We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat to old-fashioned charm hidden in the middle of a bustling city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on the Riverwalk
Ranked #1 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
“Retreat to old-fashioned charm hidden in the middle of a bustling city”
Reviewed August 2, 2009

As you turn onto Woodward Place, you will be swept away to a country road...the city, while still present, seems to fade into the background. The inn's rooms are quiet, clean, and charming. The staff is exceptional: welcoming, kind, and efficient.

My husband and I just had our AMAZING wedding at the inn and will be returning any time we travel back to San Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonEurogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    53
    26
    20
    14
See reviews for
46
166
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2009

I love this place, the quiet cozy atmosphere, the fantastic hospitality of Johanna & Scott and the fabulous cooking of Scott's mother .. wonderful breakfasts!! I personally prefer cottage 21 with the comfortable four poster queen size bed, the jacuzzi tub to relax in and the beautiful decor. We walked into the room to find rose petals scattered in the bathroom and on the bed. There was also a very sweet card on the bed welcoming us to the Inn. It is no more pricey than hotels on the Riverwalk, but I think it has so much more to offer. The atmosphere, hospitality and location are wonderful and the parking is free .. unlike so many other places to stay It is at the quiet end of the Riverwalk and was great to come back to the peace and quiet of that area after walking and experiencing the active and noisy end of the Riverwalk. I highly recommend this old Victorian get away with it's beautiful vintage decor to anybody looking for a memorable stay in San Antonio. No "stuffed shirt" atmosphere here .. only friendliness, warmth and the only place I will stay when I visit San Antonio.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bratdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The Inn on the Riverwalk in San Antonio is such an amazing, adorable, and fun experience. The location couldn't be better. If you want to stay in downtown San Antonio but also want some serenity, peace, and quiet then this is the place for you. The B&B is right on the riverwalk but on the quiet side of things. A very easy stroll will take you to the more busy section with the restaurants, shops, etc. The rooms are all unique, quaint, and adorable. The inn keepers are also very nice and want you to have a great experience. Definitely give this B&B a try if you go to San Antonio!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Perfect place for our outdoor wedding. Quite, romantic - just lovely. Only a few blocks from the restaurant district yet far enough away that you don't get the tourist traffic. Beautiful old Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The grounds are beautiful. We had 85 guests but could have accommodated more because of the deck and patio behind the house. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite for our honeymoon and other guests stayed in the main house and the two houses across the street. Made it very nice to meet for breakfast the morning after our wedding. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

My mother in-law and I were on a long weekend getaway and chose San Antonio as our destination. I booked the Inn on the Riverwalk via email after finding it on a B&B website. I was very pleased with the booking process and they were able to answer all my questions via email. We were visiting during the Fiesta and the Inn was the perfect location. No need to rent a car but just grab a taxi from the airport. We were situated right on the Riverwalk and could easily walk to any/all of the Fiesta attractions and the Alamo but were just far enough to not hear the noise and chaos of the festivities! We were a short 15 or so minute walk from the main restaurant/shopping areas of the Riverwalk. The Inn was quaint and well laid out. If you are looking for wifi and a high tech place to stay this is not it but that is attractive when you want to just "get away". Breakfast and such are self service but that really lends itself to feeling that you are staying in someone's home and not a hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here and would come back again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobilebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

The Inn is in a great location, between downtown and the King William District, sitting right on the Riverwalk. It is an approximate 6 block walk to the Convention Center. The setting is lovely and quiet. It could be a wonderful place, with just a bit of TLC and attention by its owners. The owners were rarely present. It was uncomfortable and awkward having to ask for assistance from the cleaning lady and cook. It was also obvious that the owners did not inform their staff of the specific times when they would be there. The owners need to realize that their inn can not run itself.

The rooms are nicely furnished, the bed was very comfortable, air conditioner worked fine and kept the room plenty cool in 90 degree heat. Upon looking closer, it was obvious that rugs had not been vacuumed in our room, which made one wonder just how well the room was actually cleaned before our arrival.

This Inn could be very successful, but its young owners need to pay closer attention to the condition and running of their establishment.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggerMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
287 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

What you are paying for if you stay at the Inn on the Riverwalk is location, and by the way it's a pretty nice B&B located in a historical building that was refitted substantially for the purpose. Our room on the second floor had a wonderful sitting porch looking out over the Riverwalk (see picture below of the incredible night view we had). The room itself was a bit cramped but was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a nicely prepared egg scramble with fruit and toast, served family style by helping youself from the skillet. With the patio, porch, and Riverwalk down below, the ambience of this place is hard to beat. It's a spectacular walk along the Riverwalk (San Antonio's premier tourist attraction) to all kinds of stuff, and a very modest walk to any of the Mexican market, the Alamo, or the King William area and its restaurants. As I said, location! I've stayed in more elegant B&B's, but few indeed that were better situated.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,663 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Riverwalk

Property: Inn on the Riverwalk
Address: 129 Woodward Pl, San Antonio, TX 78204-1120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, Texas, the Inn on the Riverwalk is situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. Enjoy complimentary parking, wireless internet and a fully cooked breakfast, water, fruit juice, teas & coffees, snacks and great customer service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on the Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Inn Riverwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing