We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now Serving Small Plates.”

Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 4,597 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Uptown Broadway
Cross street: Jones Maltsberger Road
Transit: Bus stops on Jones-Maltsberger Road as well as Basse Road.
Description: Fleming's San Antonio, TX is an ongoing celebration of exceptional steak and wine. We are located near Alamo Heights and the Airport, a few miles from Downtown San Antonio and the River Walk.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Now Serving Small Plates.”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Went for our anniversary last night, May 25.
We had gone early, expecting to sit at the bar and enjoy a cocktail or two before our reservation, but it was overcrowded with no place to sit. So they kindly accommodated us and took us to our table, where we sat and enjoyed the beginnings of a wonderful evening.

We appreciate Flemings now offering small plates on their menu! We ordered from that section of the menu and ordered two sides, which are big enough to share.
We just can't eat those large servings such as a 16 oz steak or larger, plus their salad and side on most restaurant menu's.
The San Antonio Flemings excelled in their service/food last night. Our waiter Micah, although busy, made us feel appreciated. We noticed he gave attentive service to all those he waited on throughout the evening.
The manager David, stopped by to wish us a Happy Anniversary. He stayed and chatted with us for a few minutes, too. He excuses himself, and returns with coffee to refill our cups.
With personal attention and great treatment like that, how can we not return?
Again, wonderful service, attention, and appreciation from everyone at Flemings during our visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank botanicalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    25
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant Ever!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have eaten at Fleming's too many times to count. It is our go to spot when we want excellent service and food. We have NEVER had a problem with the food or service. Whoever runs this restaurant really knows what they are doing. The steak is far superior to Ruth Chris or The Palm. The Fleming's potatoes are to die for. The Calamari is perfect. The wedge salad is the best I have ever tried. Don't forget the Lava cake. Everything is always perfect! I can't say enough about Fleming's.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DietzMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Now This Was Excellent!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had no reservations on a Friday night. The hostess suggested a booth in the bar. She even made sure someone came to clean it and continued to check on us to assure we were being served. Our waiter, Lacy, went out of her way to constantly make sure we had everything we needed to enjoy the evening. A storm knocked the power out a couple of times but didn't slow the service at all. Food was fantastic (Petit Filet) and, as I said, there should be more of a "Lacy" in every restaurant. She made the experience better than excellent. Will return on next visit to San Antonio.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MAC3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, Service, Food +”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Flemings and we'll definitely go again. I like the ambiance, dark wood panelling, well dressed wait and bus staff, and EXCELLENT service. I had the lettuce wedge as a salad, the prime ribeye, Flemings potatoes for a side (plenty for 2), and cheese cake for dessert. My only disapponintment was that the ribeye, though very flavorful, was tougher and had more gristle than I thought prime beef should have. My wife had the small filet and it was great. Flemings potatoes is kind of au gratin style with a touch of jalapeno. Menu items are a la carte. If my everyday driver was a Ferrari or Maserati, I might be a regular but it is kind of a birthday, anniversary, big raise kind of place for us. Pretty extensive wine list with many wines available by the glass. If you like Ruths Chris and Bohanans you'll probably like this place too.
Dinner for 2 incl. 1 glass of wine, 1 dessert $135 + gratuity.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful. Great Happy Hour at the Bar!”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

One of our favorites in San Antonio, both for the quality of the food and service, as well as the romantic ambiance. We went there for my wife's birthday in October and loved it! The service was impeccable; our server was friendly and efficient. The food was top quality; we found it to be comparable to Bohanan's, and the steak was much better than Ruth's Chris (so was the whole ambiance of the place). My wife had the chicken, and it was delicious and flavorful. I had the steak and it was perfectly cooked to order. The sides are generous and enough to share. They even brought a decent-sized birthday cake to the table for my wife, after the server had asked us if we'd prefer to have it there or take it home with us! That was a really nice touch, and it would have been enough for 4-6 people. The happy hour at the bar is a really good deal, with delicious appetizers for $6, as well as an ever-changing cocktail list.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SparkyandtheMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing