We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Owners Make a World of a Difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of King William Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King William Manor
Ranked #6 of 40 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
1 review
“New Owners Make a World of a Difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

Traveling on my way to another destination, I wanted to stay at the new King William Manor mainly because I had previously been a guest at the new owner's former B&B in San Diego. I was looking forward to seeing how these talented innkeepers had applied their winning formula to a new location. I was certainly not disappointed! If anything, the new location is more lush, sensuous, and inviting in that uniquely Southern way. As before, the food, service and attention of my hosts was par excellence. They never come close to exhibiting that intrusive forced socializing manner some B&B owners mistake as hospitality. The very large clean rooms in the exquisite turn of the century buildings are furnished in a practical and comfortably contemporary style. One doesn't feel you have to accommodate the room for the sake of its "quaintness", the room accommodates you. This place would make an ideal stay for vacations, business trips, or special events. And what a location for a wedding! Not only are the Manor grounds beautiful, but the surrounding neighborhood of historic homes will take your breath away! Who knew San Antonio was this lovely?!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NickOTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    22
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
112
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

My partner and I stayed at King William Manor just after the new owners reopened it for business. The historic property is beautiful, but their hospitality and attention to detail is what makes the place a real gem.
We had a lovely, comfortable room with views of the newly refurbished garden. The public rooms were elegant without being fussy or stiff. Plus, the owners really know how to cook and serve a fabulous breakfast!
Their neighborhood is filled with turn-of-the-century mansions, and a short walk along the river brought us to downtown sights like the Alamo and the Riverwalk. Dining and galleries are even closer to the B&B.
I recommend King William Manor with highest confidence that your experience will be superb, as ours was.

  • Liked — Location and hospitality
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Addams_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

Forget anything you've heard about this B&B before June 2008. The name has changed, and the new owners are taking it to an entirely different level. These owners ran the successful Bankers Hill Manor in San Diego, and they know how to personalize an experience, as well as pamper guests.

Our room in the Guest House was huge, and our peeks into other rooms indicate they're of similar (or identical) size. The room really works as a 2-room suite, and the A/C will keep the temp down even during the tropical San Antone summer.

A newly installed pool will also keep you cool, after a day of sightseeing.

The cool thing about the location here is that you can decide how laidback or trendy you want to make things. The surrounding historical district is wonderful for walking around (day or night), soaking up history, architecture and landscaping. But at the same time, Southtown seems to be a really up and coming place, with a lot of streetlife and energy and good restaurants and cafes just a few blocks away. So you can transport yourself into a romantic 19th century daydream, or get into some 21st century action: your choice.

Once you're calling it a night in the room, you can choose either XM satellite radio or satellite-delivered HDTV (although the HD sets were still being installed as of June) -- or get online with the strong wireless connection!

Check out the owners' track record at Bankers Hill. If you love stately old homes, gallery hopping, and being near an exciting, up-and-coming urban neighborhood -- and if you appreciate owners who are energized and enthusiastic about seeing you have a great stay -- then this B&B merits strong consideration!

  • Liked — Great place to soak up the flavor of San Antonio
  • Disliked — Parking is free and easily accessible but could use more shade trees
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MisterEasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devine, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

They had just remodeled when we stayed there. The decorations were beautiful. Reminded me of my trips to Europe and other old mansions. They still had a few more things to do, but you definitely saw the potential. The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

There is a walkway along the San Antonio River that takes you to San Antonio's famous Riverwalk. The walk is about a ten minute trip, and definitely worth it. The area there is a little shallower than the tourist part, but there are herons hunting fish and ducks with ducklings.

We were also there for First Friday. It was a fabulous ordeal with the galleries open late and tons of crafts and food being sold in booths up and down the street.

The breakfast was to die for. I also really loved that they picked up on my husband saying it was our anniversary trip, and they bought flowers for the room. That really made the trip. I would DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Liked — The hosts were very thoughtful.
  • Disliked — Some neat antique pieces would have lent additional character to the room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AngelicBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of March as we were passing through San Antonio. We loved it, it was like staying in someone's beautiful home! (It was full of character) The owners were not only extremely helpful by providing a local map and recommending restaurants etc, advising on walks to the Riverwalk, trams etc but the breakfast was wonderfully home made. Our room was clean and comfortable and we particularly enjoyed the bath and verandah. I'm a vegetarian and was well catered for, plus the B&B is non-smoking, which was a bonus. (We would definately recommend Rosario's for Mexican food about a 5 minute walk away, the food is superb). If we ever return to San Antonio we would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — The owners, it was like staying with family!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

A friend and I stayed at The Columns on Alamo in San Antonio, Texas the end of Feb. It was a grand and beautiful place, just two short blocks from the River Walk. Every evening we strolled to downtown on the peaceful walk from our spacious room. Every morning we looked forward to the sumptuouus breakfast waiting for us. The inn keepers were more than helpful with local suggestions, true southern hospitality. Best bargain in San Antonio.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank tripadick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

Husband and I stayed at the Columns for our 24th anniversary. The B&B is a renovated Victorian in the King William District. Superficially well kept although could use a coat of paint here and there. Innkeeper, Ellenore, was very nice and helpful from day one. She provided us with maps and recommendations of places to eat/visit on arrival. The bed, in the Rose Room, was very firm and would have become uncomfortable is staying more than a couple of nights. Veranda is beautiful, but had problem with walk thru window latch resulting in middle pane falling on my fingers and bruising badly. TV was in a small armoire that was lower than the bed. Wifi Internet connection very weak and was lost often once connected. Easy walk to King William District, Riverwalk (park setting), about a 20 minute walk along Riverwalk to get to tourist portion or a 10-15 minute walk north on S. Alamo Street to get to Riverwalk main area. Restraunts a few blocks from the Columns, but we didn't get a chance to try them out. Blue Star Brewery about a 4 block walk South on S. Alamo. Oh, beware if you're a light sleeper, trains do go by early in the morning around 4 or 5 am just a few blocks down. I was awakened one morning by the horns and couldn't get back to sleep. Hot breakfasts were wonderful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not as well kept as expected.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dasMaushaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Arsenal
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Manor

Property: King William Manor
Address: 1037 South Alamo St., San Antonio, TX 78210 (Formerly Columns on Alamo)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King William Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Columns on Alamo, King William Manor has undergone an extensive renovation under the watchful eyes of the former owners of Bankers Hill Manor in San Diego, CA. Join us in the exquisite King William Historical District within quick proximity to downtown and all the great destinations, but enjoy the soothing serenity of this beautiful neighborhood. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your King William Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William Manor Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing