We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My San Antonio home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stay at the Brackenridge House each time I visit SA. The rooms are immaculate, the breakfast is great, and the other guests are always interesting. Lily and Roland make every effort to provide a wonderful experience. The transition from the previous owners to them was seamless. I look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level back are just steps away from the hot tub.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 430 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lilly was a wonderful hostess, the property was impeccably clean, and beautifully furnished with antique and period furniture throughout the house and in the Bluebird suite, with a kitchenette room between the next adjoining room-I wasn't aware of any other guests until breakfast was served. Breakfast was tasty and nicely presented with 3 courses. There were nice little extra surprises and touches that made us feel comfortable in the room. Sounds from the trains were very distant (several miles away) and didn't bother us at all. The neighbourhood was very attractive and right in the middle of the King William historic district. The B&B is about 2 short blocks to the paved trail system along the river which leads to the tourist section of the Riverwalk in about 15 minutes. Lily was helpful with regard to restaurants close-by (3 minute walk) with a list and map, and we ate at Rosario's several times which was excellent! If ever in the San Antonio area again I would certainly return to the Brakenridge!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Lily and Roland are great hosts. Excellent breakfast. Charming neighborhood. Close to river and downtown. Very comfortable. Be sure to read history of house regarding relocation and restoration. This will be our regular place to stay when visiting San Antonio.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wanting to get off the River Walk loop, we found the Brackenridge. Located in the King William historical district, a 20-30 mintute walk to the loop via the river walk, fantastic places to eat just around the corner, this place is great!
We stayed in the Mockingbird suite. The rooms were big, comfortable, and quite. The back porch was a great place to sit with a cup of tea or coffee first thing in the morning. The breakfasts were varied and tasted great.
Lily and Roland were very helpful and friendly but most importantly for me is that they did not impose themselves into our experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lily & Roland were very helpful in providing information about shopping & restaurants. Rooms were very clean and comfortable - the sherry and chocolate were a nice touch. Thanks for a great visit to your home

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jprice47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We are In owners in Alaska and look at things with a little different perspective. Lilly and Roland are excellent hosts. Everything was as expected. The location was great, within walking distance to the River Walk. I like staying in a neighborhood. Breakfast was excellent. Good conversation, definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm going to buck the trend on the super high ratings for Brackenridge House because we found that for our room, which had a door to an adjoining room, had absolutely no privacy at all. We could hear every spoken word, mumble, cough, breathe and sniffle from the adjoining room. The other guests were not making excessive noise, they were just conversing and living normally... we not only "heard noise", we clearly heard and understood every word these other people were speaking or even speaking softly after it became apparent we could hear them because we "coughed" to let them know how much the sound carried.
The breakfasts were great and the location is great, but we won't bed staying there again because of the total and complete lack of privacy.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Brackenridge House, be sure to ask for a room that does not have a door joining i...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocketscientist08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrackenridgBnB, Owner at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Brackenridge House has been in business for 26 years and we cannot recall any complains about privacy in our guest rooms. We wish the guest had given us an opportunity to remedy the situation, as we take the comfort of our guests very seriously. We have a total of 305 reviews, from which 278 are excellent and 23 are very good.
Our suites open to the front of the house and our rooms open from the rear. No bedrooms share a common wall as there are kitchenette/sitting areas that belong to the suite between the front bedrooms and the rear bedrooms. Couples traveling together enjoy the convenience of adjoining rooms, but doors are locked and bolted when couples don't know each other.
Please take a look of our other reviews when you are planning your trip to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,094 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,521 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,103 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 230 Madison, King William Historic District, San Antonio, TX 78204
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range: $184 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first bed and breakfast in famous historic King William District, the Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast has been pampering guests since 1986. Our rooms and suites are furnished in antique regal Victorian furniture with comfortable beds and the modern conveniences you would expect to find in a first-class hotel. All have en suite full bathroom and private entrance. Your stay at the Brackenridge house comes with a full three course hot breakfast prepared fresh every morning especially for you. For your enjoyment and convenience, all our rooms have mini-refrigerators stocked with complimentary drinks and ice, microwaves and coffee makers. The front porch and upstairs veranda invites you to relax in a rocking chair or porch swing while watching the horse drawn carriage goes by, enjoying a glass of wine or a good book. Immerse yourself in our hot tub in the rear garden area, it is the perfect way to start your day or unwind after a day of sightseeing. Available year round. Before retiring for the night enjoy a delicious Godiva truffle with a glass of cream sherry, pop a bag of popcorn and grab a movie from our extensive selection of DVDs or try one of our delicious signature home baked cookies. The Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast provides the advantages of being two blocks away from the River Walk, five blocks from the Alamo and the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and a short walk from El Mercado and the Alamodome without the noise and congestion of downtown. The house is close to many famous and wonderful local restaurants offering delicious and excellent meals. Our goal at the Brackenridge House is for you to experience Texas hospitality at its best, and make you feel like the special person you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenridge House b&b
Brackenridge House Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing