We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall just OK”

Cascabel Restaurant
Ranked #967 of 4,622 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North Central
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
464 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Overall just OK”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I was here on business with few other options nearby. I had a shrimp cocktail which was pretty awful - chopped up shrimp swimming in cocktail sauce in a TX size martini glass. I also ordered street tacos which were tasty but too rich for me (not their fault). Service was fine. Overall just OK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five stars for trying...”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast here. It is buffet style, but they will also make omeletes and so forth, included in the price. There were enough staff on hand and everything was fresh. Given their price point, I wasn't expecting too much but they did exceed my expectations. The coffee was a little bitter.

I am giving five stars because the staff and food was as good as can be expected, if not a little better. Now, if they would just do someone about the awful 80s art on the walls!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Some_Guy_In_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempner, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Not enough servers, not enough food on the breakfast buffet at 9:30 in the morning. Long wait just for coffee. Very short staffed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheermom91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
199 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet was Good”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice breakfast buffet with good selection and excellent price. I did not eat other meals there. Service was excellent every day I ate there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not up to 3.5 star standards!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree Hotel and ate dinner in the attached restaurant. Our first clue should have been that the restaurant was empty but we were tired and didn't want to take a van to another restaurant or hotel.
The ribs were so tough that it was hard to get the meat off with a knife and fork, the sauce was unlike any BBQ sauce that I have ever tasted, and generally the meal was awful. My husband rated his steak a 1 out of 10 as it was tough and drenched in an unpleasant sauce.
The waitress was very nice and very helpful so she should not be blamed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroleerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascabel Restaurant also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Cascabel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing