We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dough Pizzeria Napoletana

Dough Pizzeria Napoletana
Ranked #9 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Uptown Loop
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went to Dough for the first time this past Saturday at 5PM with our twins, age 8. We thought it was fun that the waitress surprised the kids their own dough to mold for their own personal pizzas, however, we did NOT think it was fun that the kids' pizzas came back out in about 3 minutes, while we were just starting our expensive appetizers which we had ordered for the whole table. I know there are parents who want their kids to eat immediately, but we do NOT, we like to enjoy our kids' company and have them try new foods. The timing really ruined our entire dinner. On a good note, the service was exceptional (although she should have asked if we wanted the kids' pizzas to come out immediately). If you go with kids and want to enjoy your dinner TOGETHER, I'm sure you could request proper timing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    175
    66
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Overall the food was tasty. Had the margarita and pork lovers pizza. the mozzarella appetizer which was pretty good. The service was really good and the waiter explained everything in a very detailed fashion. Overall it was really good but way overpriced we had two pizzas, one appetizer, only drank water. With tax and tip. The cost out the door was $75. Overpriced for what we got. Would go back if it were half the total price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel60956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good atmosphere,the pizza was very nice, crisp fairly thin crust. We really enjoyed the burrata appetizer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeekendTraveler30097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very authentic Italian style pizza!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Eating here reminded me of when I would eat dinner in Rome!! Awesome food and service!!! The wait staff was friendly and sitting outside was a plus as well!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Qeew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“OVERRATED, way overrated.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had heard and read good and great things. They must have all been coming from Austin hipsters, not San Antonians. I've had better, more satisfying pizza at Pizza Hut. The cost is ridiculous for what you get and the pretentiousness here is a turn-off. People have been told to THINK this is what great pizza is. It's not. This is the prototype of "small portions, big price and throw in flavors like mango chutney" eateries.
Maybe the only good thing I have to say is that Dough did NOT offer mango chutney pizza.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SonnyBeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dough Pizzeria Napoletana also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Dough Pizzeria Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing