We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The staff is excellent and Sarah was awesome...she got on her radio to communicate with housekeeping to ensure our room was ready to check in. This was my kids' first experience at a hotel and 2 days later they are still talking about how great it was. Thank you Drury Riverwalk for our excellent and worry free stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    677
    160
    49
    35
See reviews for
866
946
62
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a hotel in an old bank building that sits on the riverwalk in San Antonio. The room and breakfast package is a great value. The hotel has a lower level that permits direct access to the riverwalk and the guest is within a block of the busiest part of the river. There are many bars and restaurants in the immediate area. This is a hotel that appeals to cost conscious tourists but also to business persons interested in avoiding high hotel rates. Just a good value for the traveler.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLLinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and it's is always clean and the workers are extremely nice. The room rate is comparable to any other place on the Riverwalk. The hot breakfast, evening snack and drinks they offer are excellent. Their pool and hot tubs on the roof are very nice. It is very pretty and relaxing to be in the pool looking over the city at night. The rooms are very nice and clean. When we go back to San Antonio we will stay at the Drury and will not even check room rates on any other place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is just a great place either for a vacation or for work in San Antonio. The building is the former tower of the old Alamo National Bank, long since splendidly transformed into a fine hotel. The rooms are big, comfortable, quiet, and well-appointed. Now, many hotels have all this, but none have its splendid mezzanine-with-breakfast/happy-hour facility with its outstanding view out over the palatial lobby, with its magnificent stained-glass image of the Alamo, with unique Art-Deco metal bas-reliefs flanking it, and with the air of a classic temple, with a gilt swath of filigree surrounding the whole thing that is just stunning. What a sight! A plush spiral staircase (and of course elevators) connects the mezzanine, the main floor and the Riverwalk level, just below the lobby. The big San Fernando Tower rooms have balconies that overlook the San Fernando Cathedral, a beautiful building that is the oldest cathedral building in the USA.

Room Tip: The suites in the San Fernando Tower are worth the price, with separate bedroom, two TVs and large s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAH_Sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

In my last 10 years of travelling around the South/Southwest I have only stayed at two properties worth an Excellent Rating, and this was definitely one of them. We stayed at the Drury Plaza Riverwalk at the end of May - beginning of June 2014. The staff was attentive and extremely helpful, the suite (on the 16th floor) was clean and well apportioned and a fantastic value, the 5:30 Kickback (snacks and appetizers) with 3 included cocktails daily was definitely an added bonus (and the margaritas were not too bad either). Taking the elevator to the basement, and walking past the old safe from the past operations puts your right on the Riverwalk, and taking it to the 22nd floor puts you at the rooftop pool or observation deck. Valet parking was $21/night at the hotel, which was right on par with the posted rates at other parking lots in the area. Four wonderful days, at a property that I plan on staying at again.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is right in the downtown area, tall buildings do impede the views if you stay below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVXtlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Th Drury Plaza is built into the old, remodeled Alamo National Bank building in downtown San Antonio, and it is gorgeous! They retained most of the interior decor in the lobby so it has the look and feel of a grand bank of the old days. The reception desk is built into what was the bank teller windows - very cool! The lobby is huge, with many different seating areas, which worked great for our large family who stayed here for a family wedding. The free, hot breakfast is served on the 2nd floor which is open to the lobby below. It is a very large area with plenty of seating for many, many guests. The breakfast was very good - real eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, bagels, fruit, pancakes - pretty much whatever you wanted. It is served buffet style and was always hot. Our family made good use of the free popcorn & sodas which were available every afternoon starting at 3:00. I was in at least five different rooms during the weekend, and every one was very nice, large and clean. The beds were comfortable, and the bathrooms were nice. I can't speak to the cost of the hotel, as we were given a wedding party rate. Parking is very scarce in downtown, so it is best to use the valet service provided by the hotel at the rate of $21 per day. The attendants were very friendly, fast & efficient. I highly recommend staying at the Drury Plaza Riverwalk if you visit San Antonio!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doubletcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed at the Drury Plaza Hotel from June 8-10 for a work-related training course which was actually in one of the hotel's conference rooms, making it very convenient. The staff at the hotel were all very pleasant, from the front desk receptionists to the servers and bartenders in the dining area. One of the bartenders (unfortunately I don't remember her name, but there was always a line for her while the other 2 bars were less full), was very personable and seemed to really enjoy what she was doing (in fact she stated that she loved her job). They offer free breakfast and "kickback" with dinner and 3 free drinks which goes from 5:30-7:00p, which was a nice touch. The dining area did seem to fill up pretty quick, and at times it was difficult to find a table.The room I had was great, had upgraded furnishings, and was clean. WiFi was free and fairly fast, and there was also the option of an ethernet cable should you need one. I had a king bed which was comfortable and clean. My room was made up every day with no issue. There is a rooftop pool at the hotel and 2 hot tubs. There is an incredible view from the top. I checked out the pool in the late afternoon but there were a lot of kids playing in it. I guess it's the place to be if you have kids. The hot tubs were also occupied, so I opted for the fitness center instead. It's fairly small with the bare minimum (a few dumbells, a cable machine, 3 or 4 treadmills, an exercise bike which seemed out of commission, and a few other pieces of equipment), but it did the trick. The location of the hotel was great; close to a lot of restaurants, shops, and bars, and you can walk directly from the hotel to the River Walk. I didn't have a car on this trip, but I believe the hotel does charge a fee for parking, something to keep in mind if you will be staying here for a few days. Overall I had a great experience here and would recommend it to anyone staying in San Antonio.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing