We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away in the back corner of The Alley on Bitters”
Review of Bin 555 Restaurant and Wine Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bin 555 Restaurant and Wine Bar
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Far North Central
Boerne
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tucked away in the back corner of The Alley on Bitters”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A wine bar bistro with a unique menu listing very few items. The portions were small but very good. We had the Salmon and enjoyed every bite. For dessert we had the Taste of Citrus which was a variety of all things citrus with lemon pound cake toasted in butter, Yum.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beenthereboerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful selection of wines and wonderful, tasy, unique food.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We attended during an afternoon to enjoy a nice glass of wine and some tapas. The scallop and potato cakes were so delicious; fennel sauce topped off a great dish. We also enjoyed a wonderful cheese plate. The atmosphere is really nice and relaxing; would be nice for a romantic dinner or group dinner party. I love this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greatplaces2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Menu changes, but keeps some standards”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Bin is one of my favorite places in San Antonio. Actually I love all of Jason Dady's restaurants, but come to this one more often than the others. Jason is the Executive Chef here and the menu seems to change seasonally with very popular items making the "Keepers" list. Right now I highly recommend the grilled corn bisque and the steak for two. The sauce with the steak is to die for. The manager, Suzanne made two excellent wine recommendations for us. There were no left overs to bring home! Next week is Culinaria Week in San Antonio and the Bin has a wonderful menu set for the week. We have a group of 8 coming one night. Try it you will like it! The staples on the menu include Blue Crab Croquette, Grilled Goat Cheese Sandwiches (Tapas style), Caesar Salad, Salmon and many more. If you are in North Central SA, give the Bin a try, you won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I twist in the mist in san antonio”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good food. Its not your typical american restruant. The owner of this place has a couple of good restruants that are all a bit out of the ordinary but still good. Always good to get a change from the norm. I had lamb pizza and every dessert on the menu. We had a good time and the food was above average. Will return. Its a bit pricey for the portions i must say.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jharve07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great For a Night Out”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Wife and I had a rare night out without the kids. We decided to give Bin 555 a try, since we were fans of The Lodge. Food was very good, as is to be expected in a Chef Dady restaurant. Crab ball tapas were very flavorful. The eggplant soup was the hit of the night. We were fighting over the last spoonful. Also, the carafe of sangria is not to be missed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JV14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bin 555 Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing