We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old Bank now a Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An old Bank now a Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Drury Hotel has reminants of itself as a bank, even down to the vaults downstairs with some memorabilia to look at. But is is a hotel and although the rooms were small they were adequate. The old lifts worked for the most part, except when every one was leaving then there was a wait to get on one.
The hotel has no restaurant but does have happy hour with 3 free drinks per person, and there is a free buffrt breakfast in the morning. It is clean, and beds and pillows were of a great standard. We found it quiet and very unlike the type of hotel we were used to but is was unique in that is had been turned from a bank to a hotel and it was a gracious old lady in terms of character. It is situated right on the river walk which is beatiful and where there a lots of great restautants to choose from. Would recomend this hotel, but go with an open mind. If you want a larger room you can upgrade to a suite, there are a few I belive. Our friends did and their room was much bigger. There are only ceiling fans in this hotel, so no air conditoners.

Room Tip: If you want space get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Sarah C,
Thank you selecting the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk during your recent visit to San Antonio and for taking the time to write a review about our historic hotel. I appreciate the feedback about our elevators and apologize for any wait you may have experienced. We will work closely with our elevator service company to ensure that our elevator systems are working at full capacity to handle our busy weekend and/or special event crowds. Secondly, thank you for highlighting the ability to upgrade from a standard room to a larger suite while a guest in our hotel. We generally have plenty of inventory to accommodate such upgrades. Lastly, we are very proud that our rooms are equipped with ceiling fans. It is very rare for hotels to offer such an amenity. However, please know we do have central air-conditioning throughout both towers of our hotel in addition to the ceiling fans in the guest rooms. Thank you again for your nice comments, and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Thank you!

Matthew H.
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,695
    677
    161
    50
    36
See reviews for
871
947
62
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Why stay in this old, discourteous and over priced office building? We stayed here whole visiting San Antonio for the Riverwalk parade three years in a row, hoping it would get better but finally gave up last year. Every year we booked several months in advance to get large rooms in the "newer" tower. Every year I had to fight to get the room type we had reserved and paid for. The breakfast area is not well organized; the wait is long and the clean-up and resetting of tables is very slow. The rooms smell musty and moldy. This year we stayed at the Embassy Suites Riverwalk just a few blocks away and it is fabulous. Spend the same amount and get service by staff who actually want you in their property - and it is a great property.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jrp31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear jrp31,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel for your stay during the 2012 River Parade. We are certainly happy that you continue to visit our beautiful city during this festive occasion and that the Embassy Suites met your needs. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations in regards to room assignment in our popular San Fernando Tower and slow service during meal periods during last year's parade. We continuously use guest feedback to improve our product and services and remain confident in our service strategy. We were honored to be the 2013 Host Hotel for this year's River Parade and hope you will reconsider us in 2014.

Should your travel plans bring you back to San Antonio for the parade or any time in the future and you would like to stay at the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk, I would like to know and assist in making your stay one that reflects the level of service and accommodations that we strive for and are proud of. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Matthew K. Hosack
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our third time staying here. Previously, we were in the old building staying as a couple but this time we had our 26 year old son with us so we chose to stay in a 1 bedroom suite in the newer San Fernando Tower part of the hotel.
Our room this time was not as characterful as in the old building but the size was great.
The lounge had a tv, sofabed, armchair, table, chairs, desk area and a cupboard that opened out to reveal a small sink, microwave, small fridge and a single coffee cup maker. There was also a small wardrobe and a chest of drawers and a huge footstool.
A balcony with a couple of chairs and a small table was off the lounge.
Good a/c. iron and board.
Bathroom with shower/tub combo, hairdryer and storage space for toiletries.
A big plus is that you could get to the bathroom from the lounge area without having to go through the bedroom as the bedroom was between the bathroom and lounge with a corridor running outside it.
The bedroom did not feel too dark as there was a large frosted window between it and the lounge so that that daylight could come through it but you could still preserve some modesty if needed!!
This trip we did not go for any breakfasts or kickback.
The outdoor pool and jacuzzis on the top of the hotel are wonderful to relax in after a hot day and the views are wonderful. There is also an indoor pool and several other terraces in the San Fernando Tower.
Because everywhere we wanted to go was so close to the hotel we did what we usually have done which is valet park the car when we arrive and then not get it until we are checking out.
The cost was 20 dollars a day plus tax.
As I find in most of Texas all the staff are friendly, polite and knowledgeable.
I am sure we will be there for a 4th time at some point in the future!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Anniefield,
Thank you so very much for making The Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk your hotel of choice when in downtown San Antonio. We are honored that you have stayed with us 3 times and plan on another visit in the future. Additionally, thank you for the time spent to write such a detailed review of our San Fernando Tower. I am happy you were able to experience our spacious and more modern rooms. We certainly hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy breakfast and our 5:30 KickBack during your next visit.

Thank you again for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Matthew H.
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I would go back. Nice rooms, comfy beds and pillows. My room had a balcony over looking part of the Riverwalk. It was quiet and a good place to stay. You can walk out of the hotel onto the Riverwalk and be right in the thick of the activities. You can walk to a few missions from the hotel, just make sure you bring a hat and some water. The complimentary food and drinks in the evening were a nice touch. Each person could have 3 drinks and there were hot dogs and a few other happy hour buffet items there. Breakfast was also included in the price and it was the average, serve yourself cereal, biscuits and gravy, eggs, pastries, coffee, juice, etc. The building is very lovely and everything is updated. I would recommend this to hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MooseNSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in the San Fernando Tower with a balcony overlooking the beautiful San Fernando Cathedral. Very pleased with the room, bed and perks from the hotel. Out the door and you are on the riverwalk. Walked to the Alamo from here. All the employees were very kind and seemed to be happy to work here. Would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 508donnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Beautiful old bank building with lots of marble and gold leaf in lobby. Updated clean comfortable rooms, Comfortable beds.Full breakfast and a 5:30 happy hour with many sides. Location was convenient to the Riverwalk and all the restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here for a conference. Highly recommend both the breakfast and the 5:30 spread. For our students it made the cost of the trip very reasonable. Easy access to the Riverwalk was a plus. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Only downside someone might see is that there is no onsite food service beyond what is included but the popcorn and soda late into the evening was a nice touch as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okgirlscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing