We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB
Ranked #247 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Roach motel”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

After a very long day of driving and a long evening of searching for a good place to stay, I found this motel that promised truck parking. Let me say first that there is NO TRUCK PARKING! There is probably enough room for a pickup truck with a small trailer but not a semi with a 53' trailer and even then I would be extremely careful. After an hour of trying to follow the clerk's directions of how to supposedly get parked, we went to our room. The minute I opened the door and turned on the light, roaches scurried away on the bathroom counter. We hurried out. The room looked clean otherwise so we got our refund and went to the Studio 6 next door and spent the night shivering over the prospect of hidden horrors. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DasPimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash P, General Manager at Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are sorry that your stay with the Days Inn was less than satisfactory. Please know that we are taking additional precautions so that we can improve our service as well as address the issues that came about during your stay. If you are ever in the San Antonio area again, please give us another opportunity to meet your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    92
    99
    92
    68
See reviews for
310
28
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Upon check-in the evening receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Although there were quite a few people checking in ahead of me the wait time was minimal and he was friendly and courteous to everyone. The rooms look they have attempted an upgrade to include an HDTV, refrigerator, hair dryer, ironing board and iron. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. My room faced the pool so it was a little noisy with all of the kids playing in it, but overall value was good.

Room Tip: If you don't want all of the noise from the pool choose an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabus491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneveve V, Director of Sales at Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB, responded to this review, May 19, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review at Days Inn San Antonio Lackland. We are ecstatic that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us. We are grateful that our front desk team were able to provide the level of service that our company strives for on a daily basis. Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as recognition and encouragement; as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience. Thank you again for sharing. We hope your next visit will be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Family, husband and I booked through Priceline for 2 days, 2 rooms with double queens at good rates. The staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful. We liked how the rooms were connected so us family can stick together. The rooms were neatly updated with HDTV and comfortable beds. Breakfast area was small and wasn't all that great but there was a Denny's just a walking distance away. We would return if we were on a budget again. Oh, plus we got little gift bags which we appreciate, made us feel more welcome and thanked for being a guest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLU3IGU4N4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneveve V, Director of Sales at Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB, responded to this review, May 19, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review at Days Inn San Antonio Lackland. We are ecstatic that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us. We are grateful that our front desk team were able to provide the level of service that our company strives for on a daily basis. Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as recognition and encouragement; as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience. Thank you again for sharing. We hope your next visit will be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Housekeeping like to barge in on you by just letting themselves in, otherwise totally banging the door down!

The view from our window was a brick wall.

The swimming pool looks like a cess pit.

The rooms are ugly and not that clean.

The location is not convenient in the slightest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross_L63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 different times in the past 3 months, I've been very satisfied with the staff they are very friendly and helpfully. Clean rooms for the most part. I think they may be upgrading some of there rooms because the second room I stayed in was very nice, nicer bathrooms then the others but the others were still nice. Very convenient if your going to be visiting Lackland AFB which was why I was down there, the base is literally down ther street. Clean pool if you want to swim and good breakfast even though I only went to it twice. It's a perfect hotel for the price range it is and I feel very safe when I stay there which is important.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside by the pool are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dayna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

No complaints about the HoJo's staff. Reception was pleasant. All my requests were accomidated. Breakfast was nice, but all carbs. I had one of the back rooms: It was pleasantly large with a room fridge and microwave. Know that this is an older facility that shows it's age with noticable repairs in lieu of upgrades. It was like staying at your great aunt's house whose failing vision doesn't see allow her to see the dust, grime, and how the sheets need more than a good bleaching. But she did make the bed nicely and work hard to welcome you. The air/ heat could have worked better. The interior pool looked wonderful and lush. Though the property is surrounded on 3 sides by a large wrought iron fencing, it backs up to a neighborhood that looked fine. I felt comfortable in the immediate area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weebitomischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We traveled from Vermont to attend my daughters graduation from her AIT @ Ft Sam. When we arrived we were early and they gave us one of our two rooms, when I walked ini should have walked out. It was the dirtiest (supposedly clean) room I have ever seen in any hotel and I have traveled a lot. The room was so tiny you practically had to walk across the beds to get to the bathroom? The bathroom looked as if it never had been cleaned, dirt, hair, and who knows what else in the corners of the room and the tub well I rather bathe in mud. When we got our second room it was better it was a actual suite (in which both were supposed to be) so it had more room. Bathroom well it was no better (I will be getting Kaboom and magic erasers), ac unit doesn't work in bedroom it's faking out of the wall. Beds are the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on, I slept on couch. Our rooms weren't even on the same floor which was ridiculous. One room didn't get cleaned so we called the front desk and we were told, sorry the housekeepers have gone home for the day" nobody could even bring towels. Barely can see the bottom of the pool, equipment broken in fitness room (not maintained) and has a horrendous odor. I may never stay in a Howard Johnson's again they obviously cannot be trusted with what they put on the Internet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
#250 of 355 in San Antonio
62 reviews
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland AFB
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland ...
#188 of 355 in San Antonio
61 reviews
Far West Side
Pinn Road Inn & Suites
Pinn Road Inn & Suites
#96 of 355 in San Antonio
216 reviews
Far West Side
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB

Property: Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB
Address: 6815 Highway 90 West, San Antonio, TX 78227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations in the Lone Star State at Days Inn San Antonio hotel near Lackland Air Force Base, Kelly USA and The Alamo, off U.S. Highway 90. Wake up to a call, then enjoy free Daybreak continental breakfast and a free newspaper.Check in with family and friends using free Wi-Fi Internet access, then swim in our outdoor pool, featuring a grilling area. We offer a business center, sundry store, and free parking. Non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available upon request, and refrigerators are included in some rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly San Antonio hotel.LOCAL ATTRACTIONS No trip to San Antonio would be complete without seeing The Alamo, site of the famous 1836 Texas Revolution battle that has come to symbolize a heroic struggle for freedom against impossible odds. Stroll the historic mission buildings as you imagine the compound bustling with activity and purpose. With thrilling rides, entertaining marine mammal shows and other fascinating exhibits, San Antonio SeaWorld provides hours of entertainment for kids and adults alike. Check out the San Antonio River Walk, just 10 miles from our San Antonio hotel, a unique public space packed with bars, restaurants and shops, or head to the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center if you are here for a trade show or conference.DINING OPTIONS There are several fast-food restaurants just a block or two from our hotel in San Antonio, Texas, including Denny's next door, Arby's, McDonald's, Taco Bell, KFC and Wendy's. Drive just a few minutes to reach familiar family-friendly eateries such as IHOP, Red Lobster, Carino's Italian and Texas Roadhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio-Lackland/Seaworld Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing