We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mall...”

Shops at Rivercenter
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.76*
and up
Alamo Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
More Info
$34.64*
and up
City Sightseeing San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
$109.00*
and up
San Antonio: The Grand Historic City Tour
Ranked #54 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Attraction details
Bishop, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mall...”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not really alot to say - it's a mall. What makes it so nice is it is at the end of the Riverwalk. We were there on a Saturday, so it was really crowded. The clerk at the Purple store where I purchased something was miffed because I didnt' have any change and had to give her 2 20's, she said I would take all of her 1's. Don't they prepare for things like that? Knowing they are in a tourist location, and on a Saturday?

Next time I will go on a less crowded day. If that's possible.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    126
    109
    32
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It was ok, its a mall.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It is a mall, but it is like traders village. People hanging out the doors of their shops and harrasing you to come into their stores. There was a Disney store though:) I stocked up on things for my 2 yr old. The food from the asian resturant in the food court was great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“small, but handy”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very small mall, but it is so handy for picking up last minute gifts or getting out of the rain for a bit

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dwilcox000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I think this place is the 5th circle of hell.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If not for the need for a last minute gift, we'd have driven to another mall that had a Disney store that didn't feature several packs of wild children and their inattentive parents that were so bad, the staff looked like they were going to be in tears. I also wanted to buy a new pair shorts this past weekend, but with what seemed like every high school in Texas at the mall for UIL State Marching competition, I opted to walk away from the bedlam and screaming teenagers and opted to wash the only pair I brought instead. Security and the cops had no clue on how to handle that many people, so they stood there doing nothing until a mini-fight popped off between kids.

On your average Saturday afternoon, this place is a madhouse. The layout of the mall is confusing and barely navigable already, now factor that in with any number of school children running around with chaperons, unsupervised kids running, screaming, and knocking down everything in sight, and your typical pack of teenagers dragging their feet at a pace of 1 step a minute while taking up the width of the corridor. Add in escalators that didn't work on 2 separate (and sadly, necessary) trips, security guards and uniformed officers posted literally every 30 feet from each other, and stores size and layouts that would give a claustrophobic person a heart-attack...you'll see why I and a few others feel this way.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“hard to navigate”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Go elsewhere for shopping. It is like every other mall in America only more difficult to navigate. I struggled to find escalators. I could see the shop I wanted to go to on a different level, but couldn't figure out how to get there.

I am sure there are better places for shopping in SAT than this mall. It is convenient if you need to pick something up you may have left at home on accident, but otherwise I would avoid it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank R_Huskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shops at Rivercenter also viewed

 

Been to Shops at Rivercenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing