We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and convenient B+B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Riverwalk
Ranked #1 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enumclaw, WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming and convenient B+B”
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We stayed with Scott and Johanna for 4 nights this May. It was only supposed to be 3 nights, but we got in early and they were willing and able to accommodate us. We loved our upstairs room with a balcony that looked out over the river. Everything and everyone at the Inn had so much character; Betty cooked us a wonderful breakfast every morning and Scott is a character. We even got to go to a rodeo to watch Scott ride a bull.
The furnishings are very homey and Johanna's original art is wonderful.
The Inn is right on the Riverwalk, situated toward the south end. Every evening found us wandering up the river to find something new to eat or do.
We are looking forward to staying with Scott and Johanna again when we get back to San Antonio. They made us feel at home!

  • Liked — The owners, character and location
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank K2Enumclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    53
    26
    20
    14
See reviews for
46
167
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Inn on the Riverwalk. We booked one of the cottages for our stay. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Penthouse! What a wonderful room and nice views! Our hosts were outstanding- very friendly and helpful and accomodating. The Inn is located just steps from a quiet section of the Riverwalk. To reach the section of the Riverwalk with restaurants etc is about a 15 minute walk. However, it is a very pleasant and beautiful walk. A 15 minute walk in the other direction and you can reach the King William Historic District.
Our room at the Inn was spacious. clean and well appointed. We had a TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, small refrigerator, whirlpool tub and deck along with a king sized bed and sitting area.
Breakfast was scrambled eggs and a bacon hash mix one day, waffles and bacon another and eggs and homefries. Cereal, fruit, juices, pastry, coffee and tea were also available. Lemonade, coffee and tea were available throughout the day. You can have breakfast inside or outside on the deck.
Overall I would definitely recommend the Inn on the Riverwalk for your stay in San Antonio.

  • Liked — Location on the Riverwalk
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ridgevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

My husband & I enjoyed this bed & breakfast. It's located right on the riverwalk. However, It's not in the heart of everything, so to get to the restaurants there's a walk, but we didn't mind. Johanna was very kind & helpful in recommendations on what to do & where to eat. We stayed in the velvet room cottage which was lovely & more private since it wasn't in the main house. A great place to stay & reasonably priced. The food was good too.

  • Liked — i liked our particular cottage
  • Disliked — It would have been nice to be closer to the riverwalk shops & restaurants
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank vhall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

This is one of the best bed and breakfast places I have stayed at in my travels throughtout North America and I highly recommend it.

The staff were warm and friendly-from the chocolates and friendly notes and smiles to the advice on places to eat and visit and the varieties of food at breakfast.The room was very clean, reasonable priced and the location of the B abd B was close to all attractions and very quiet at night to sleep. It was beside the riverwalk on which you could easily walk safety at any time of day or night to the busy portions-in the downtown area, or to the less crowded portions of the riverwalk-near the historical King Willam District.

Bill

  • Liked — staff and location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

From making my reservation over the phone to check-out, our stay at the Inn on the Riverwalk was absolutely wonderful! I didn't get to meet Johanna in person but she was warm and very pleasant over the phone ...... I did get to meet cowboy Scott, her hubby who was so very charming and nice - even when I woke him up at 11pm when I arrived to check-in!! Donna, who was at the front desk and who wears many "hats" around the Inn - she deserves a raise, guys! - was extremely pleasant, and as it turns out went to high school with me! There was a delicious hot breakfast every morning made fresh by a lovely woman (I'm sorry, but I never got her name) who was kind enough to give my children left-over pancakes so that they could feed the fish in the river! Over all our stay was quite pleasant and I will most definitely be staying here for every trip to S.A! Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced - yes, ya'll should charge WAYYYYY more than what I paid - with an excellent location .....what more could I ask for?? Thanks for a great stay ...and to all thinking about staying at the Inn on the Riverwalk, trust me, you will NOT regret it! Take care and happy travelling!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Restroom was bit tiny - but it's an old victorian home so it'sunderstandable!! All is forgiven!! Lovely place!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texan_n_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights. It's a pretty place and the owners are friendly and helpful. After a couple of weeks on the road it was really nice to stay there as it felt very homely and i craved my home comforts, The B&B is really well located, only a short walk from the town center. Overall i was very glad that we had ended up at the Inn on the riverwalk, i'd recommend it and would also happily stay there again, especially as i am sure that the standards will even improve further once Johanna and Scott have had a bit of time to put their stamp on the property.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Lyds76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

This B&B is so charming! I stayed in the Suite, but got a chance to see almost all of the rooms and they are wonderful. The decks have great views of the Riverwalk and it's just a short walk to the main shops and restaurants. It is quiet and romantic. Will be staying there again in September. Innkeepers Scott and Johanna are awonderful caring and friendly couple! Delightful!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Vantageproperties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,057 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,738 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 356 in San Antonio
3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Riverwalk

Property: Inn on the Riverwalk
Address: 129 Woodward Pl, San Antonio, TX 78204-1120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, Texas, the Inn on the Riverwalk is situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. Enjoy complimentary parking, wireless internet and a fully cooked breakfast, water, fruit juice, teas & coffees, snacks and great customer service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Inn Riverwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing