We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get out of the typical hotel rut and into the lovely...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House
Ranked #18 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
new mexico
2 reviews
“Get out of the typical hotel rut and into the lovely...”
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Our stay at the Carriage House was just what we were looking for- charming, welcoming, lovely, and relaxing. It is located in the beautiful and walkable King Williams neighborhood with easy access to the Riverwalk as well, this was important to us as we opted not to rent a car during our stay. The senior innkeeper, Megan, was absolutely great. . She offered lots of suggestions as to what we could do in the area and offered her help on anything we needed. We enjoyed the quaint , well maintained accomidations like the claw foot tub and fireplace. We particularly enjoyed our evening swims in the strikeingly lovely pool. Perhaps the cold breakfast (cereal, danish, milk, oj, coffee,bananas) could be improved a bit, however, we enjoyed eating breakfast out at the historic and delicious restaurant theGunther House . I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMtess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    3
    4
    13
See reviews for
12
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

I'm surprised by the other reviews on this B&B. We've stayed in the Pancoast Carriage House several times in the last couple of years and always had a great stay. The upper floor, with two bright, attractive bedrooms is a perfect suite for traveling families, and the downstairs always reminds me of a cozy Hill Country cabin. I like being able to time my breakfast, and eat before I get dressed and sit down with others. So, pastries and coffee is perfrect. You won't find a prettier pool at any B&B or smaller hotel in the state. The staff have always been lovely.

  • Liked — Delightful solitude in a pleasant room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, CA
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2007

We will not waste our money on such a so called bed & breakfast. Not what we expected to get. We had to make our own coffee and eat cold/sticky muffins that were left the day before. The shower/tub were very enclosed, since we had to close the shower curtain all the way...not much space left to move around. The wall paper was peeling off, the base boards needed some dusting, the door on the entertainment center sounded like it was ready to fall off. The room we had #3 was very small. In the 4 days we were there, could not use the spa or pool, due to it being dirty, as well as the patio area.
Next time, will do more research on such a place.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank hammerandconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

As a business traveler I choose Select Registry Inns first. This facility is not of Select quality. I called to inquire about bad reviews and was assured "we are the same quality." With reluctance I kept my reservation at the Carriage House. I regret the decision and was very disappointed. Broken kitchen tile, broken cabinet knob, broken shower faucet, no room (I mean, no room) to move in the shower without hugging the curtain. Water damage on peeling wallpaper, fireplace not functioning, jacuzzi cold, sheets below average quality, pillows hard, telephone rings throughout the day with telemarketers actually leaving messages! No welcome from the innkeeper. Perhaps the other properties are better. But a word to the wise: TripAdvisor reviews are accurate -- don't stay at the Aaron Pancoast Carriage House!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — not Select Registry quality
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awlsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

I choose this location because I have had great experiences with Select Registry. We wanted to stay at the Carriage House because it had an outdoor pool. The pool/garden area was cute, but not kept clean. The above garage rooms were pitiful. In need of repairs to just about everything. Broken ceramic tiles in the kitchen, peeling wallpaper and stained carpet. The bedding was thread bare and the bedspead seemed dirty. This is more like a 2 bedroom suite than a B&B. If you book here, you could actually have a stranger sharing your acomodations. The shower was a joke. It was in a claw foot tub with a shower curtain that allowed you to stand in only about a 3 foot area. The warning was that if that small curtain wasn't closed you would cause water damage below. Only suitable for a very small person! I have never written a review before, but felt this was important enough to share.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank queenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2007

We had booked to stay at this B&B but were unable to get there from Houston due to freak ice storms in that area. We had travelled from our home in Cayman Islands to spend a few days in Houston and in San Antonio. We were very much looking foward to the trip as we had heard many nice things about San Antonio. However, very unusual weather for that time of year came to this area in January and we were stranded in Houston. We had our 9 month old baby with us and did not want to risk driving on icy roads from Houston to San Antonio. We phoned Noble Inns and explained the situation. They were extremely unsympathetic and blankly refused to give us a credit to come back later in the year or refund the $400 deposit we had paid them. I accept that deposits are lost if you don't turn up, but in these unusual and dangerous circumstances, a little understanding would have been appreciated. It wasn't as if anyone else would have wanted to book to stay there in our place when the weather was so bad! Cayman Islands is a small place but many people from here come to San Antionio as it's a short and easy destination for us to get to. I would like to say to my fellow residents of the Cayman Islands (and anywhere else in the world for that matter) - DO NOT stay at Noble Inns. If anything goes wrong, you will lose your money and they won't act in good faith or make any exceptions for unusual circumstances. Reading the other reviews on this place, it looks like we actually had a lucky escape anyway!

  • Disliked — Unhelpful staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoglinCaymanIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

Stayed at the Aaron Pancoast House Upstairs, arrived late and there weren't any outdoor lights, neighborhood is dicey, and while you could walk to the Riverwalk you would need to walk through a seedy section of San Antonio. Also, had problems getting anyone to answer the phone at the main lodge, and as another person stated the people who work there don't know how to get there from the Interstate--that is true.

There aren't any restaurants near this B & B

There are some nice places to stay in San Antonio this isn't one of them.

  • Liked — Loved the Cinnamon Rolls in the morning
  • Disliked — It wasn't what it represented itself to be
  • Tips/Secrets — Find another spot to stay in, Photos aren't always what they seem
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,196 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House

Property: Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House
Address: 102 Turner Street, San Antonio, TX 78204-1329
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aaron Pancoast Carriage House is one of Noble Inns properties and is located across the street from the Riverwalk in downtown San Antonio's King William Historic District. It features three luxurious suites, all with private marble baths, including one with a jacuzzi tub. An outdoor swimming pool and heated spa are located in the garden. Guests with children of any age are welcome. All suites have a full kitchen and dining area, and sofa beds can accommodate additional guests or children. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing