We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Alison and Craig!”
Review of King William Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William Manor
Ranked #6 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights at the King William Manor, from Dec 26 - 29, and we highly recommend this great Bed & Breakfast. We stayed upstairs in the annex, in the Plantation Room, a spacious King-bedded room with fireplace. Our end of the annex upstairs had recently been converted to central air and heat, and as it was quite cold during our stay, we took full advantage. We used the fireplace every evening and morning. By the time you read this review, all of the annex should be converted to central air and heat, eliminating the concerns of a previous reviewer.

Alison and Craig are wonderful hosts, probably the most friendly and engaging we've ever experienced at a B&B, and we've stayed at dozens. Very helpful with restaurants and things to do in the area, and always brimming with plans for the Manor. Oft times, B&B owners aren't around, but it seemed like one of them or Deandra were always there to talk with or answer questions. Craig is a glass blower and much of his work is displayed, particularly the light fixtures in the main house. Amazing work!

Breakfasts, cooked by Craig and served by Alison and Deandra, were outstanding.

There is so much to do within walking distance of the King William Manor. We arrived on Monday December 26th and didn't move our car until we left on Dec. 29th. We walked everywhere. Highly recommend the King William neighborhood - get a copy of "King William Area - A Walking Tour" - and don't miss touring Villa Finale. Of course we walked to the River Walk, but truthfully I enjoyed the less-commercial neighborhood. For restaurants, we enjoyed the Liberty Bar, Feast, and Azuca, all within easy walking distance, and had lunch three times at Mad Hatter. All good.

Thank you Alison, Craig, and Deandra - we had a great stay!

Room Tip: Upstairs in the Annex - rooms are larger and they have fireplaces.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTravelingBeards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for King William Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 187 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed in the 2nd floor of the guest house (Gulf Coast Room) for a conference in December. The fireplace was not working and the couch shown in the picture has been removed. The only heat was from a little spacer heater which worked fine but was loud. The heater was ineffective at warming the back of the room, which included the bathroom. Nonetheless, the stay was enjoyable. The room was clean, free WiFI was included and the bed was extremely comfortable. The location was ideal as there was quick access to the riverwalk and a nice stroll to the conference center. At night the walk back along South Alamo Street brought me to some nice eating options including a Belgian Bistro ("moules et frites"). The breakfasts I had were served by Craig and were excellent. Overall, I had a good experience and if I had stayed in a warmer time of year I probably would have given King William Manor a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danomite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We spent a long "girl's wknd" at the King William Manor in October and had a wonderful experience. We chose KWM because of the reviews here, and could not have been happier with our choice. The manor is in a perfect location for walking to the Alamo or the Riverwalk. Alison and Craig could not have been more gracious as hosts, and Craig's breakfasts were sorely missed when we returned home. In addition, they went out of their way to obtain and ship a painting for me after I returned home. Remarkable. You can't go wrong choosing KWM.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This was my second stay at KWM, so needless to say, I am a fan. However, I thought it was worth mentioning that the owners have expanded the operation slightly to include a spacious cottage directly adjacent to the original inn. They were full when we tried to book at the last minute, but were willing to let us try their newly renovated, street-front house. The cottage has a full kitchen, a dining room a fantastic TV set up, private parking with all the convenience, comfort and charm we have come to expect from Craig and Alison. All of the charm and double the privacy.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own charm.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank generic_ID3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Along with 3 other mature couples, we spent a wonderful weekend at the King William Manor. Rooms are over-sized, extremely well decorated, cozy and warm (many have fireplaces which we used as it was winter). Owner/Hostess, Alison, was charming and helpful on reservations, check-in, local information, and went the extra mile to help us out with a birthday cake and decorations for my wife as it was her birthday. Felt like being at home except that our house does not look like this southern colonial house & guest house. Breakfast was wonderful each day -- Craig prepares outstanding food with a flair for eye-appeal as well as taste -- certainly a cut above many/most other bed & breakfast places we have stayed. Close to downtown, RiverWalk, bars/restaurants/galleries on South Alamo, which is the oldest residential area of San Antonio. King William District is full of old homes, many having been restored -- a great place to visit and look. Highly recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone ! !

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms is the Guest House are larger and have fireplaces -- worth the money!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We chose King William Manor based on the reviews and thoroughly endorse all of the reviewers' comments. Alison and Craig are excellent hosts, warm, welcoming, and informative. The manor is in a great location, just far enough away from downtown to be quiet, but an easy walk from the Riverwalk, or a trolley is available a 3 minute walk away. There are several very good restaurants within a 2 to10 minute walk. We loved our Cottage Suite and the bed was excellent - slept like a baby every night. A soak in the huge jacuzzi was just what the doctor ordered! Craig's Huevos Rancheros and French Toast were yummy, and his glass chandeliers are incredible - wish we could afford to commission him to do one for us! Alison was so helpful with maps and directions. The whole house is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. We highly recommend King WIlliam Manor!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highlander88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Relied upon tripadvisor reviews to select King Wm. Manor for our base for a 2 day conference at Hotel Menger downtown. Craig was the perfect host, excellent chef, as well as advisor as to fun things to see & do in "South Town" area. Deandra was ready to help in any way, the place was spic and span, the decor pleasant, genuine & appropriate to the culture & surroundings, and the atmosphere relaxed & comfortable.The "Villa" room was recently remodeled, offers comfortable King bed & decent pillows, nice bathroom, places to sit & to work (wi fi available), and is near an expansive upper balcony from which we listened to fun music of the local Bier Garten as the Moon rose above S. Alamo Street. Also nearby are Titos, The Liberty Bar, El Mirador, The Friendly Spot, La Tuna, Rosarios, the Guenther House, & numerous galleries. $1.10 (no change made) got me a 10 minute trolley ride to The Menger (next door to the Alamo), but I could have made a long walk of it as well. The Riverwalk is 3 short blocks away through the very authetic 1860's to 1900 era multistory cut stone mansions of a bygone age. Trees shade the sidewalks from which to admire the architecture of the restored homes. The off street parking (free) was safe & a real perk ($35.00 for the Menger garage). A popular concrete bike/walk/run trail goes south alongside the River all the way to the 4 other amazing 1718 era Missions (the Alamo is the 5th) & bikes are for rent in a kiosk across the street from KWM. The window unit was effective & an added plus was that the white noise from the fan covered the train whistles (a feature of many Texas cities & towns) late at night. Did I mention that Craig is an excellent chef? We will return!

Room Tip: Many rooms are upstairs, ask for ground if stairs are an issue.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,220 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Manor

Address: 1037 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78210-1109 (Formerly Columns on Alamo)
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range: $117 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King William Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Columns on Alamo, King William Manor has undergone an extensive renovation under the watchful eyes of the former owners of Bankers Hill Manor in San Diego, CA. Join us in the exquisite King William Historical District within quick proximity to downtown and all the great destinations, but enjoy the soothing serenity of this beautiful neighborhood. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your King William Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William Manor Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing