We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast”

Colonial Room Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Built as an addition to the original hotel and later remodeled by San Antonio architect Atlee B. Ayres in 1912, the Colonial Room Restaurant reflects the prevailing neoclassical style of its time. Decades of elaborate balls and parties have been hosted in this room.Among the celebrities who have dined here are Presidents Grant and McKinley, Robert E. Lee, and French actress Sarah Bernhardt. The Colonial Room Restaurant's famous mango ice cream was served at both of President Clinton’s inaugurations. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, the Colonial Room Restaurant features a fabulous noontime brunch and traditional entrees such as prime rib au jus and lamb shank with linguini. Don't miss the popular Sunday brunch buffet, which tastes even better at a table in the garden courtyard.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Colonial Room has an excellent breakfast buffet. We go quite often to San Antonio and always enjoy our stay at the Menger and having the Colonial Room inside is a definite plus. Wonderful food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathyA29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    70
    36
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Music to Nurture Your Soul!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the wood was good, but I would highly recommend that everyone come on a Friday night for the music played by Fernando Santa Fe! He made our entire evening wonderful and shares such a personal part of himself with everyone!! Thank you for a wonderful evening!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynDahlgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“History plus”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great room and dinner. Hotel is a must stop for area history and has a nice collection of photo's of days gone by.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ROMANTIC AND SPECIAL”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

"King style" brunch!!!

Super!
Everything was great.
Beautiful pleasant atmosphere....and much more!!!

Outdoor seating with Mango Ice cream(not included in the brunch) is the best ever!
In my life time I tested a list milion ice creams!!!
Deliciousssssss *****

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast, beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Guided by Trip Advisor, we decided to have breakfast at the Menger Hotel during our visit to San Antonio, in that historic hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant. We chose the breakfast buffet, which was wonderful--I enjoyed eggs benedict, hot cereal, excellent fresh fruit (very nicely carved and arranged), muffins, superb coffee, and they were also making made-to-order omelettes and other hot offerings (waffles, pancakes). A great spread, excellent service, very charming--well worth the cost of the buffet (which includes coffee and other drinks). My wife and I will definitely come here again, if we return to San Antonio.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank first_base_coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Room Restaurant also viewed

San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Colonial Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing