We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Focused Service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Drury Plaza Hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk June 6th through June 10th for our anniversary. It is very unique in that it was a bank building that was converted to a hotel. The lobby is very ornately decorated. The rooms were large and very comfortable equipped with a nice size flat screen TV, fridge and safe.

This hotel is centrally located on the Riverwalk and within walking distance of the Alamo, Institute of Texas Cultures, the Mercado and many other museums and points of interest. While this was fantastic from a tourist's point of view, it was the customer friendly focus displayed by every staff member at this hotel that makes it stand out head and shoulders above the other hotels in the area. Everyone we encountered from the maintenance personnel to the general manager asked if we were enjoying our stay numerous times throughout our 5 day visit.

The free breakfast every morning was spectacular with a wide variety of hot and cold items. However the best part was was the kickback hour from 5:30 to 7:00PM each evening. Each night they had different hot items as well as a salad bar and nachos. For families with small kids the dining area has a popcorn machine and soft drinks available all day along with hot dogs later in the day. They give you a multi day ticket which not only entitles your to free eats but also allows you 3 free drinks each night(beer , wine, margaritas, sangria, whiskey sours and other popular drinks).

Annette the bar tender was outstanding, while we were there made the best sangria and Manhattans! She always asked how we were enjoying our stay as she made our fabulous drinks. Additionally while your eating at the table, the hostesses picking up your empty plates were very nice and Michele, a young hostess in her early twenties was exceptionally pleasant asking every day we saw her what we did and how we enjoyed our day.


Another thing to consider is buying the Grand Trolley Tour ticket which gives you the ability to hop on or off the Trolley which stops at 10 points of interests including the Alamo and other missions for two days. In addition they give you tickets to the Buckhorn &Texas Ranger museums as well as a free riverwalk boat ride. For seniors this ticket was $42.95 and well worth it.

My wife and I loved San Antonio and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albp14t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,364 - 1,370 of 2,824 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

My co-workers and I traveled to San Antonio to attend work related training. There is limited parking but other than that it was a very enjoyable and pleasant stay. The location is ideal, on the river walk but not to close that you can't enjoy a peaceful night and close enough to seek out the night life within walking distance. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yolanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel!

The location is great, right on the riverwalk with many restaurants and shops around also the Alamo and the Cathedral are very very close.

They have free breakfast (very delicious), free wifi, free hot food bar with beverages during the afternoon! Just perfect!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Dany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel which used to be the Alamo National Bank is delightfully different from other hotels. From the grand lobby to the rooftop pool this place is a charmer. It is right on the Riverwalk which is why we chose it. The desk staff was very polite and helpful. The free breakfast and 5:30 Kickback food was ample and tasty. The 4 of us shared one room with 2 queen sized beds and were very comfortable. One of the nights we were there the San Antonio Spurs had won a game and there was a lot of celebrating on the street outside our hotel room. Apparently it's the custom for traffic to drive up and down the street honking their horns. We were on the 6th floor and still found the noise quite loud but it did not bother us. Of course the hotel has no control over this. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

my girl friend and i arrived at the hotel early and we got to check in early which was really nice the free dinner and breakfast and drinks where really good i would definitely come back the staff was very nice

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DustinW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great deal, free breakfast, cocktail hour - kind of amazing how much you get for free even though he food isn't really my type of cuisine - lot'sof families here - which is understandable since food is free! Easy access to the riverwalk, beds nice, linens good, decor very dated but it is a cool retro bank building which kind of makes up for that. Here to give a training course and the meeting staff were great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelleyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to San Antonio and the subsequent time used to write a review on Trip Advisor. We were excited to read that you enjoyed our "extra's aren't extra" philosophy. We are proud of our breakfast and 5:30 kickback offering and happy you found it amazing too. Further, you are correct about our hotel being a renovated bank. The building was built in 1929 as Alamo National Bank and renovated into a hotel by the Drury Family in 2006. Major thought was given to the furnishings and décor in order to maintain the historic and charming feel of the building. We are happy you enjoyed yourself and were able to conduct a productive meeting. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Drury Plaza Hotel.

Matthew H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had a great stay at the Drury Plaza Riverwalk. The room was very nice, well furnished, very clean. It had a large bath. In total, 3 large windows for a lot of natural light. The free breakfast was good. The evening reception was awesome! Great food, 3 free drinks, plus unlimited soda and popcorn. The pools and hot tubs were very nice. Interesting displays of the original electrical and elevator systems in the basement, which also provides direct access to the Riverwalk. I will definitely stay here again in 2 months when I return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlabamaTraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,276 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $161 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing