We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for our family, very elegant.”
Review of King William Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William Manor
Ranked #6 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Auburn, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place for our family, very elegant.”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

King William Manor was our very first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. We were amazed at the professional and friendly service that Craig and Alison gave us. Our room was beautiful and had plenty of space for our 3 teens. The location was perfect, across the street was a stop for the trolley which would take you right to downtown. After a long day of walking around, we were able to relax by the pool and enjoy the beautiful grounds. The breakfast was delicious and different each day. Each room was very clean and elegant. We found King William Manor to be very relaxing and would defiantly stay again. Craig and Alison are very warm and friendly, they make you feel welcomed. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane30274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    22
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
112
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

In October, 12 women met at the King William Manor to celebrate our 15 years of friendship. We picked the King William Manor and fell in love with the B&B and the owners. No doubt we will return again year after year. Several of us arrived fairly late Thursday night. We wanted to sit down and catch up over a glass of wine. We called to find out where the nearest place to purchase wine was. Within a few minutes, the owner brought over a bottle of wine, wine glasses, and an opener so that we could simply sit back, reminisce and enjoy the sitting area in the guest quarters. Each morning we were greeted with a wonderful breakfast, ranging from quiche to eggs to granola and scones, amazing coffee, and little bowls of salsa, which we noted that only in Texas could you get salsa with every meal! Happy hour was enjoyed by the pool - vodka drinks for all! Our group literally took over the rooms in the guest house, which were incredibly large. Each room had it's own personality, which was fun to see. I don't think any of the 12 of us had a complaint the entire time we were there. The location was also fantastic We walked to fabulous restaurants and bars and enjoyed power walking in the gorgeous neighborhood. If you're going to San Antonio and want to stay anywhere near downtown or in the heart of the King William district, don't miss the King William Manor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbhague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The King William Manor is amazing. When we arrived we were greated by southern warmeth. Our room was clean, and spacious. The hosts, Craig and Allison were top notch. They helped us locate attractions, and she even offered to make us dinner reservations. She found nightly entertainment that my husband asked for, and slipped it under our door. This place is warm and inviting. Its so close to everything that we just took the Trolley to the Riverwalk. I want to say Thank you Allison and Craig for truly making our trip wonderful. A big hug to you. Your amazing; and your Inn is charming. We are planning on returning next Fall, keep our room available.
Sharon and Gary

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtraveler35942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I went to San Antonio with a group of friends this past weekend, and we all stayed at King William Manor. We had a wonderful time. Craig and Allison took great care of us - expertly prepared breakfast (different - and delicious - each morning), cocktails by the pool, advice on local galleries and restaurants, etc. They made us feel at home. The facility is newly renovated, beautifully decorated, and very clean. The facility's many gathering spots - balconies, patio, pool, lounge areas - made the B&B our preferred place to spend our extra time. I look forward to returning with my family and recommending the King William Manor to any friends visiting San Antonio.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartyOfSix96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed at King William Manor for a weeked away, and I was pleasantly suprised by the attention and service we received. Craig and Alison just took over the B&B a few weeks before our stay. There was a little problem with the incorrect price since we had booked under the old owners, but Alison understood and took care of it with no questions. This B&B is so precious, it feels like you're staying in an inn from a book but with all the modern amenities. The only thing we had a problem with was locating a few neccesities, such as extra towels, toilet paper, and the television remote, but I'm sure that with time, those fixing issues will become routine to the new owners. The location is perfect; about a 15 minute walk to the Alamo or the Riverwalk, so it's not too loud at night, but easy to get to the good nightlife scenes. If we retun to the San Antonio area, we will definitely stay at King William Manor again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janalyn1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We enjoyed our stay so much we actually STAYED around more than explored San Antonio! The grounds are beautiful and this gem is in the middle of the city! We felt like we were in a small town. The innkeepers were so kind it almost felt like we were long lost friends. The food! the FOOD!! We had organic fruit, organic eggs in a delicious quiche. I was pleased that they served organic fair trade coffee (and even had soy milk!!). The King William District is very charming and easy to walk around to enjoy the architecture and shops. I look forward to returning to The King William Manor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pick-e-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Beautiful houses with beautiful, calm, classy interiors set in a quiet - but not too quiet - neighbourhood in S A. Just a few minutes with the bus to the center. Tim and Brian are the nicests hosts - you feel as if you are visiting a friend's country estate in England.
And Brian's cooking for breakfast - you would not want to miss that. Very tasty, light and imaginative. They love food so you get very good recommendations for places to eat. And there are several really good places in the area where the locals go, away from the touristy River Walk and much better value and ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karinn-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,789 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
1,940 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Manor

Property: King William Manor
Address: 1037 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78210-1109 (Formerly Columns on Alamo)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King William Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Columns on Alamo, King William Manor has undergone an extensive renovation under the watchful eyes of the former owners of Bankers Hill Manor in San Diego, CA. Join us in the exquisite King William Historical District within quick proximity to downtown and all the great destinations, but enjoy the soothing serenity of this beautiful neighborhood. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your King William Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William Manor Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing