We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of King William Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King William Manor
Ranked #6 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of March as we were passing through San Antonio. We loved it, it was like staying in someone's beautiful home! (It was full of character) The owners were not only extremely helpful by providing a local map and recommending restaurants etc, advising on walks to the Riverwalk, trams etc but the breakfast was wonderfully home made. Our room was clean and comfortable and we particularly enjoyed the bath and verandah. I'm a vegetarian and was well catered for, plus the B&B is non-smoking, which was a bonus. (We would definately recommend Rosario's for Mexican food about a 5 minute walk away, the food is superb). If we ever return to San Antonio we would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — The owners, it was like staying with family!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    22
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
112
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2008

A friend and I stayed at The Columns on Alamo in San Antonio, Texas the end of Feb. It was a grand and beautiful place, just two short blocks from the River Walk. Every evening we strolled to downtown on the peaceful walk from our spacious room. Every morning we looked forward to the sumptuouus breakfast waiting for us. The inn keepers were more than helpful with local suggestions, true southern hospitality. Best bargain in San Antonio.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank tripadick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2007

Husband and I stayed at the Columns for our 24th anniversary. The B&B is a renovated Victorian in the King William District. Superficially well kept although could use a coat of paint here and there. Innkeeper, Ellenore, was very nice and helpful from day one. She provided us with maps and recommendations of places to eat/visit on arrival. The bed, in the Rose Room, was very firm and would have become uncomfortable is staying more than a couple of nights. Veranda is beautiful, but had problem with walk thru window latch resulting in middle pane falling on my fingers and bruising badly. TV was in a small armoire that was lower than the bed. Wifi Internet connection very weak and was lost often once connected. Easy walk to King William District, Riverwalk (park setting), about a 20 minute walk along Riverwalk to get to tourist portion or a 10-15 minute walk north on S. Alamo Street to get to Riverwalk main area. Restraunts a few blocks from the Columns, but we didn't get a chance to try them out. Blue Star Brewery about a 4 block walk South on S. Alamo. Oh, beware if you're a light sleeper, trains do go by early in the morning around 4 or 5 am just a few blocks down. I was awakened one morning by the horns and couldn't get back to sleep. Hot breakfasts were wonderful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not as well kept as expected.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dasMaushaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2007

This is an excellant Bed and Breakfast in San Antonio. You are very close to the attractions such as Alamo and Riverwalk. You can walk there or take a $1 trolley which stops one block from the B&B. There is less noise here than the Riverwalk hotels. The rooms were very nice and located in two large homes. There is plenty of space in the home and surrounding it. We had a small problem with the air conditioner not working on the second day. Art - the owner - quickly responded to our call. He came over immediately to check out the problem. When he could not fix it, he immediately moved us to an upgraded room. He offered to move all the luggage himself. This is what I call great service! Some other places would have just called a a service.
When I booked the room, I did not ask about AAA discount. When I got there, I asked and was immediately given the discount. Again, great service. The breakfast was terrific for all three days we stayed. Ellenor - the owner - made breakfast and it was no less than 5 stars. She was very flexible with the times of breakfast and breakfast included several fruits, juice, coffeee, eggs variety, desert, etc.. It was really good! I highly recommend this bed and breakfast. The location was great, rooms were very nice, the buildings were very nice, the food was great and the owners were very nice.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank gonefishing85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2006

My friends and I stayed at this B&B and had a very nice visit. The house is beautiful including antiques and an old piano. There is a main house and a small house next to it. We stayed in the smaller house next door, and at first were a bit disappointed, because it's not as fabulously decorated as the main house (where breakfast is served) but we enjoyed our stay tremendously. Both houses are cozy, with couches and warm and inviting sitting areas.

The location was great. We left our car parked and used the free trolley passes provided by the owners. The owners also provided free bottled water that was replenished in the room as used. Breakfast was delicious and served on very elegant dinnerware. It was a bit chilly, but it was fun to go out on the balcony.

Art and Elleanor were cool but courteous and very sweet. In fact, we still joke to this day that Elleanor was SACCHARINE. She was the perfect Southern hostess but we definitely got the feeling that she was a bit too sweet... and there was something under the surface... not really a complaint, but a bit unsettling.

We are AAA members and mentioned this and received a discount... I believe it was 10%. We had a few special requests and the owners worked with us to accommodate us.

We would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Liked — Beautiful, Serene Environment
  • Disliked — Liked it All! :)
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to stay in Main House... more decadent!
  • Stayed March 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank longbeachlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2006

I wanted to stay in a B&B for my girlfriend's birthday. I was nervous that she wouldn't like the facility because she had always stayed in upscale hotels before. She was delighted with the room as it was all decorated in antiques. The Jacuzzi tub was much appreciated. The bed was on the firm side of firm, but otherwise comfortable. The breakfast was served family style, and part of the ambiance was meeting the other visitors. The food was very nice, and thoughtfully done. We enjoyed the proximity to the Riverwalk. All in all, a marvelous weekend, and I won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — The general ambiance of the place
  • Disliked — The hard matresses
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at The Fig Tree on the Riverwalk
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 7, 2006

My husband and I never got the opportunity to stay here. Our reservations were cancelled by the owners so they could accomadated a larger group. I was very disappointed because the month before our reservations were cancelled, the owners happily accepted one nights deposit on a two night stay. We were set with our reservations when I received a phone from the owner. She stated that they had been talking with a reunion group that decided to book with them She told me they would not be able to accomadate us because of the group and would refund our deposit. What ever happened to first come first serve? Obviously our business was not important to them. We made sure to let all of our friends that were coming to Texas over the next serveral months for a bowling tournament not to call here. Who knows if they will do the same to them!!!l

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwmsa, Owner at King William Manor, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
This incident occurred with the previous owners when the establishment was call "The Columns on Alamo".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Arsenal
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Manor

Property: King William Manor
Address: 1037 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78210-1109 (Formerly Columns on Alamo)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King William Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Columns on Alamo, King William Manor has undergone an extensive renovation under the watchful eyes of the former owners of Bankers Hill Manor in San Diego, CA. Join us in the exquisite King William Historical District within quick proximity to downtown and all the great destinations, but enjoy the soothing serenity of this beautiful neighborhood. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your King William Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William Manor Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing