We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got up and left”
Review of Fish City Grill

Fish City Grill
Ranked #208 of 4,642 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Neighborhood: Far North Central
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Got up and left”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My daughter and I were looking for a light meal on Friday in San Antonio. Probably a mistake, but after pulling into several different parking lots and then back out again, we happened upon the Fish City Grill. Looked like a good compromise as there seem to be no one waiting and there were a couple tables which appeared to be open. Evidently the two tables were not available as we waited about 10-15 minutes for our buzzer to go off. We were seated and the waitstaff was never to be heard from again. No water from the hostess, no I will be with you in moment, no have you been waited on yet. I was mildly amused at how long we could go with no drink order or even a greeting. I asked my daughter if she would be embarrassed to get up and leave. She said no, so we did. We did get a "thank you" as we headed out the door. I am not sure if she was thanking us for leaving or because they assumed we had actually been served. I won't be able to rate the food - but some of it looked good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DR_DAN2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish_SA, General Manager at Fish City Grill, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize that we are just now getting back to you as we were not aware our business was listed on Trip Advisor. I wanted to extend an offer to get you and your daughter to give us another try at making an excellent dining experience. My email address is Chernandez@fishcitygrill.com. Please respond to me by email and I will send you a little something to get the ball rolling. Thank you, Carlos Hernandez G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Was visiting San Antonio for Christmas, delitghted to find a Fish City Grill near our hotel. Love the ones in Dalls and this one did not dissapoint. Their fish tacos and Chipotle shrimp tacos are to die for! I have never seen so many shrimp stuffed into a taco shell! I love seafood and would eat it every night, my husband not so much. He was RAVING about the fish tacos! We were there on a Thursday night and surprise, it was half price wine night, woo hoo, got a very nice glass of Malbec for almost nothing and it was a nice counter balance to my tangy chipotle shrimp!

Staff is friendly and attentive, the prices are very reasonable. This is a must, we'll be back next time we're in SA.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasWilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos ever!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We love this little restaurant - they have the best fish tacos ever. We also love the Cobb Salad with Chipotle shrimp. We have been here over 20 tomes and will keep coming back.

Helpful?
Thank Jesus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little find.”
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

So very happy my wife made me come here...don't tell her. Oyster nachos to start very good flavor. I've had crawfish nachos and was expecting similar, they were different but great. Same expectations for the shrimp tacos, I've had before at other places and expecting good, they were better...kinda spicy but don't be scared. Shrimp and grits also a big hit.

Waitress very attentive and nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigtexchevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always fantastic”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Have eaten at FCG many times and its always great food and service. My wife and I recently stopped by for a lite lunch, and it was a good choice. We both had the crab bisque and split a peel and eat shrimp. Excellent food and as usual the server could not do enough to make our meal special. The pricing is reasonable for either dinner or lunch! I strongly recommend the fresh fish entrees with some of the specialty sauces. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrpak5604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Fish City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing