We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, overhyped”
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
Ranked #205 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, overhyped”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Visually, this place is very interesting for children. The decor, the animatronic animals, the lovely fish tanks--my daughter loved them. For the parent paying for the meal, it is rather painful. My daughter and I shared a pasta dish; while it was good, the portions were too small for the price we paid for it. For $18, you would expect it to be big enough for an adult and a child to share. After our meal--and my daughter and I are not hefty eaters--we were still very hungry. The only thing on the menu that was even affordable was a small basket of fries. We ended up spending $25 that night (drinking only water and tip included) but left hungry.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsorchdork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    184
    162
    77
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
593 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Good Alternative on the Riverwalk”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

If you need a break from Mexican food while in San Antonio, this might be the place! Good portions at a reasonable price. The service is nice and the kids love the surroundings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We went here on our last night in San Antonio. I must say we had fun. The food was good and there was a lot of choices. We had a wonderful waiter, Adrian, loved him! For being two adults with no kids, we couldn't stop laughing when the animals woke up and did their thing. The kids that were around us, were in awe of them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nojokr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food spoiled just a bit”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Been to rainforest cafe several times, several cities including San Antonio, over the years. Food is better than bar food, if not I want to go to YOUR bar. Ambiance is great animated jungle animals reminiscent of Disney. The rainstorms can be loud, especially for younger kids. Service adequate never fast but unless it is high season it's easy to wander around. The only negative, they no longer use a sparkler ontop of volcano dessert. So to me no longer worth the hefty price tag. Otherwise it's a nice change from standard restaurants. The salt water tanks are amazing!!! It's all about ambiance.

Helpful?
1 Thank TripDoc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful place on San Antonio's River Walk”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The location is really beautiful, right on the River Walk. It was a bit difficult to actually enter the restaurant from the street above. My son is on crutches and couldn't maneuver the stairs leading down to the main entrance on the River Walk, so we had to enter on the street level and take an elevator down. We had to call the restaurant and wait and wait and wait while someone was supposed to come up to the street entrance to let us in. After waiting for a while no one showed up, so we had to call again. The nice man on the phone came up personally to let us in. The decor is like most Rainforest Cafes, it's like you're in a jungle and all the adorable jungle creatures come to "life" and preform about every 15 mins or so. The food was good. I had a chicken salad sandwich and my son had the kid's burger & fries. They had some pretty awesome strawberry lemonade. The service was very friendly & fast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing