We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After reading the reviews, disappointed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport
Ranked #68 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“After reading the reviews, disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Before going to San Antonio on business, I checked tripadvisor to help me select a nice hotel near the airport. After looking a numerous ones, based on the reviews, I selected this one. It did not live up to its reviews. The hotel is very hard to find, hidden away with little signage off a street that had no sign. Upon arrival at 3:15 pm, the room was not quite ready, although it was shortly thereafter. The room itself was very plain, with tired furnishings. The bathroom was dated. In short, nothing special at all. The breakfast, while hot, was not very inspired. All in all an average place to stay. Not bad. Not great. There are many nicer, newer hotels in the area, including several other Marriots (Spring Suites and a Residence Inn) that may be worth checking out.

I will say that the room was quiet and the mattress was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    58
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
74
40
16
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place is a little bit out of the way in terms of San Antonio itself (probably very convenient for the airport though) but that's about the only negative thing I could say about it. The staff were very friendly, our room was a good size, well appointed and clean and surprisingly quiet considering the place is underneath an interstate overpass. The included breakfast was OK, but the free dinner was great - hats off to the chef on his spaghetti and meatballs! Plenty of free parking too which is always a plus. Overall, great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here recently during a business trip and was wary of the potential airplane noise. The room couldn't have been quieter, especially for being 30 seconds from the airport and next to a major highway. The room was nicely sized, although I'm sure it would seem a bit cramped if staying long-term. In addition, North Star mall is only 2 minutes away so the area is great for shopping and restaurant hopping. The only two complaints, albeit minor, are the the garbage disposal gave off a faint smell and the view out my window was of an A/C condenser. Other than that, it was a great hotel and a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just completed a two week stay at this property. Staff was very accommodating, room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone planning to stay in the San Antonio Airport area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in July, The overall experience was wonderful, I didn't like that when we arrived we had to wait a while to check in it was a little after check in maybe 45 minutes before we could go into our room. Once in the room I noticed that we only had 2 towels in our room, even though I had booked 2 adults and 2 children. Our room was a smaller than my sister's room who stayed with us in the next room. We paid the same price and our rooms should have been identical however they weren't. She also booked 3 adults and 1 child in her room and they only had 3 towels in their room. I guess children don't need towels!?!? There was dinner available on the day we stayed and it smelled wonderful but there was not enough tables or chairs in the dinning room to accommadate everyone in the hotle so we took our food to our room. Other than that the pool was great and the area was a little sketchy but still felt safe when walking to my car at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PumpkinPie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel is well located on the north side of San Antonio, close to airport with shuttle service. In spite of high congestion and being within flight path of airport, the hotel is very quiet...great soundproofing. The rooms are well appointed and the kitchenette has most of everything you'd need to be comfortable for a long term stay. Breakfast was okay; some stale bread and soggy yogurt containers should be addressed. Pantry in lobby is very convenient. The staff is fantastic.
Hotel is very, very clean. Biggest complaint would be the mattress in my room was like a rock. I like a "firm" mattress but holy cow, somebody else needs to choose the mattresses next time in stead of the "Princess and the Pea" designer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'm here now and have been for a week I'm here with a friend here for school. You cant beat the free breakfast seven days a week and Diner M-Th. They also have red and white table wine and I think its Amber Bock beer too. Clean place nice helpful staff and since this was the last leg of the road trip Thankful for early check in since we got her super early around 7:30am. But they let us right in and took full advantage of the free breakfast too, it was great. Make your own waffle love it. Since they all have full kitchen its perfect they have a 24hr Walmart walking distance away. You can look at other places to go in my post to come. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingFatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Pear Tree Inn San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport
Address: 214 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216-4734
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to stylish relaxation at the newly renovated TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport. As one of the premier extended-stay hotels near San Antonio International Airport (SAT), we offer a complimentary shuttle service 24 hours a day, as well as easy access to Randolph AFB, Lackland AFB, Fort Sam Houston, St. Mary's University and UTSA. When it's time to unwind, make yourself at home in our updated spacious suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, living areas, free Wi-Fi, large work spaces, modernly appointed bathrooms and luxurious bedding. In the morning, start your day off satisfied with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, serving up warm waffles, fresh fruit, cold cereal and more. Stay active and entertained during downtime at our San Antonio airport hotel with our on-site fitness center, or soak up the sun in style by our sparkling outdoor pool. Whether traveling on business or leisure, TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport will ensure your stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Airport Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing