We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Long Soluna” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soluna

Soluna
Ranked #109 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Uptown Broadway
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
902 reviews
658 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
“So Long Soluna”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stopped by on a Saturday around 4 PM.
There was another couple in the dinning room and several more outside on the patio.
We were seated by a friendly hostess.
When our server appeared things started to go South rather quickly. She was a chunky women with tattoos. I never saw a smile, but when I asked her if they had .Happy Hour like at La Paloma, she defiantly said" this is Soluna", we don't have Happy Hour.
They have a huge menu, but no specials.
I ordered the Chili Relleno.
This was a disappointing dish. One small pepper stuffed with
plain picadillo, and covered with a watery red sauce, and thin queso was all I got for $14. The rice had zero taste, it wasn't Spanish
or any other genre. The frijoles were equally deplorable, no taste nor texture. When I asked for
a substitution to Borracho beans I received a sour look. Food was delivered without comment.
This same server ignored our water refills, and also failed to replace the chips.
My BW ordered the shrimp taco. Her order came with two small but tasty tacos, and some
interesting white rice with corn and peas.
The Margaritas were decent as were the tortilla chips. As we were ready to leave,
I caught the eye of the hostess for a to go box.
When our "server" failed to appear. I stopped by the desk and asked the hostess for our check. We never saw our "server" during this process.
There are too many simpatico restaurants in this neighborhood to waste time in an
establishment that has poor food and sour employees.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    43
    17
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not as good as their sister restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ate here after eating at their sister restaurant. Same menu, but the execution was not nearly as good. Would recommend it if you are in the area, but don't go out of your way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lesnomades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWSOME FOOD & DRINKS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Wow thats how I can describe this restaurnt our server was excellent and very helpful since we were traveling and wannet information to go after dinner, food omg was delicious, I got the ponlano enchiladas and I loved it too bad they only give u two, I also got a strawberry margarita and omg sooo strong but thats good if Im paying $9 for an kinda small margarita it better b woth it and it was, I highliy recomend this place everything is great...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy4rmHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
359 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Among the best Mexican food in SA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I have long considered El Mirasol to be one of the best Mexican restaurants in San Antonio - our "go to" place when we wanted a fix. We had driven by Soluna but never been there until a friend arranged a group dinner and... "Surprise!" And we learned that Soluna was El Mirasol's sister restaurant.

Dining at Soluna begins with what I consider the best salsas in the city. The food is excellent and includes both traditional and less traditional Mexican dishes. Last night we had Tacos Pollo Loco (which is marinated grilled chicken thighs) and Enchiladas de Mar (shrimp, lobster, fish in a lobster cream sauce). Also had the guacamole (very good) and split a tres leches (very good).

Decor is a bit upscale from El Mirasol. Food is comparable. We will definitely be back. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My son recommended this restaurant because we enjoyed its sister restaurant El Mirasol. SoLuna is more upscale but has a lot of the same dishes as El Mirasol. The decor is nice, it is large and comfortable. Service was just right with explanations as needed, many dishes are different than your normal Tex Mex found in SA. We both enjoyed our food and drinks although this was not a cheap meal. We may return, or we may go to El Mirasol again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvthebeach32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soluna also viewed

 

Been to Soluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing