We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vegetarian Restaurant in San Antonio”

Green Vegetarian Cuisine
Ranked #33 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located in the Full Goods Building of the Historic Pearl Brewery
Converse, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Vegetarian Restaurant in San Antonio”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

When rated among all the great eateries in San Antonio then I would likely rate this establishment as fair to good. As a restaurant that caters to the vegetarian/vegan/halal/kosher palate then I have to rate it as very good. For these folks there aren't many places in town that offer the variety of dishes and desserts that Green's does.

The service is good and the food is quite good. Give it a try for a healthier take on lunch/dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EISMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip K, Public Relations Manager at Green Vegetarian Cuisine, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks so much EISMTraveler for the delightful review. Hope to see you again soon.

- Green Vegetarian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    109
    29
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Healthy, fresh vegetarian/vegan/kosher”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

As a vegetarian, this is one of my favorite restaurants in town! The regular menu has something for everyone (vegetarian or not!) and the brunch menu on weekends is delicious, too. So far the burritos, omlettes, portobello sandwich and fried pickle appetizer have all been tested and approved by myself or visitors I've taken to Green! The vegan desserts are to die for as well so save room.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DC_diva_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip K, Public Relations Manager at Green Vegetarian Cuisine, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hi DC Diva!

Thanks so much for the great review you posted about us on Dec. 23rd. Hope to see you again soon.

- Green Vegetarian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You won't miss the meat”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have had the opportunity many times over the last few years to visit San Antonio, and a meal at The Green is always a highlight. The food is fresh and plentiful and served very quickly. We always ate at their downtown location in the past, but there is now another in NW San Antonio. I have tried almost everything on their menu and can highly recommend the stir fry with veggies and chunks of tofu in a delicious sauce, the kale salad and its marvelous dressing, and the green burger. If you are feeling like something different, try the breaded, fried pickles. You will not be disappointed with your choices at The Green.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoustonNonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip K, Guest Relations Manager at Green Vegetarian Cuisine, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi HoustonNonny,

Thanks so much for coming to see us on your visits to San Antonio. Thanks also for the awesome review. We hope to see you again soon.

- Green Vegetarian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Chow down”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Vegetarian (vegan if desire) and kosher comfort food. The restaurant covers many down home dishes and many are better than their meat counterparts. And my cardiologist loves the results. Not crazy about the desserts but, for breakfast, the blueberry whole wheat pancakes can't be beat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip K, Public Relations Manager at Green Vegetarian Cuisine, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review gwcala. Hope to see you again soon.

- Green Vegetarian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great veggie food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

After a day hiking the River Walk, we decided to make the hike out to Green on Flores. It's a good hike, and we certainly worked up an appetite. The building is interesting, and we were seated at a table in the brick structure at the rear. Our server was attentive and gave us plenty of attention. I started with the Tropical Cooler smoothie, and my wife had the home-made lemonade. I'm not much of a lemonade drinker, but this was one that I could drink a lot. For food, I had the artichoke and portabella quesadilla which was very tasty. The coconut cilantro rice side was a let down - small portion, and a little dry. My wife had the neatloaf, which was a little dry but very flavorful. The revelation was the kale side, which was crispy and marinated in a dressing that tasted amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip K, Public Relations Manager at Green Vegetarian Cuisine, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks for making the the trek from the Riverwalk to visit us Martin C. We hope to see you again next time you are visiting San Antonio :-)

- Green Vegetarian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Green Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing