We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Retreat”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We just needed a nice quiet place to retreat after an emotional week. We found our stay at A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast did just that. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the neighborhood while sitting on the balcony outside our room. Our room was very relaxing and welcoming.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bordeaux and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    31
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
102
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the Yellow Rose, and it was perfect to my needs. I am a runner (slow one but never mind) and this place is in a great location for that - quiet neighbourhood, and 5 mins from the Riverwalk (north to shops and tourists, south to over 10 miles of mostly empty, car-free running track).
The room was comfortable and clean, but more importantly Deb, the owner, was available to offer advice and help whenever needed, and on any subject I had.
A wonderful experience overall, and I'll be staying there next time I visit the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonPils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This B&B is located right in the heart of the King William's district, just 1 mile from the Majestic Theatre. We were able to access the River walk just a short 2 block walk away. The neighborhood is quiet and comfortable, safe and historical. Plenty of places to eat within a 3blk radius of this address.
My husband & I arrived early to find the room already available. We were able to find parking on the street, then moved our car to behind the house after the concert. The room was clean and quiet with a large bathroom. We had our own porch area on the 2nd floor w/chairs and table. The quiet, friendly and non-intrusive owners live in the downstairs area. Breakfast is offered for an additional price. Since we are not big eaters in the morning, we opted for just coffee, tea and juice in the room. French press coffee and real cream were in the room refridgerator.
We loved staying in this historic part of San Antonio at this well maintained B&B.
Thank you Deb for the fresh cream!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bordeaux room on the 2nd floor, next to the Bluebonnet room. If you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InTheCountry78801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I really can't rate this B&B too highly. A cool, comfortable and quiet room in a lovely setting. I stayed two nights and would happily have stayed more. And Deb was an excellent host who helped me out with laptop and phone problems I was having at the start of my vacation. I loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Yellow Rose for two nights during our tour around Texas and loved it. The location is excellent, just a 15 minute walk along the beautiful river and you are in downtown. It is also nice to walk around the King William district and admire the stunning properties. We stayed in the Bordeaux Room, which was just perfect. It was big, comfy, private and spotlessly clean. There is also free parking either on street or at the back. As other travellers say, Deb and Kit are great. They are there in the background if you need them, providing great tips for where to eat in the area and by leaving you an arrival note at the rear of the property, check in is effortless. We really did love this B&B and also San Antonio. And to top off a wonderful trip, my boyfriend of eight years proposed to me in our room during our stay, so the Yellow Rose will always have a special place in our hearts!

Room Tip: We liked the Bordeaux Room as there was no one above us and it also has a cute balcony to sit and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves2travel394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

So I decided to take a small vacation within my own city in my favorite neighborhood King William. A friend recommended I try a B&B, and I’m so glad I chose A Yellow Rose! Deb and Kit are amazing hosts, who allow you with privacy, space, and a smile. The breakfasts were amazingly delicious and were delivered right to my room, which is different from your typical B&B. With it’s location, the Yellow Rose is right in the heart for the King William Historic District. I parked my car for the weekend, and walked the neighborhood. It’s close to great restaurants and a beautiful stretch of the San Antonio Riverwalk. This is an absolute gem of a place to stay, and I will definitely head back for another stay-cation. Relaxing, quite, comfortable. A perfect getaway in my own city. Just amazing!

Room Tip: The Bordeaux Room was amazing, quiet, and comfortable. I slept ridiculously well. Just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner and I love this B&B! The fridge in the Carriage House is always stocked with sodas, water, and coffee (we opt not to have breakfast since there is a stove in the CH). Deb and Kit are wonderful hosts and very knowledgeable about SA.

As for location, it can't be beat. A block or two from some of the best restaurants that San Antonio has to offer (Mad Hatters, Rosario) and close to the Trolley line. If you like to walk, the main part of the Riverwalk can be reached in about 15-20 minutes.

Room Tip: Even though it's above the garage, the Carriage House is very quiet since it's in the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shesheinhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,076 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arsenal
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Arsenal
Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
Arbor House Inn And Suites
#3 of 41 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 229 Madison, San Antonio, TX 78204-1321
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of the rooms have the same rate choices. Rates are based on breakfast. We offer a full breakfast delivered to your room or a continental breakfast. Rates are competitive with those offered at other inns in the area. A discounted rate is available for guests who do not want breakfast. This rate does include coffee, tea and juice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing