We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well rounded casual dining experience”

Dough Pizzeria Napoletana
Ranked #10 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Uptown Loop
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very well rounded casual dining experience”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I heard about this place via Tripadvisor review so that's how I found it. We went for lunch and it did not disappoint. The staff was friendly, the place's care for quality (and in most cases if not all, local) ingredients was evident, it was a casual atmosphere, inexpensive, and, most importantly, the food was pretty good.

Specifically, their mozzarella was very good and very fresh (which is very important, of course). All of their ingredients were. My pizza was pretty good (although it was one of those salad-y pizzas that I'm not a huge fan of), but my sister's pizza (called the Fontina) was VERY good. The flatbread and pizza dough was very good, perhaps the highlight.

Visited Feb 2014.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodNoTude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    178
    67
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

An invitation from the owners, who are dear friends....Doug and Laurie. What a great couple and a great restaurant!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fill up on yummy cheese and carbs”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Constantly on the front page of Yelp and featured in Food Network shows like DDD, my family and I were curious and wanted to check the place out. The parking is crowded and you might have to park at the end of the strip mall in order to get to this restaurant. There is LOTS of outdoor seating, but some seats lack cover making those spots impossible to eat outside in the hot Texas sun with no shade. Some bar seating is available inside in front of the pizza oven for solo diners or those who want to speak with the chef. Huge windows allow the restaurant to feel sunny and open, despite its small layout. We were lucky to get a booth right next to the window. The only awkwardness was that we were practically next to the people eating outside who might have felt weird as we tried to figure out what pizza they ordered.

So onto the food. Pretty much everything here has cheese in it somehow. The burrata of any flavor is a must-try as it is clearly fresh and tastes great spread on their homemade flatbread. Caution, extra order of flatbread may cost extra! The Rollatini is delicious with the lemon juice adding an extra something. The Spiedini disappointed us a little as you cannot really appreciate the mozzarella's flavor in this dish and it was more like 1.5 string cheeses wrapped in prosciutto. The pizzas are tasty, but do not necessarily have tomato sauce so watch out if you think a pizza is not complete without it. I think the prices for the extra toppings is a bit too much though. The salads (Casa and Tuscan) are both good and flavorful, giving much needed green to the carb-heavy meals.

Also, after Feb 3, the restaurant will expand giving much needed space to a popular foodie spot.

Overall, a fun foodie place to enjoy good cheeses and an almost Austin-like feel to San Antonio.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leathersnroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When it comes to pizza, they are the best. But don't skip out on the appetizers, salads and desserts. All incredible.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Time and money to spare?”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Pizza is delicious, I'm a pizza freak and I know good pizza. We had the margherita pizza w/ added mushrooms and the pork love. Both tasty and excellent. The fresh mozarella is good, not amazing like other reviews state, but good. I've had fresh mozarella plenty of times before so it wasn't anything special. Not only am I a pizza freak but I'm a dessert freak as well. That's where they lost me. I was very disappointed with the dessert menu. They had the standard tiramisu which I'm sick of and a few other items that didn't seem too appealing when I asked for the description.( some sort if flavored cornbread thing?) I ended up with this Nutella on a grilled panini bread, sprinkled with powdered sugar. Don't get me wrong, it tasted good but it was like something I would made in like 5 minutes at home for my children. Not very impressive for the prices at this place. Which brings me to my next point, the prices! Wow. The pizzas are small, barely enough for two people(maybe) and really overpriced. I had a gift card which covered my entire meal and then some. I enjoyed it, I really did but based on the price, I feel like I can get equal quality but more value elsewhere. I wouldn't come here as a family dining experience, that's for sure. Oh and another thing, the coffee is awful!!! Don't try it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leticia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dough Pizzeria Napoletana also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Dough Pizzeria Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing