We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$426
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$254
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$298
$289
JW Marriott
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$244
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
$245
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
139
72
19
5
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
72
19
5
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset stationalamo domestay bridgesocial hourthe river walkconvention centerextended staysmall kitchenwashers and dryersshort walkfull kitchenweek staylaundry roomrooms are greatspent two nightsalamo bowlsized bed
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 250 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was within walking distance of the Start and End of the San Antonio Rock N Roll Marathon. We had a room with two double beds. The room was spacious. The kitchenette included a full refrigerator, electric stove/oven, microwave, coffee pot, sink, silverware and items needed for cooking, serving, and eating a small meal. The rooms were quiet, the bedding soft, and the beds comfortable. The lobby had a "convenience" center where you could purchase snacks and beverages (at hotel prices,naturally). The Alamadome, Convention Center and Riverwalk are all within walking distance of the Staybridge Suites. Adequate parking is available and is for hotel guests only.

The staff was very accommodating. If you needed anything, extra towels, a room made up, directions, or assistance they were more than willing to go the extra mile. Because there were so many marathoners, they started their continental breakfast 1 hour earlier to accommodate the runners. The breakfast had the usual fare, eggs, sausage, cold cereal, toast, bagels, fruit, etc. You did not leave hungry.

If I had one thing to complain about it was getting to the hotel. Because of the marathon, the home football game, and American Idol tryouts, streets were blocked off that would have normally been open. It took a few extra turns to make it to the hotel. This was beyond their control and is not a valid complaint.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a great place to stay within walking distance of the Riverwalk, Alamadome, Convention Center area. Once you park you really don't have to drive anywhere else. A variety of shopping, entertainment, and eating establishments are well within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rejami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites for your recent stay. We very much appreciate your comment regarding your stay and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with the team, and I am sure your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our team to improve the quality of our services. And again, Thank You for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room was clean and staff friendly and helpful. We were worried about being stuck with a "smoking" room - but we noticed no smell. Hotel allows pets and did not require a large deposit as many others do... but the "pet business" area is rather small, no big deal. Sheets were soft, clean and fresh but they need to invest in a press to get another star. One bedroom had a full kitchen with stocked dishes. Easy to see how this hotel could be used for extended stay (although it would be pretty pricy to do so.) Typical continental breakfast with eggs, sausage, cereals, bagels, waffles etc. but missing my preferred biscuits & gravy. Place was a little hard to find, but that may be a function of my "out of town" perspective. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Hotel is right next to "yellow" trolley line which takes you to the Riverwalk & the Alamo in less than 15 min.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the5Dpasswordkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing Staybridge Suites for your lodging needs. We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us and will notify our Team regarding the wonderful comments you have provided. Again, thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family has stayed at this hotel now three times, while attending events at the Alamodome. It's PERFECT for all day events, because it's so close to the venue, you can come and go easily.

The hotel itself is quiet - despite the adjacent highway and venue. The rooms are comfortable and include full refrigerator and mini-kitchen with utensils. Limited snacks and frozen food in a little shop downstairs make it very easy for everyone to eat snacks or small meals when they want.

Convenient to other things? Yes! The alamo is less than one mile away. Ruth Chris steakhouse is at the corner just 1/2 block away.

I am a pillow and bed SNOB. And their beds and pillows were amazing.

So let's review...quiet, yet accessible...good beds and pillows...comfortable...and within walking distance of many San Antonio sights. This is a great choice for families headed to San Antonio.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are very comfortable and roomy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleOakDoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and being apart of our Staybridge Family. We look forward to having you with us here at the Staybridge Suites Downtown Convention Center in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here before and love the location for spending time at the Alamodome. The bed is comfortable and the kitchen area is great! The breakfast buffet is great and and there is plenty of room. It was busy so I understand why they ran out of coffee, even though they had six carafes!

The only bad part of this trip was housekeeping - we left around 10:00 am and were gone until approximately 4 pm (on a Saturday). Our room hadn't been cleaned. We had come back to rest before our busy evening. Housekeeping got to our area of the floor at about 4:30, and my husband was asleep so we missed out. The sleeper sofa is VERY uncomfortable!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites for your stay in San Antonio. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we are always trying to find ways to improve and provide better service for our guests. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent one night here while doing the tourist thing in San Antonio. It is easy to find, just a block or so from the interstate. It is with in walking distance of all the sites, Alamo, and the River Walk.
The staff was great. They had all the answers to all our questions, gave great directions and were just all around friendly good people.
Parking was close and secure. Only thing was it is a short walk to anything but a Denny's for meals.
We were very impressed with this property, as we have been with every Staybridge we have used. We would stay here agin should we return to the area. A bit pricey but the ease of not having to drive makes it bit easier to handle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photobum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather V, Operations Manager at Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your past stay with us. It is always exciting to hear great comments from our guests. I will share your comments with the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews