We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit - Still Nice Place to Stay in San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Ranked #18 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“2nd Visit - Still Nice Place to Stay in San Antonio”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Just returned for my second stay at the Grand Hyatt San Antonio. Rooms are very comfortable, easy to get in and out of the hotel, especially down to the Riverwalk, and the front desk staff was extremely friendly. I especially like the 24 hour coffee shop in the lobby with lots of healthy snack choices. And I even used the pool this time to escape the 107 degree Texas heat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
David,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,786
    1,019
    389
    129
    61
See reviews for
466
485
87
2,046
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
College Station TX
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed over busy summer weekend. Lobby was always hectic with both guests of hotel and just passersby. Location is popular for those coming to/from Riverwalk, so Lobby can become a madhouse at times. But up in the room and elsewhere has a nice quiet feel. Rooftop pool was packed with kids and it is nothing special...a bit like an oversized hottub. But with the Riverwalk out the back door and the Alamo out the front, this hotel makes everything convenient and saves a lot of time and hassle. Didnt try any of the hotel restaurants/bars, because you have a plethora of dining options right outside along the Riverwalk. Good place for families, probably not best for business or romance travelers.

Room Tip: Hyatt.com has some great deals, especially if you become a frequent program member
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AggieTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews, but I know with reviews you can't make everyone happy so we stayed at the Grand Hyatt anyway. What a great idea. The Hotel is first class in every aspect. From the the parking team, front desk, room service, everyone was so friendly and very polite. The room was very spacious, and the food was great! Location is in close proximity to everything! Only drawback was the parking, $25 per night to self park is very pricey, but I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RelaxingTraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My family and I enjoyed the rooms, room service and eateries in the hotel. We stayed the weekend of the UTSA inaugural game so the place was hopping with activities. When we went up to our room to relax my daughter was mesmearized by the lovely view from our 21st floor room. Everyone from the front desk, to the servers and the Valera were friendly and kind...but of course this is SA and everyone always is. The only down is the 2 double beds instead of perferable queen beds in the room but they were comfy. I have started and the grand hyatt in San Fran, NYC and Miami and San Antonio location can hold it's own.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyndeet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I love this hotel. It is great for families w small children because they will guarantee connecting rooms. We stay every time we are in San Antonio. Hotel is clean, modern, friendly staff. I love that the lobby features local artist's artwork.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txmom32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I did not feel that I was in the "grand" hyatt., much more like an average hyatt. I was on the 12th floor and did not appreciate that I could hear the traffic noise below, as well as our neighbors taking showers and using the hair dryer. A bit annoying. They need better sound proof windows. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and nice decor. It did not feel outdated at all. The staff was excellent and professional! I was disappointed that their gift shop was so lacking. They did not even carry any t-shirts that said San Antonio. They did not even carry shirts. Usually in the Grand Hyatt there are tons of nice souvenirs. This was slim pickings. Overall, I had a good time and also liked the location. The river walk
is right around the hotel.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank idarn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuero, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel was very nice and right on the River Walk . It was great for shopping. The rooms were very nice and clean. The pool area was small and there were a lot of small children
so we opted not to try to swim. The bar area had people "lounging" I mean actually laying down on some of the furniture( which seemed to have a lot of wear and tear.) I would stay there again...the staff was friendly and the valet parking although expensive was well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galonthego60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,054 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,197 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,888 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Property: Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing