We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be four stars, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest
Ranked #140 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
United States
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Would be four stars, but...”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great hotel for the money, except for one biggish problem and an annoying little one.

First, the good news: the Towneplace Suites is reasonably priced and attractive, with spacious, well-appointed suites - a very positive first impression. However, the design of the rooms comes with one very problematic flaw: the air conditioner unit is located VERY near the beds and blows cold air directly across them. This is based on my two stays at this hotel in two different rooms. The AC is about one or two feet from the bed and blows frigid air across the side. If you adjust the thermostat warmer, then you get no AC at all until it finally kicks in and blows refrigerated air directly on you again.

Honestly, this is crazy. At other hotels, the AC typically is some distance (two meters or so) from the bed and usually blows toward the foot of the bed (like at the Courtyard where I'm writing this review from). I was fairly miserable all night, either too warm or way too cold. (My only "solution" was to throw a blanket over 70% of the AC unit, thus preventing most of the cold air from freezing me while still keeping the room comfortable during a San Antonio heat wave.)

The other problem is far less serious, but makes me wonder about quality control from manufacturers and at hotel chains. The bathroom sink has no way to let the (dirty/soapy) water drain unless you stick your hand in and flip the drain plug up, which rotates.

Don't know what I mean? Think about the bathroom sink in your home, or at your hotel as you read this. Does it have a mechanical device such as a plunger that you press down to drain the water out? Of course it does. But at the Towneplace Suites, someone decided that it was a cool design idea to force you to stick your hand in the sink after you've shaved (or whatever), then flip the drain plug with your thumb to force it open (good luck!) and drain the water out. I'm sure some 24 year-old fresh out of design school got an award for this idiotic idea. But I'd never put these sinks in a hotel that I managed.

Otherwise, this is a friendly, colorful, new hotel that you can stay in for a bargain price.

If the rooms were just designed so that the AC were placed somewhere else, I've give the Towneplace Suites four stars.

Room Tip: Throw a blanket over the AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isoruku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward J, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Isoruku,
First I want to apologize for the design of the rooms including the a/c and sink drain. However, I'm glad we were able to make a good first impression and that the staff was friendly and your rooms spacious. Thank you for staying with us and I hope your enjoyed your stay in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    42
    23
    8
    11
See reviews for
73
25
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've reserved rooms over the last 20 yrs & I've only written a review on 1 & it was because of a horrible stay. But I feel compelled to write this one because of the Wonderful experience! This was a leisure trip (family of 4 (2 teenagers) & we stayed for 5 days/4 nights, Mon-Fri. I can't say enough about the the Manager (Edward), Jennifer & the entire staff!! They were all so welcoming & ready to help. Never have we stayed on the 1st floor & I loved it!!! (will ask for the 1st floor all the time now) I was a little leary because of the one bed, but geez it was big enough for my husband, myself & our dtr to sleep on!!! While my son had the sofa bed all to himself. The bathroom was clean & the shower/tub was nice & big! --Loved the mini kitchen & all the amenities. Upon arriving we went to a local store to buy a few things so the kids could munch on during the week stay,(because they're teenagers!!!) in case the breakfast & happy hour were'nt enough. To my surprise & pleasure all the food that was provided was more than enough! We ended up bringing home some of the items we bought! The staff that did the breakfast/dinner/happy hour were great & I want to thank them for all they do! I don't have one complaint about the food! It was all great!!!! The location was great, since we were visiting the Six Flags park. The shuttle service that the hotel provided was excellent. Very prompt!! I Loved everything about this hotel & will stay again. I will also tell Family & Friends! Again, Thanks for making this trip a pleasurable one!!

Room Tip: loved the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward J, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
i65,
I am so glad that your stay with us was memorable enough to write a very positive review. I'm happy you were able to enjoy the breakfast, social hour as well as the shuttle service to Six Flags. I will let the staff know you had a great stay and I hope you are able to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The entrance is a little hard to find but once you get there it is very nice. The front staff was very welcoming. Quiet hotel. Very clean and I am hard to please! Nice bathroom with a good strong shower and nice bath ammenities.

Bonus was the mini kitchen which I did not expect! Has an almost full size fridge, microwave, mini dishwasher and two burner stove.

Comfortable bed.

I was really impressed - very nice for the $$s.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward J, Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
CUtraveller-
Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience with our friendly staff. Our houskeepers work hard to make sure every room is clean and I'm glad it met your standards. We hope you can stay with us again soon and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Spent short vacations with the family, visiting downtown, Sea World, Zoo, etc. Hotel is in a good location, not so close from highways but also near I-10. Rooms are spacious and clean. Pool is nice and complimentary meals (breakfast and happy hour) are acceptable. I will definitely recommend and stay over again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your review about the hotel. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy both the breakfast and the complimentary social dinner as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you get to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed for business but would recommend this hotel for vacation, leisure, or just to get away. Management was excellent. Service was great. All the personel I met were ready to assist with anything that may be needed. The pool and gym are very nice. The breakfast was abundant and tasty. The variety went from healthy to pure cholesterol for all tastes. ;-) I will go back every chance I have. Special thanks to Edward and Jennifer for making this trip a relaxing business trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casitico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in San Antonio and that our staff was able to meet all of your needs. We can't wait to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Nice out door pool and grill area. Clean room. Second time at this place, will go back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rswilson1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward J, Front Office Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
rswilson1844,
Thank you for your response and I'm glad you enjoyed the pool as well as the outdoor grill. We look forward to you staying with us a third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights and the entire experience was better than expected. When I checked in there was a glich with AAA's payment to the hotel but the desk staff was extremely helpful and pleasant throughout the entire time it took to get that straightened out. My room was clean and updated. The carpet had a few stains but was in good shape. The happy hour "snacks" was enough for a meal and included wine. Breakfast had more than enough for everyone to choose from. My room was on the front side of the hotel so there was a bit of noise from the truck route on the road next to the hotel but that was primarily during the day. Nights were extremely quiet. The air conditioning/heating unit located below the window, blew air across the top of the bed but I could deflect that with extra pillows so it didn't blow right on me. I would definately stay here again when travelng to San Antonio.

Room Tip: ask for a room to the west or garden area of the hotel for less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpswns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center
Northwest Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags
Northwest Side
Hyatt Place San Antonio Northwest
Northwest Side
Pear Tree Inn San Antonio Northwest Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest
Address: 5014 Prue Rd, San Antonio, TX 78240-1337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Northwest Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing