We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That's Pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dough Pizzeria Napoletana

Dough Pizzeria Napoletana
Ranked #9 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Uptown Loop
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“That's Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

A margherita pizza worth the wait. Restaurant is always busy whether it is lunch or dinner but is so much worth the wait. The fresh mozzarella, basil and grape tomatoes with flatbread is to die for. Great wine list and great desserts. Absolutely delicious

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Suelapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    175
    66
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You gotta eat here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Ok....I eat pizza all over the country when I travel. Saw Dough on Trip Advisor, so I went.

The Good....

Mozzarella is to die for...the best mozzarella appetizers I have ever had
Pizza is great.....very different and very fresh
Service......Very good....especially for a small busy place
Atmoshpere.....Very Good

The Not So Good

I never paid $50.00 for an appetizer and a pizza before.....so that scared me a little bit, but with that said....it was truly different.

If I lived in San Antonio, I would die happy eating their food, but would probably have to reverse mortgage my house if I ate there every night.....I would die....poor, but happy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Short wait good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went on a Sunday and the wait was not too bad. However they shoved six of us into a table meant for four. Love the food, Home made pizza and Mozzarella. Great taste and a reasonable price

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quality food & unique to S.A. but good luck with a short wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having moved from the east coast back to Texas, there were so many pizzerias in VA/DC/MD area that offered Napoletana style pizza. They were all exceptionally good but when I felt the urge to have it in Texas - I only found literally one place & Dough is it. Upon arriving, I was surprised at how small the restaurant was, particularly the waiting area when there was a traffic jam between people waiting, people coming in, & the waitstaff coming in/out to serve those who were sitting outside. It looked like people were waiting around 20 minutes or so. Since I was having lunch by myself, I was able to get a table quickly without a wait - YAY! (This makes me wonder if I should eat out alone more often). I ordered the arugula/prosciutto pizza & wanted to order their famous burrata appetizer that was enough to serve 4, I was told. (But since there was only myself to eat 4 servings of meat/cheese, I decided to wait until next time when I had available company). The proscuitto was perfectly aged & was of high quality. The arugula fresh - not a single sign of any wilted leaves & the dough is what I would expect out of any pizza napoletana establishment. Crunchy, chewy, & soft inside - something I wish was a standard at all pizza places across the country. The service was good, the food was great, & I'd love to go back again soon. A definite recommend - the only down side is to expect a wait when you get there. I was there Saturday mid-afternoon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank natcarhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pizza and fresh mozzarella ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Fresh brick oven pizza. Homemade fresh mozzarella was fantastic! Plan on waiting for a table, it's very busy even at 9pm but worth the wait!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dough Pizzeria Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to Dough Pizzeria Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing