We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King William Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William Manor
Ranked #6 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Location perfect. Room was perfect. Owners lovely...what more could you ask for?
Within comfortable walking distance to river walk, and the walk was well worth the distance. Oh what a beautiful weekend. We enjoyed staying in the room called The Cottage. It is sort of its own little place that is off of the second house to the back. For a Friday night it was extremely quiet on the grounds and we appreciate that. Like to have fun but then we want to relax. Fireplace super cozy and huge jacuzzi perfect ending to a busy day. You'll enjoy breakfast at the Liberty Bar next door. We couldn't have been happier. Thank you Allison ( I hope I remembered that correctly!)
Andrew and Krystle

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyKrysBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    22
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
112
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

So breakfast at this B&B is actually at a restaurant across the street. The B&B has a Keurig type machine in the main house where check-in is, but not in the other building and I usually require coffee first thing in the morning to facilitate in me actually getting dressed and having all the right clothes on in the right order (and lets face it, Keurigs and their like are basically glorified instant coffee and don't really count). Coffee in either the rooms or in both buildings would have been helpful, since you have to actually leave the premises to get breakfast (and i also don't cross streets well without caffeine, my motor functions don't work without java!). Breakfast at the restaurant was nice in that you get a variety you don't usually get with a B&B but you had better like eggs since every item on the menu was an egg variation, except for one entree of french toast (that was more like a bread pudding than toast). Also you should be prepared to spend about $5 per person for breakfast since you get one beverage and one item per person and anything else is an extra charge. Which is fine, except I usually like coffee and orange juice in the morning and you get charged for the extra drink. They did it right, they charged me for the cheaper (the coffee) and gave me the more expensive OJ gratis, but you should be aware. In addition if you want eggs, hashbrowns and a meat (bacon, sausage, whatever) you will be charged extra since you can get potatoes or a meat but not both with the 'breakfast package', and again if you want bacon or something with your french toast, there is an extra charge. So again, expect to pay about $5 per person extra for breakfast in the morning.

That being said, everyone at both places, The Manor and the Liberty bar, were all very nice, very accommodating and very welcoming. The beds were super comfy, the rooms and bathrooms perfectly clean and spacious, not a single complaint about the premises or the people. The Manor is located just a couple of blocks from the Riverwalk amid some of the most gorgeous houses that make the walk really enjoyable and then a brief stroll along a gorgeous jasmine scented riverside until you reach the heart of downtown makes this B&B truly in an ideal spot. Considering hotels in downtown San Antonio charge a crazy amount for parking, and the walk is so nice and inviting, I have to say I much preferred staying at the Manor to the downtown hotel we have also stayed at in San Antonio. It was an all around better experience and we would go back to the B&B before we went back to the downtown hotel should we visit again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank QueenMean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmsa, Owner at King William Manor, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for the input. We have decided to put coffee makers in all of the rooms and we are working on a coffee station for the guest house. We appreciate your suggestions and we hope that you will come back to visit us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. It was recommended to me by a friend who used to live in the area, though I had been thinking about staying at a hotel right on the main River Walk. It was PERFECT for me and my husband who like to be outside the hubbub of touristy areas.
We stayed in the Main House in the Veranda Room. The house is very charming, built in the late 1800s and his very well maintained. Our room was large with a huge private bathroom and very tall 3-piece windows through which we could walk out on to the big wrap-around veranda. The furniture and decor was lovely, all went together perfectly with the rest of the house. The king-sized bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Our room had a refrigerator, though we also could use the one in the main kitchen.
Breakfasts were in the Liberty Bar, a restaurant right across the street and they were wonderful; everything homemade and a great selection.
Allison and Craig were fantastic! Very interesting to visit with and made us feel that their home was ours. Allison put a special treat in our room for our anniversary; a very nice and personal touch.
The Manor is only two blocks from the southern part of the River Walk and only a 15 minute walk to the more famous part were all the restaurants, and spendy hotels are located. We walked there several times but were always glad to get back to the piece and quiet of our lovely manor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeananddanbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was in town on business and extended my stay by two nights to see San Antonio. This B&B is fantastic with lots of character. The room was very clean and well taken care of. Easy check in and out. We had the place to ourselves during the mid-week so it was extremely quiet. Quick access to the Riverwalk, only 10-15 min walk to Riverwalk main area. If I am in the area again I will definitely stay here again. I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishn2furkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

When it came time to surprise my wife with a birthday weekend get-a-way, San Antonio was option number one of a few special cities. When it came time to choose our accommodations, there was no doubt in my mind which B & B I was going to stay at! King William Manor has all the charm and ambiance you would expect from a first class establishment. The Innkeepers, Alison and Craig, were a delight to meet, and the King William Manor is a direct reflection of their passion to please their guests. Another special addition to the gracious staff of the King William Manor was Diandra. She was over the top in every category you could list as an Innkeeper! Her personality won us over immediately, and she made us feel as if we were the only couple staying with them. The location of the King William is perfect for a San Antonio tour of the Arts District, Riverwalk, The Alamo, River Center Mall, The Alamodome or Hemisfair Park. Breakfast was a delight at The Liberty Bar adjacent to the King William Manor and The Blue Star Brewery is a short walk for lunch or a craft beer. Trolleys run frequently by the Manor for ease of travel for farther distances, and upon your return, they have added a swimming pool for your to cool off in. We enjoyed The Plantation Room on our stay this time, complete with fire place, king sized bed and a tub for two! The in room refrigerator was plenty big for our wine, cheese and chocolate covered strawberries. This is one of the best Bed and Breakfasts we have ever stayed at around the country, and would be an opportunity missed for anyone thinking of a great trip to San Antonio and not trying to book here. My wife Trish and I have already booked another weekend trip for Fiesta in April and are opening up our calendar for additional trips over the summer to see George Strait and Seaworld. Thank you, Diandra, Alison and Craig, for making us feel truly welcome in your home. We had complete peace and privacy, but our needs never went unnoticed, and your hospitality is second to none! See you soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Fort Worth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Allison greeted us at the door with a great smile. The foyer and living area of the main house are beautiful, thanks in part to her husband's glass-blowing artistry. Allison gave us information to help us find a delicious diiner, along with tips to find the best Riverwalk experience.
Our Amelia Island room was inviting with a sofa facing the fireplace and wood floors. Sleep quality was OK, mattress and pillow was perfect, but bring earplugs to block the train noise.
Overall, enjoyed the stay very much!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Manor is located right on the street car line which makes travelling downtown a breeze. The neighborhood was a little quiet and It felt safe for us to walk around at night when going out for dinner. Rosario's was right down the street and the food was tasty and the service wonderful!

There is a computer in the sitting area for the guest and fridge in the room. There was even a freezer in the sitting area if you needed anything frozen. I really liked that they had a wine opener and two glasses for that evening drink. Allison and Deandra were very friendly and patient with all of our questions. It was cold when we stayed but not to worry because they had plenty of blankets and a wall unit that kept the room cozy. In fact...they turned the heater on in advanced of our arrival so we would not be cold! Thanks guys! We will definitely be coming back there to stay when we return to SA.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Studio bedroom which was located in the front of the guest house and by the door. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NOLA70112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Arsenal
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Manor

Property: King William Manor
Address: 1037 South Alamo St., San Antonio, TX 78210 (Formerly Columns on Alamo)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King William Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Columns on Alamo, King William Manor has undergone an extensive renovation under the watchful eyes of the former owners of Bankers Hill Manor in San Diego, CA. Join us in the exquisite King William Historical District within quick proximity to downtown and all the great destinations, but enjoy the soothing serenity of this beautiful neighborhood. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your King William Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William Manor Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing