious convention rooms for our meetings and show. Room was nice. Bed was very comfy. Gym was outstanding. Overall great place to stay for business. Parking was a little expensive but I was staying in downtown. The hotel is right on the Riverwalk too although I only got to go out one night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gixxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel amenities. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is truly a grand hotel. Excellent amenities, staff and location. Walk out the door to the scenic Riverwalk.

We got greatly reduced rates by staying a few days before Christmas, when the business travelors had gone home.

My partner is a hopeless romantic, and she cannot wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Book your stay during holidays if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveHMonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank you Steve! We enjoyed reading your review and hope to see you and your partner again this holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,140 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,245 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,957 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $173 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing